10/13 Gandolf PMPS 324 +1 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27251
WCR: Ps all Present
Out-of-town10/20-24

Good Morning Lantus Landers, ~O)

Hope all is well with you this a.m. We're in the yellow and shooting 2u. Here we go again. We're gonna give this another try. Only this time we understand what's happening a bit more (marvelous thing that SS)and we have the guidance of the forum here. We're assuming "Liver" is ready to shift into gear and we'll sail right through yellow today into beautiful blue lines.

Off we go. Will be watching closely. Will update soon.

I do think his appetite is stabilizing too.

See ya soon,
Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/13 Gandolf AMPS 252

Hey Cee...this is Gandolf's 2nd cycle on the increased dose, eh? I am waiting for some nice blues today...will you be home to watch him?
Your post yesterday about Gandolf jumping around and the way he is looking made me feel so good. Shadow too was a mess before he was dx. As a matter of fact, a vet I took them to suggested that Raja was the one to watch since she is heavier than he. I just do not understand how that vet could look at my boy and say he was the right weight.
He was down to 9lbs something, his coat was dull and greasy looking, he never groomed himself, he had dandruff and was ravenously hungry all the time.
I changed from free feeding dry food with one can split AM/PM between the two of them to canned exclusively. Raja's numbers came back elevated but he never even tested Shadow!
I do not go to that person anymore! :-|
Shadow has put on the weight he needed and his fur is now like velvet. No dandruff, I can't feel his backbone, and he is just acting so happy and fine. I could cry when I think of how sick he was. I am celebrating the change in our boys today! Isn't it wonderful??? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/13 Gandolf AMPS 252 +2 272 +4 282 +7 344 (Bounced?)

I would venture to say this is a "bounce"? I'm not sure I know the difference between a "bounce" and a "rebound".
I fed him some LC mixed with alot of water (like a soup) thinking fluids to flush the body while BG is high. Hope this is as high as it goes. Doesn't seem like he ever went lower at all today. Any ideas. Still early so will continue to watch. He's find, and all P's are present. He does seem a little hungry, but that would be due to the high BG wouldn't it? So, will keep fluids high to flush possible ketones. Ewww!

Cee & Gandolf
 
Re: 10/13 Gandolf AMPS 252 +2 272 +4 282 +7 344 (Bounced?)

Good that you are feeding and giving extra water at this point. i don't see an areas that a low was possible with the way you have been testing...good job with that by the way. maybe this is what we can go by in this case:

From the Tilly Page under increasing the dose: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.
 
Re: 10/13 Gandolf AMPS 252 +2 272 +4 282 +7 344 (Bounced?)

Hi Cee

Good job monitoring him...Gracie will sometimes go up a little after a dosecrease...Sienne told me it's called NDW...new dose wonkiness :lol: :lol: I'm sure someone may have told you but if they didn't, be sure to check him for ketones every day esp when his levels are high. I think yours was the condo where we talked about it several days ago but just in case we didn't, it's a good thing to do. You can just get the ketostix at your local pharmacy and either put it in his urine stream or make a little foil or cellophane tray to catch it in as he pees. Good luck with the dosecrease...hope he starts to come down for you!!
 
Re: 10/13 Gandolf AMPS 252 +2 272 +4 282 +7 344 (Bounced?)

New dose wonkiness is a possibility. Pat quoted the info from the Tilly Protocol -- we just have a name for it!!

From your first post, it looked like you're going out of town from 10/20 - 10/24. Who's going to be caring for Gandolf while you're away and will they be able to test and get spot checks?
 
Cee,

To get a urine sample, I have been putting Ginger in the bathroom by herself (door closed) with a bowl of water and a clean littler box with a tiny bit of clean aquarium gravel (to look like litter).

It wasnt easy for me to try to catch the urine as she went in the regular litter box, so this way was much easier for me.
 
Re: 10/13 Gandolf PMPS 324 +1 308 +2 247

Oh dear, this blame 'pooter just ate my post. Too much.Quick recap! All is well. Gandolf's numbers going down for now. Will check to confirm just before sleep. He's comfortable.

The auto-feeder arrived and we're using it tonight. It's the story this silly computer ate. He taken to the feeder just fine and hopefully his 5:30 a.m. meal will be there waiting for him and I'll be happily asleep.

Good night everyone, it is that time in my part of the world I-) I-)

Cee & Gandolf
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top