10/15 mocha pmps 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27382

WCR: had another nice of blues and greens and another high amps number. I don't know what to do with her dose. I want to take it up, peter says keep it where it is because she IS getting blues and greens but I just can't stand these darn pink starts to the day! Im getting very frustrated (whats new) with this dose. High in the morning, low at night, high in the morning, low at night. I know it isn't the right dose for her.


OT, Tomorrow civvie twix is going to the vet because she has been fighting some very dry skin lately (nothing new for her) but she has scratched her throat area to the point it looks swollen to me and I want to make sure it's not infected. So any good vet vines would be appreciated for her. She does NOT like the vets!
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

I agree with you on this, and I feel your frustration. Believe me, I've been there, and I know that many others have, too. I'm not much of an advice giver when it comes to dosing, however, perhaps raise it from a skinny 1.5u to a regular 1.5u. An extra drop may make a difference in her A.M. #'s. It may be just what she needs. However, there may be a downside to this too. Her P.M. #'s will obviously be affected by it, so you may need to keep her on the skinny 1.5u at night, and raise it by a drop in the A.M. Just a thought.

I wish you much success in this, and great #'s today. Hear that, Mocha? Give your bean a break this a.m., please? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Mocha and Tray are in the same boat. I get high PS especially in the morning but if I raise the dose I get too low greens. It's enough to make one crazy. Hope Mocha gets rid of these stinky pinks.
Sending good vet vines for Twix
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Devon, I wish I had an answer for you...I know how frustrating it is! I'm certainly no expert, but I would not increase her if it were me, she is already seeing low nadirs...JMHO. If she would stop bouncing, that would help with the pinks....but we all know the answer to that...she'll keep bouncing until she stops bouncing. :YMSIGH:

Mocha, please get off the trampoline and come down a floor or two today!

Sending good vetty vines for Twix today, hope you get an answer.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

They say the AMPS is the last thing to come down. Mocha's evening numbers are looking really good, though. Perhaps changing her feeding schedule would smooth the bounces out. I'd ask Libby, Jill or Sienne.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Morning Devon & all! I must speak from my experience, and I would have to say that in order to lower the ps numbers, a drop added to Mocha's dose may be the trick--
I have been doing shaves & drops added to Moonie's dose for years now, and it does help!! I would check with the dosing helpers, but you have been here a while, and I seem to have the same problem as you do with Mocha--Moonie sometimes goes too green if I add too much....
I would try a regular 1.5 and see what happens--Wait till the daytime & when you will be home(but as I know you are like me & live around the cat, so you will be there :lol: ;-) )---Have a good Friday & HUGS!! from us! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Mocha's liver needs a stern talking to! I vote we hire a consultant and Mocha and Gabby will get remedial liver training. My concern with raising Mocha's dose is that there are times when you are having to work very hard to keep her numbers out of the basement. I'd like to see what Jill or Libby has to say about dose and/or feeding schedule.

Providing Twix isn't having an allergic reaction to something, had you thought about adding some oil to her food?
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Hi Devon, I can't give advice but have also read that the amps is the last number to come down. It's tough to find that happy medium. I hope that you will find it soon! Now, Mocha, you give some good numbers to your mamabean today. And lots of vet-visit vines are being sent to Twix.
Ella
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Thanks everyone for the advice. I am all for raising mochas dose up, but peter thinks we should hold it here. It is hard for us to come to an agreement with dosing because we are both very hard headed. I don't want to complain though, I know I couldn't do this without him, but sometimes trying to get the right dose for her brings me to tears. I just don't know what to do anymore. Even before mocha started insulin we said, oh a few weeks with insulin, a good diet change, extra lovin's she'll be good as new .. now here we are 1 1/2 years later with no end in sight. Does anyone else feel like they are running full speed into a brick wall and getting absolutely no where??
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Running full steam into a brick wall? Getting nowhere? Gee Devon...now that you mention it... ohmygod_smile
Maybe THAT's WHY I am so tired and depressed....

But you know what? I see that they are looking better and feeling better....I am thankful for that.
As long as I have a breath in my body, I will do what it takes to keep them both that way.

So yeah, the brick wall hurts so I have tried to stop banging my head against it....
Truthfully, I just stop thinking about it...I just TRY to snap myself out of feeling bad about it cause I wouldn't stop doing what I am doing right now. What are my choices? I have to keep on keeping on.

I found that the 4 hours after a snack lowered their numbers a little. So, I get up and feed them at 3am every night. A few others have tried that too and they have noticed lower AMPS. It isn't so much fun though.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

We do get up and feed mocha through the night. And I agree, it isnt much fun! We will also continue to do what we are doing because we love mocha and wouldn't stop giving her medication just because it is frustrating. I just wish we could find the right dose for her.

Mochas feeding schedule (in case anyone has ideas) She eats wal mart brand special kitty, turkey and giblets, 5.5oz can.

