10/24/10 Gandalfs AMPS 337

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning...I am sorry...I do not know your name...but I noticed a second condo for you form yesterday. there were a couple of replies to your post. Here is the link: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28134

Good job on testing last night but he only had those pinks...ugh...so with that blue that you saw yesterday afternoon, the pinks might be still a bounce ...a reaction to the lower blue.

When does your Mother return tomorrow? I think she planned on raising his dose if these higher numbers continued so with an increase in dose that she will do when she gets back, he will get back on track.

You are doing such a great job!!! How is he doing today? Eating? Pooping? Acting okay...?
 
Re: 10/24/10 Gandalfs AMPS 337 +4 192 +8 285

Hello Everybody, what a beautiful day it is in Florida & in Tennessee. I had the pleasure of seeing God's beautiful earth from the window of a plane today. God help me keep that perspective.

Thank you all for so kindly and generously coaching DD. She stepped right up to the plate, she truly was such a help. I really could concentrate knowing she was here with Gandolf, AND, even more so when she took the baton to post for guidance. You all were truly a big help. Thank you.

Yeah... the bounce reaction. It certainly does seem he's bouncing all over the place and I'm wondering if its that bouncy BG that's causing him to bounce all around in behavior as well? That's a lot of bouncing! I know how I am when my hormones are bouncing all around, I act kinda funny too. Moody. DD gave reference to a "Moon Kitty" syndrome or something like that? Sounds reasonable to me. Strong magnetic pull there. How can things not be affected especially if body-chemistry is already out of balance.

I'm thinking its due time to dosecrease to 2.5U. I am working at home for a day and can watch beginning this evening. There were more blues when we docreased to 2.25U though it did cause him to bounce to pink. But yellows followed after that, so I guess, - wash, rinse, repeat. Hopefully, we will get blues for a duration and train that liver.

That or if there is not much change, I wonder if I should consider that perhaps the insulin is deteriorating? I know there is a protocol for how long to keep the insulin, but I've also read in the reports that if kept safely in the fridge it can last up to six months. Very economical, of course, and preferred, but, it does go bad.

Does that sound feasible? Any quick references from the experts? Off now to some paperwork.

A Beautiful Sunday to you all, and "Thanks" again.

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Welcome back Cee! I hope you had a good trip!

Some kitties react to the bounces/higher numbers with behavior changes....they just don't feel good, I bet. Hopefully, Gandy will get through LTS quickly!

A dose increase seems reasonable to me. I would try to get a few tests before bed tonight so you see where he is heading...sometimes kitties drop on the first cycle of an increase, sometimes not.

I would use the insulin until you see some indication that it is pooping out. For us, that has been between 28-36 days, but others have been able to get more time from theirs. Usually you start to see inconsistent results, and overall higher numbers...less oomph. Just watch for that, then switch when you suspect it is happening. You don't want to lose momentum, so don't wait too long once you see signs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top