10/13 Sooty PM+5 279 +9 259

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Here's yesterday's condo..
and after all the fun and games yesterday, Sooty still has food-theft on his mind, but is otherwise fine this morning, although Cathy (she did his AMPS) said he was a bit of a baby with the ears. I hope he's not too sore... still he purred all the way through his shot.

Hoping for some better (dextrose-free!) numbers today...

(And not to forget, thanks, to all who responded yesterday and have a great Wednesday!)
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307

all these kitties on the same floor...they better use the service elevator to come down, or we gonna see a re-enactment of scenes from the towering inferno...
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307

sooty is right up there with mocha and a few other kitties on the pink floor ... I really hope they ALL decide to come down today!! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

Thanks Binks & Devon!
We have just made a 2pm appt today to have the vet check him for any possible dental issues.
He's being very antsy today, Cathy couldn't do a +2 at all, he was attacking her... she did get a +3 but not without a struggle - hes still in a bad temper. This is unusual as he has been a pussycat literally up to now for all the pokes! I guess 230 is not really that bad a number, when you talke that into account...!
So anyway, with the numbers that, while not totally terrible, seem to be not moving any; and with the tooth-grinding he's doing (but only while actually eating esp. pate-type foods) and now with this very bad mood he's in today, we decided we better run don't walk to the vet for this check for dental issues...
Will let you all know, later...!
ETA: Pat, I did do his PMPS last night but only updated the SS this morning .. I didn't do ay PM +s yesterday as his numbers were stil elevated yesterday and for all his previous PM+'s he's always been well in the 200s, evenings and at night. If anyone thinks I am wrong to think that then please do holler...! Am willing to lose a bit more sleep if it's deemed necessary.
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

We always suggest a before bedtime check Perry. Those PM checks can be very important.

If you take a look at other SS you will see that many kitties surprise their Beans with low numbers suddenly. The only way to know where they are going is to check. After a dose increase, it is very important to check regularly because the new dose can kick in at any time. I am always curious to see where Shadow is after an increase and sometimes, I do not have to wait till the 5th or 6th cycle to see some action. ECID. But when I see a Pink after a string of yellows, I always wonder why the jump. If there is a lower BG recorded the previous cycle, then there is the answer. It is a bounce.
I feel in my heart that it is best for me to not get complacent in thinking what I THINK Shadow will do. I can guess, but if I have the tools to check it, then that is much safer for Shadow if I use those tools and record the data. When I raise his dose, I am hoping for blues and greens. I am therefore, very anxious to record them. But, that is my way of doing this. Each person has to make their own decisions in how often they test.

Again, a before bed time check is suggested...but it comes down to the choice of the careteaker after the suggestion is made. :razz: (not suggesting an alarm or anything...just a check before retiring.)

So glad you are bringing him in for the check. If there is something going on with his teeth, it it best to get it taken care of. Has he ever had a dental before?
When I came onto the forum, everyone talked so much about dentals. Shadow had one may years ago but I must sadly admit that I was not into doing that regularly for any of my kitties. I have learned so much from the people on this board. So, good dental health is very important. (shadow got 2 dentals this year because of heavy plaque build up. His numbers got a little high too and I was wondering why. After the dental, they went back down. Inflammation and infection can raise the numbers so it is good to eliminate all possible sources of the higher numbers.)
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
We always suggest a before bedtime check Perry. Those PM checks can be very important...
OK - thanks! I do know good advice when hear it!

