new lev user with quick ? amps 97

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi LL-

My cat Boo came out of remission a few weeks ago and we've been going up on his Levemir dose and finally have made some nice progress with 2.5 units. I woke up this morning to find a +11 of 105! Yay!

I don't know what his NADIR was on this dose. He could be peaking late. Do I stay with 2.5??

Thanks,

Wendy

EDITED to add: I leave for work at +2 will be back at +9
 
Hi welcome.....I am sorry that Boo came out of remission.

It looks like you have a little time to stall.....is that correct?. I would not shoot this since it is the lowest preshot you have had.
Usually wnen we stall we DON'T feed and restest in 30 minutes.
 
i was originally told just to test again in 20 min or so. i felt okay shooting as long as the number was over 100 when we first started lantus. but sure normally i'd have only shot a low preshot value if i was going to be home by +3 and through a normal nadir (+6 or so). i think making the dose a little skinny was a good idea. it's effectively as if you'd shot a little late.

very nice to see a breakthrough number finally, wendy! :)

peeps, can you do wendy a favor as she's new here and bump her threads up for her if you see a question? she could use the extra assist.

(read the sticky, wendy, on Data Ready to Shoot Low Numbers and Libby's post on Dealing with Low Preshots (last i checked that post had around 25 responses. that should identify it for you...)


[edited to correct title of thread...]
 
welcome to Lantus Land, Wendy! It looks like 2.5 units caused a breakthrough for Boo. :mrgreen: That means you'll need to monitor as closely as possible the next couple of cycles, because he might be planning to turn around and head back down the dosing scale quickly. Let's hope so! I see more nice numbers today, so PMPS could be interesting.

I would hold the 2.5 unit the numbers make you change it, but considering today's numbers if you can post back here at PMPS that would be great.

Do you have any idea why Boo started needing insulin again? Sometimes we see cats come back when they have a UTI or need a dental or something, then once that problem is resolved they will go back OTJ. I'm just curious. :smile:
 
is anyone reliably here in the early morning hours these days? the crew i used to post with is mostly not around i think (greg & carmelita, cheryl and winnie, etc.)

libby, boo has a heart condition now and vet stress really affects him, so i don't know how much she can do about other conditions. vet or vet tech planned a home visit, tho.
 
welcome wendy! glad you made it over here.
i agree with libby. now that you're seeing a break through, monitor closely.
looking very good!
 
Welcome Wendy!!

Chris asked about the early folks. Miriam/Putty is usually around in the early AM. Dyana/J.D. is often around and can lend a hand. I usually am around at about 7:00 or so CST but won't be around Thurs. - Sun. of this week. There are others who are here that I'm not thinking of off the top of my head.
 
Good morning Wendy

how did it go last nite? I see my nice greens on your spreadsheet :mrgreen:

let us know how we can help - it's pretty early right now, ~O) but the beans and their kitties will be waking up soon :lol:
if you'd like you can begin a new thread for the day, or whenever you'd like to post!
take care and have a good day :razz:
 
thanks everyone! :-D

We aren't sure what caused Boo to come out of remission, but I suspect it may have been his slight weight gain when I was trying to keep my two civvies weight up by leaving lots of canned food down (one had cancer and the other has CRF). Boo ended up eating most of the food :?

No signs of infection, and his blood work was normal. He's slowly dropping the extra pound he gained as I've been feeding Rusty separately.

As Chris said, he has a bad heart :cry: , and going to the vet is dangerous due to the stress. He ends up lying on his side in the carrier panting. Not good. I'm sure he could use a dental as its been two years since his last one, but I don't think it will be possible for him to get one now.

He had a nice day yesterday in the blues/greens, but had a bit of a bounce this morning. No big deal.

I look forward to getting to know everybody. Have a great day!

Edited to add: I know to open only one condo a day. I apologize... should have added my vacation ? to this thread.
 
Hi Wendy! Just wondering if you can open a new condo for today? We do the header this way:
Date, Kitty's Name, AMPS=___________

We link the previous day's condo to the first post of each day so everyone can easily click on the link to see what transpired the day before. We open a new condo each day too....so if you can do that, it would be great! :mrgreen:
Since there are so many kitties posting each day, this keeps all of our threads linked. It is a great way to keep things connected and less chaotic! :razz:
Have you gotten a chance to read the starred stickies at the top of the page? There is a lot of good information there. If you have any questions please post them in your daily condo. We are SO happy to see you and Boo here...
(my Raja was OTJ for 6 months and is now back on the juice....she and Shadow have been using Lev since we switched over from Vetsulin....) See you later! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top