MURPHY'S BG CURVE 10/14/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

msmurphy2010

Member Since 2010
Hello all. Murphy had a very good BG curve yesterday at the vet's office. She was really impressed at how well she looked, just bright eyed, affectionate, clean, and a doll as usual. She had asked me to bring my new OTU and strips to compare with the Alpha Trak. What we have found is that the calibration starts to decrease in effectiveness with the OTU at numbers below 175, where it starts being off by at least 15-25 numbers. At numbers higher than this, it is less than 5 numbers off. I also gave her my OTU from last year, and it was the same result. So, her numbers would be accurate at higher BG levels, but somewhat more far off at lower numbers. Interesting, but I find it true. She suggested purchasing the Alpha Trak, which I will hopefully do soon. I'd rather have accurate numbers, than 25 points off and not knowing for sure what's going on. So, at one point, when Murphy read 85 on mine, the Alpha Trak read 100.

She'll continue on fluids every other day now, and she's doing really well. I'm pleased as could be.

Lisa
 
What you observed with the OTU is consistent with the information in the Rand protocol. If you look at the second table, an 80 on the AlphaTrack earns a dose reduction. It takes a 50 on a human meter. It's always the lower numbers where there is a health risk for your cat. Personally, I'd save your money. The cost for the meter isn't horrible but you'll spend a fortune on the strips.

You didn't happen to get the numbers from the curve, did you? They'd make a great addition to your SS.
 
Your Nina looks very much like Murphy! Well, I think she is getting used to going to the vet's office. I know she loves everyone there - she calls them her BFFs! And, the tech that usually takes care of her is named "David," and she wants to marry him!

Off topic with the food switchover, my Siamese, Oscie, has made a complete turnaround with just eating twice per day, and hasn't really put up much of a fuss about it. Which totally surprises me because he's such a momma's boy. The EVO is really doing the trick for both of them.


On another note, has anyone every ordered their syringes from American Diabetes Warehouse? I thought I was trying to save $$, and the very first needle I opened was bent in half, and then I went to get another, and there were at least 2 more that were out of their syringe that punctured my fingers! I'm really upset about this.

And, one more thing, I am thinking about switching to the Lantus Solostar pen. Has anyone had success with it? It seems more of a money saver and I wonder, with 2 units twice per day, how long one pen would last?

Lisa :-D
 
With regards to the syringes, you may want to try Hocks.com . I have syringes from there (the Good Neighborhood Pharmacy, aka GNP brand.. I use the 3/10cc, 5/16" short needle, 1/2 unit markings, and 31G type of syringes), and they're wonderful. Cheap, too.

I, too, would like to see the #'s from the vet's curve. :) I'm glad that your kitty doesn't stress over being at the vets. :)
 
I use the solostar pens I'm still on the first one which I began using on 9/21. I have no problems with them. There is 100mls in each pen so you will get 50 doses or 25 days unless your dose changes. I bought mine from Canadian Pharmacy for $108 shipping included but it takes about 3 weeks to get. Others got it for about the same and quicker from Canada pharmacy I believe.
 
Lisa...

I've tried so many meters and comparisons that it's making my head spin!

I've used the AlphaTrak with Chester for several months now and with the multiple testings it's getting to be very cost prohibitive. However, I also use my OneTouch MINI (not the Ultra) and have had some wonderful number comparisons...often even landing on the same number with both meters or within an average of no more than 12 points.

I do find that, at the lower ranges, there is often a discrepancy (not always...I had an 84 and and 83 today comparing meters). I've made myself a rule that, if the OTM is under 100, I'll pull out an AT strip and test again, just to be sure. That way I have the assurance when the numbers get low, but aren't paying the enormous price for numbers in the middle range where accuracy is not as vital (and the meters read closer anyway).

I get my OT strips from Hocks for $30 for 50 as compared to the AT strips from American Diabetes Wholesalers for @ $54 for 50.
 
I get my syringes from Hocks, as well, and use their GNP brand. I've never had a problem and Hocks ships quickly. I also get my strips from them. If you use the link at the top of the Board, FDMB gets a commission.

I also use the Solostar pens. (You still use a syringe with the pens.) Compared to the vials, there is much less waste if you are switching out your insulin after 28 or so days.
 
i'm a newbie and only ever used the solostar pens...but i like 'em!

love the name...you got so many variants you can use...but i'll bet her favorite is "Murphy's LAW"

celi & binks
 
Okay, here's the scoop on her curve from yesterday. Most of which is already entered onto her spreadsheet. But I will give the comparisons with the Alpha Trak v. her new OTU meter.

8:00 a.m. OTU = 209 AT = 195
10:00 a.m. OTU = 204 AT = 205
12:00 p.m. OTU = 231 AT = 230
2:00 p.m. OTU = 228 AT = 233
4:00 p.m. OTU = 200 AT = 175
6:00 p.m. OTU = 85 AT = 100

So, there is quite a variance near 200 I would say. The other thing is, that they put her in the treatment area, where there were barking dogs, screaming cats, and a whole lot of commotion going on and Murphy is asthmatic as well, and gets very irritated and upset, so I would say that these numbers are not even in comparison to what she would shoot at home. I did tell them next time that she needs to go to her private room (she calls it her office)!? She told me she had her ears pinned back the entire time she was so pissed off! :)

Anyways, those are her numbers. The EVO is doing the trick too. I'm pleased as could be with this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top