Hi Pat,
I really appreciate all your help. I think need to clarify Kippers dosing. DX 8/6, started 2 BID 8/26, bumped to 3 BID 8/31, bumped to 3 AM & 4 PM on 9/14, bumped to 4 BID on 9/25, dropped to 2 after a + 4 PM reading of 92 and an AMPS of 154 on 10/12 and 10/13. Then on 10/14 he got a 77 +8 am and a PMPS of 105 and that is when the vet said no PM insulin. Then on the 15th when Kippers AMPS was 517 the vet put him back to 3 units with instruction to test twice a day PS and if <200 no insulin and if >200 give 3 units. And that is where I have the problem. I understand the concept of the storage shed and feel that by not giving insulin he will always have high am numbers because the shed will be empty. But I am scared to give him 3 units when he is at 66.
I have a box with 3 cans of Friskies with gravy, two oral syringes, one infant nasal syringe, 1 bottle of Karo syrup and a jar of Vaseline and the printed direction for what to do. I’ll put the test strips in when I get an extra box. Am I ready?
For this evening Kipper’s numbers are 66 at +11.5, feed him and now at +12 he is 112. I’m not sure I am “data ready” to shoot but feel like I should give him a partial dose. Any thoughts?
I posted this on the main board and someone suggested I come here.
I'll try to make this short. For about the last 4 days I have been pretty pleased with Kippers numbers. I thought we might be heading toward regulation since the improvement started after I switched him to all wet food . Then yesterday he dropped to 77. Called the vet pre-shot for advice on dose. They had me feed, then test. Then they said no insulin. I felt he should maybe have .5 to 1 unit but since I have been at this a whopping two months and because he is not regulated, followed the vet's advice. This am he was 517 so the vet had me give 3 units. They told me to check at +5 and +7 then called back and said forget that, to only check twice a day pre-shot and the procedure changed to test, feed, shoot. As they are unavailable on the weekends I was told if <200 don't shoot or >200 give 3 units. I guess I shouldn't be second guessing my vet but not giving insulin at all seems scary. Giving too much insulin seems scary. I guess I don't like
The vet feels that testing Kipper more often is stressing him and delaying his regulation. But now with the suggested dosing schedule I don't see how I can not test him. I should mention that Kipper has peridontal disease and is scheduled for a dental on the 26th.
Any thoughts or words of encouragement?
I really appreciate all your help. I think need to clarify Kippers dosing. DX 8/6, started 2 BID 8/26, bumped to 3 BID 8/31, bumped to 3 AM & 4 PM on 9/14, bumped to 4 BID on 9/25, dropped to 2 after a + 4 PM reading of 92 and an AMPS of 154 on 10/12 and 10/13. Then on 10/14 he got a 77 +8 am and a PMPS of 105 and that is when the vet said no PM insulin. Then on the 15th when Kippers AMPS was 517 the vet put him back to 3 units with instruction to test twice a day PS and if <200 no insulin and if >200 give 3 units. And that is where I have the problem. I understand the concept of the storage shed and feel that by not giving insulin he will always have high am numbers because the shed will be empty. But I am scared to give him 3 units when he is at 66.
I have a box with 3 cans of Friskies with gravy, two oral syringes, one infant nasal syringe, 1 bottle of Karo syrup and a jar of Vaseline and the printed direction for what to do. I’ll put the test strips in when I get an extra box. Am I ready?
For this evening Kipper’s numbers are 66 at +11.5, feed him and now at +12 he is 112. I’m not sure I am “data ready” to shoot but feel like I should give him a partial dose. Any thoughts?
I posted this on the main board and someone suggested I come here.
I'll try to make this short. For about the last 4 days I have been pretty pleased with Kippers numbers. I thought we might be heading toward regulation since the improvement started after I switched him to all wet food . Then yesterday he dropped to 77. Called the vet pre-shot for advice on dose. They had me feed, then test. Then they said no insulin. I felt he should maybe have .5 to 1 unit but since I have been at this a whopping two months and because he is not regulated, followed the vet's advice. This am he was 517 so the vet had me give 3 units. They told me to check at +5 and +7 then called back and said forget that, to only check twice a day pre-shot and the procedure changed to test, feed, shoot. As they are unavailable on the weekends I was told if <200 don't shoot or >200 give 3 units. I guess I shouldn't be second guessing my vet but not giving insulin at all seems scary. Giving too much insulin seems scary. I guess I don't like
The vet feels that testing Kipper more often is stressing him and delaying his regulation. But now with the suggested dosing schedule I don't see how I can not test him. I should mention that Kipper has peridontal disease and is scheduled for a dental on the 26th.
Any thoughts or words of encouragement?