10/29 Gracie PMPS 264 +2 299 +4 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28505

Recap:
AMPS: 309
+2: 304
+4: 262
+6: 308
PMPS: 344
+2: 311
+4: 300


Happy Friday!!! So today's positive thought is to put that ugly day behind us. I'm going to get some new Lantus today...I haven't seen numbers like this for Grace in quite a while...not so consistently high without a break...not even on the lower dose of .75!!

WCR: 3Ps in place...kittens haven't played yet this morning. Gracie seems a little quieter than usual and I'm not surprised with those numbers. I did have two warm, cuddly kittens in bed with me this morning...just what I needed. While my head cold has improved, my throat is sore and I'm coughing alot; probably remnants from the head cold draining. Yuckus :lol: :lol:

As much as I would like to get a cup of ~O) ~O) ~O) and visit your condos this morning, it's a busy day here. I have an appraiser coming shortly...time to refi the house again at these low rates. With DH gone, there is just so much to do around the property plus take care of the kits....ANN...I feel your pain!! :lol: :lol: :lol: I am in great admiration of those of you doing this alone...like Celi and Anne but I know there are many others. Hope you all have a great day. Will check in when I can take a breather. Healing vines to any sick babies and their beans!!
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294

Good morning Marjorie and Gracie and Tobey! Ooh, that was an ugly day yesterday for the little girl. Hope today goes better! Cuddly kittens are the best! Sorry you are still suffering from that cold. I am envious that you can re-fi! I owe more than the house is worth now, so I'm kinda stuck with it. Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294

A yellow AMPS Gracie? Well, I think you can do better than that...what do YOU think? confused_cat
Good luck today Marjorie..hope all goes well and that you will feel much better real soon! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137

FINALLY!!!! I'll even take a Mannie dive. See...as soon as I say the Lantus is bad...POOF...numbers come down. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294

Hang in there. :YMHUG: Tess usually gets NDW which lasts for several days when i up the dose even by just a smidge. She wits until she sees tufts of hair on the floor and then starts to use the new dose. That's why I hate upping the dose so much, it takes her days to let me know that it is working.

Cross post, I think Gracie has been talking to Tess! :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190

Now I'm really wondering if this is an insulin problem because she has never dropped down that fast and then popped back up except once when Mike gave her too high % carb food. I did not feed this drop at all other than her normal snacks at 2%! I wonder if the insulin has just enough ummppff to get her down but not enough to hold her. I'm picking up some new pens today so we'll see. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 Insulin ???

I am no help on the insulin ?? since I just started Do Lou on a new pen hoping it would help and so far nothing with him still crappy numbers but looks like Gracie has decided to start giving you some nice numbers she must have heard you talking about her :lol: good luck with the new pen so that she starts being consistent with good numbers again :-D
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 Insulin ???

Thanks, Lisa. I hope so, too. These numbers are really wonkie. She had better numbers in blue just on .75u!! Now I'm giving her .75f and I get THIS??? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320 Insln

After this +6 number, I am definitely trying new insulin tonight.
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320 Insln

How long have you been using that pen Marjorie? It's one of those things....try new insulin if you can and see if it helps.
(if it's close to the 28 day mark...) Shadow did the same thing today too though....I don't have an answer....
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320 Insln

no help on the insulin question...but hoping along with you that she trips some better numbers.

thanks for the compliment on the solo thing...but i truly think anne, ann, sienne, pat...gosh...so many others deserve the admiration.

as far as celi is concerned, not sure if you were on the forum yet when i explained my routine...i drink coffee, or down alcohol incessantly...eat bon bons...take spa baths...watch tv or read. that's all. Binks cleans the house, mows the lawns, feeds the adoptocats...grocery shops...and in between those duties, tests, feeds, posts, and injects himself. he's a pretty decent cat to live with :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320 Insln

you can try new juice if you want. Really I think she's just going to need to go back up in dose before she gets another breakthrough. It just looks like she had a failed dose reduction, that's all. It happens to most cats at least once that they have to go back up to go down. I think we should wait at least one more cycle before increasing, though, just in case she has something up her sleeves for tonight.
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320 Insln

Don't worry , it's all part of the sugar dance.

Marjorie, I also wouldn't obsess too much about the 1 or 2% difference in the carbs. As Dr. Lisa wrote
Keep in mind that all food products are going to vary from batch-to-batch so it is conceivable that one batch of Wellness Chicken may actually be closer to the 14% carbohydrates if the protein and fat amounts are closer to the minimums for that batch. The same is true for all of the numbers on Janet's chart. I often hear people get a bit too fixated on the chart's numbers - comparing a food that is 3% versus 8% of calories from carbohydrates without realizing that the food marked "3%" today could be 8% with the next batch.....and the food marked "8%" could be 3% on the next batch.

Nothing in life is 100% consistent but I would much rather base my decisions on the actual measured values rather than the values found on the can under minimums and maximums.

It would be nice if we could follow an exact formula, ut life aint that easy, That 2% is really nothing.
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320 Insln

Thanks for all the responses...sorry I didn't get my subject line edited but I had to go out while her numbers were up. So to answer some questions:

We've been using a vial that I opened on Sep 18. However, not knowing about exact storage, we kept it in the frig door for about the first month so the temp
on it has probably not been consistent. We've been keeping it in the crisper the last 10 days or so at 44 degrees. It doesn't have any floaties in it and it is clear.

Libby...I just increased her dose to a f.75 per your instructions 3 cycles ago and you indicated I should give her 6 cycles on the f.75u. Are you thinking now that if she doesn't do anything tonight, I should take her back to 1u tomorrow (4 cycles total at f.75u.). Just want to be clear.