Sooty has neve had a dental - on prior visits the vet has done a visual check and said his teeth were very nice and clean, and all was fine. So I hope this visit will be a wasted one - but since I am learning so much here, I'd rather know for certain that nothing has changed, who knows, he does go outdoors so he could have hurt himself or something...
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

Oh, I totally agree...it's great that his teeth have looked so clean in the past. That is a good thing.but the gnashing is a little out of the ordinary so maybe your vet will have some thoughts. It will be a good baseline check at the very least.
Hope it's either nothing or something that is easily addressed. Sending good vetty vines to Sooty!
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

Well our regular vet was out of town but we saw another Dr and he checked his teeth (twice!) and said there's nothing at all there to worry about. Still very clean and no plaque issues. He agreed the grinding is probably that he's just still trying to "crunch" his food, like he used to do with the dry. We also gave him a printout of Sooty's SS (the section after we "reset" things) and the U of Queensland & FDMB protocols - he was quite amazed at all the SS detail and the extent of the testing we are now doing. He thinks the numbers are OK although 100s -150s would be better, current numbers are tolerable and probably not causing too much spill-over into the urine. He wanted us to wait about a week longer at 3.0 before we make another dosing change but then he also said we could give Sooty a few days break from BG testing and then do a curve. So I'm thinking what we'll actually do, is to keep right on doing what we are doing. They also gave us an estimate for IGF-1 and IAA testing ~$200 or so - and we may do this in a week or so from now.
So thanks for all the vetty vines, apparently they worked - he was as good as gold at the vet's office and did very well. We're all back home now and he's had a good nosh of his food bowl, so maybe he'll settle down today, finally!
Any questions? :-D
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

happy to hear his teeth are in good shape and negative for ketones is definitely worth cheering about! w00t! :mrgreen:
since sooty is an indoor/outdoor kitty, (if you haven't already) i'd mention his diabetes to your neighbors. some well meaning neighbor *could* be leaving dry food out for the neighborhood kitties. just what sooty needs! lol!

i like your plan. onward and upwards with dosing... raising the dose by 0.25u every 6 cycles until the numbers start dropping into the blues & greens.
sounds good!
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

Jill & Alex said:
happy to hear his teeth are in good shape and negative for ketones is definitely worth cheering about! w00t! :mrgreen:
since sooty is an indoor/outdoor kitty, (if you haven't already) i'd mention his diabetes to your neighbors. some well meaning neighbor *could* be leaving dry food out for the neighborhood kitties. just what sooty needs! lol!

i like your plan. onward and upwards with dosing... raising the dose by 0.25u every 6 cycles until the numbers start dropping into the blues & greens.
sounds good!
Good point - we hadn't even thought of that... I sure hope he isn't getting any kitty-crack on his walkabouts!
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

Isn't that good news about his teeth!!! And I am glad the vet addressed the grinding....
Meanwhile, I am so happy to hear that while you paid for that advice, you will not necessarily follow his dosing plan. :razz:
Good job! And tell Sooty how impressed we are at his wonderful behavior at the vet! Good Boy Sooty! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230

Pat, message duly passed on. Sooty said "Purrrr".
Did a +9 and he was fine - not a flicker. Not a great # exactly (262) but not too shabby after today's events... will go & add it to the main tpopic subj line...!
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty PM+5 279 - PM Shot late! QUESTION!

We were out tonight and got stuc, got home very late! Missed his 8PM shot time so soon as I could, I gave him his PM shot (3.0u) at 1AM (5 hours late) - I might be wrong but I decided this was better than missing it altogether...
Can anyone advise me please, should I still give him his regular (3.0u) shot tomorrow morning at 8AM, or make some other adjustment?
 
Re: 10/13 Sooty PM+5 279 - PM Shot late! QUESTION!

Perry and Sooty said:
We were out tonight and got stuc, got home very late! Missed his 8PM shot time so soon as I could, I gave him his PM shot (3.0u) at 1AM (5 hours late) - I might be wrong but I decided this was better than missing it altogether...
Can anyone advise me please, should I still give him his regular (3.0u) shot tomorrow morning at 8AM, or make some other adjustment?
his next shot would be due at 1pm tomorrow.
since tonight's shot was 5 hours late... if i were in your shoes, i would skip the AM shot tomorrow. this would allow you to get right back on schedule tomorrow night. granted, it's not ideal, but hey, stuff happens!
what i wouldn't do is shoot at 8am because it would mean you were shooting at +7... much too early for the next shot.


ps --- if you skip the morning shot, you have the opportunity to change your shot time if 8am/8pm is not convenient for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top