7:45 a.m. 1/4 can
12 p.m. 1/8 can
4 p.m. 1/8 can
7:45 p.m. 1/4 can
11 p.m. 1/8 can
12:30 a.m. 1/8 can
2 a.m. 1/8 can
5 a.m. 1/8 can

I do know that she is getting more feedings through the night and we have thought about changing that, to where she gets more feedings through the day, but at night is when she goes low, not during the day. So we wanted her to have more food available at night, to help her surf. This is what we stick to and the only changes in feedings would be when she requires more MC or HC to help raise her numbers up.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Hi Devon. I have the same questions you do, so am curious about answers. I get up at various time during the night, depending on daytime nadir. I think I'll plan on +8 snack, like Pat suggested.
Could your 5am feeding be too close, making a food spike? I realize it's almost 3 hours from shot, but ECID.
I hope you find the answer you need. :-D
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Devon, some days it is very frustrating, and yes, I feel like I'm beating my head against a wall on those days...I think most people would agree that they have those days too. But I just keep trying, like Pat said...

About the feeding schedule: not sure if it will help you, but here's what we do.

AMPS: 3/4oz MM (mini meal)
+1 1/2oz MM
+2 1/2oz MM
+3 1/2oz MM
+6 1/4oz snack
+9 1/4oz snack
PMPS: 3/4oz MM
+1 1/2oz MM
+2 1/2oz MM + 3/4oz froz or +3 1/2oz MM
+6 1/4oz snack
+9 1/4oz snack (if I don't sleep through alarm!)

I was spreading the food out more evenly through the cycle, but I find I get better results if I "front load" the cycle...feed most of the food early and give small snacks later. Many others are doing it this way, I copied them.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Her shot times are at 8 and 8 because that is the best time that works with peters schedule. And we always test before feeding at her PS times. I could back her 5 a.m. feeding to a 4 a.m. feeding but I always think to myself, well then I could back that up to a 3 a.m. feeding and have 5 hours before PS time if I REALLY don't want a food spike. Does that make sense? Kinda almost to me it is giving not really false readings but almost like misleading readings? I could not feed her all day and have an awesome PS number. I don't know. How are you measuring out ounces? Do you have a scale? I just divide up the food in the can into equal parts and take out what I need.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

As it stands now then, she is having her shot 3 hours after eating in the AM cycle right? if you are up for an experiment, then try feeding earlier than that...and see what the added times does for her AMPS if anything. I have found that there are lower numbers after a full 4 hours....
Of course, if you are having a PM cycle with lower greens that you are feeding, then that might now show a lower preshot in the morning anyway with the HC in her system but why not try to change the feeding time around in the last part of the PM cycle a the end and see if you think it makes a difference.

I agree that upping the dose will just produce more very lows for Mocha...so maybe the tweaking the food times will show a lower preshot.....I started with the snacks for Raja during her first failed OTJ trial and it seemed to work best if I waited the full 4 hours between. (I first tried 3 hours and then went to the 4 with much lower BGs)
A bounce from the lower greens and the HC is what might be showing up Pink in the AMs but I would try the feeding change first before upping her dose myself...
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

PeterDevonMocha said:
Her shot times are at 8 and 8 because that is the best time that works with peters schedule. And we always test before feeding at her PS times. I could back her 5 a.m. feeding to a 4 a.m. feeding but I always think to myself, well then I could back that up to a 3 a.m. feeding and have 5 hours before PS time if I REALLY don't want a food spike. Does that make sense? Kinda almost to me it is giving not really false readings but almost like misleading readings? I could not feed her all day and have an awesome PS number. I don't know. How are you measuring out ounces? Do you have a scale? I just divide up the food in the can into equal parts and take out what I need.
I pretty much divide the can into thirds when it's Special Kitty, then 1/6 for PS, 1/9 for smaller MM...the oz are approximate. With higher calorie food, I do weigh it with a digital scale (I had one already from hand feeding chicks) so I don't overfeed. Tinkles is 13.5lb, and I don't want him to gain any more weight, so I'm watching calories pretty close at this point. You will need to adjust portion size for Mocha's weight if you use the idea...most people use equal size MM at PS, +1,+2,+3, that might be easier to do.

Why not give it a try? You have nothing to lose, it may help. If it doesn't work, try something else. Don't increase the food amount, just split it up differently and feed most of it in the beginning of the cycle.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

I can't really add too much to what has already been said... but have heard and read too that the amps is the last to go down. It has been the same for Mannie - usually the AMPS is always higher. I have found that moving the last PM cycle feed from +9 to +8 has helped with lower than usual amps #.
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

Ok you guys .. Tonight through the night we will feed her at +8 instead of +9 and give her a full four hours before her amps. Keeping fingers crossed this is all we need to bring down those high morning numbers! Thanks for all the feeding advice, it is much appreciated!
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384

OK, one more thought here - what if you decrease the amount of MC/HC? For instance I noticed last pm she had a nice surf going and she got MC and HC along the way. Obviously you know Mocha the best and how she reacts to the different carb % - but is it possible to still feed her curve without as much MC or HC?? Would she do as well with just LC with a little MC?? Thinking that maybe some of the am high could still be food ispike from the higher carb (though realizing that she has been pretty reactive/bouncy to the lows so could be just Mr liver still trying to boss her around)
 
Re: 10/15 mocha amps 384 +6 278

We can decrease the amount of MC and HC she gets. In the past we have not given her as much and she continues to drop. Sometimes we give her a "normal" amount and she sky rockets. Sometimes we give her the same amount and she surfs beautifully. I just wish she was predictable. I wish I knew her nadir came at X time and I knew that X amount of MC or HC will help her surf. I wish I knew that X was the right dose for her. I have the type of personality that I need order and structure, I am not a guess and see kind of person but thats all we can do with her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top