Thanks, Ann....I appreciate you putting Dr. Lisa's quote in there....I missed that one in all the reading I've been doing :lol: :lol: :lol:

Celi....well..all of you who are doing this alone are awesome...I'm sure I didn't include all names but you KNOW who you are!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320

Another day when I missed your condo. bad me! :oops:

Hard to know sometimes why they go back up so fast after they have gone down. I wish they could tell us. It will be interesting to see what she does with the rest of this cycle. She may just be having difficulties adjusting to the new dose, maybe need a little time. ??
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320 Insln

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Libby...I just increased her dose to a f.75 per your instructions 3 cycles ago and you indicated I should give her 6 cycles on the f.75u. Are you thinking now that if she doesn't do anything tonight, I should take her back to 1u tomorrow (4 cycles total at f.75u.). Just want to be clear.

I did say that, didn't I? :lol:

When a dose reduction fails, the protocol says to go back to the last good dose, which would have been 1 unit. However, you seemed to want to try fattening first instead, and that is always worth a try the first time you find yourself in that situation. For some cats it works great, and for some it doesn't, so you have to see how Gracie responds. I tend to get really aggressive with failed reductions because Lucy had so much trouble with them, but there is really no reason you can't hold on for 6 cycles before increasing again. Either answer is right in some situations, and it's all about seeing what works for your cat.
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 +3 150 +4 190 +6 320

Thank you, Libby.. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: You are so right...I did want to try and fatten it with her because she seemed to be just on the edge
of wanting to go green but just couldn't get there. I thought just a smidge might do it. Or it might not. She was actually doing better on the .75u than the f.75 and that's why I want to try the new lantus tonight and see what she does; she really seemed to want to come down today. Admittedly, she is higher at night than day but I can probably compare it to her pattern of late. If she shows movement tonight...then I might give her a couple more cycles (tomorrow); if she doesn't, I'll probably up her tomorrow....I don't want her hanging around on the pink floor like this...hate it. Thank you!!
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

I inserted my needle in the soft end of the pen and when I pull the needle out, only a tiny bit of insulin comes into the syringe. What am I doing wrong??
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

That has happened to me a few times. Are you sure that the insulin is not frozen or too cold. Do you have a fridge thermometer?
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

I do and I had the thermometer on it...it was reading 38..if the lantus is too cold should i not use it
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

No 38 is fine.....the insulin is probably good. I just got another syringe when that happened to me and it worked better.
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

i had trouble with new pens on 10/3...i'll find sienne's advice soon...but here's what she told me that finally worked...

on the first 4-5 draws from a new pen, the insulin doesnt always come out well...so i drew out four or five doses and tossed them before it started coming out correctly. not sure if this is accurate for most folks, but i also found that holding the pen upright when i inserted the needle seemed to help...
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

It doesn't look frozen...how do you tell? It feels cold but there isn't anything in my frig that is frozen just in case the thermometer is off.

Celi...thanks..I'll try that.
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

iknow from prior posts you are using the techniques the guides suggest...i was too...and just couldnt seem to get it going for about 4 days when i switched pens on 10/3...and then i got over the frustration when sienne shared that info with me and it's gone like clockwork since...

(course that was when annie was sick, and i was a little on the edgy side)
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

I had to give her the old insulin as I couldn't get the pen to work. I tried drawing it up several times as Celi suggested and was being careful to
make sure the syringe was depressed all the way before I put it in the pen...but now there are bubbles in the pen...I'm thinking that's not good....
Any ideas on what I should do? grr_red grr_red
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

I used the cartridge, not the pen, but I assume they are similarly constructed with a rubber "slug" that moves closer as you pull out more and more doses. Perhaps this thingamabob is stuck and creating a vacuum?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

I've had that happen with one of my pens - bubbles in the pen - most annoying... I think maybe it's a bad pen - it does happen. Do you have another to try? maybe take the one that is not working back to the pharmacy. What you are doing is correct...

and nice +2 for Gracie - looks like she is back.... :-D
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie AMPS 294 +2 137 PEN HELP NEEDED PLS ASAP

Michelle...that is this mornings...haven't posted yet for this evening. I'll try to take them back. I opened a second pen and it had floaties in it....little tiny bubbles.
I got this at Costco...I know several people use them right?
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie PMPS 264

Yeah if it has floaties then not a good sigh I would return it and tell them you want new Marjorie the pen should be about like drawing from the vial but .... I do have more problems with getting air bubbles in my syringe when using pens I had forgotten how much until just the other day when I got my refill for pens instead of the vial and wasted 3 syringes before I got one without it being bubbleland in the syringe so it may be like Celi said first couple of trys are the worst I cannot remember since I had been using a vial last 2 lantus refills let us know how it goes next time around
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie PMPS 264

Good luck! I've been using the pens for a while now, and have had no problems - short of that one pen. Somewhere ella posted an entry on how she draws from these pens. If i can find it will send it to you - her method is good, and 99% of the time I do not get bubbles in the syringe. So sorry that you are having problems with the pens. they've worked great for me.

Nice mid yellow for Gracie - I hope she has a great cycle tonight.
 
Re: 10/29 Gracie PMPS 264

Hey girls....

Thanks Lisa for the info...so far, the vial was easier :lol: :lol: :lol: Just so expensive!!

Michelle...I have Ella's info and that's how I've been drawing up my vial with no problem. It's just a new learning curve for me...I'll get it but I am going to take
back the pens I have problems with.

I'm still hanging onto my sore throat so will probably head to bed iin a few and just get up and check Gracie then btb. Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top