12/13 Buddy AMPS 185, PMPS 400

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Buddy has still been eating up a storm. He is eating about 6.5 oz Evo 95% in one sitting. Getting a snack of 1.5oz FF 1.5hr. later, and snacking on a kitty pop during the day or through the night. He has still been stand offish spending a lot of time perched on all 4's. Last night he sat on the window sill like he does when his BG is high. This is opposed to "normal" on the widow sill with him curled up into a ball, sometimes with his head tucked under his paws. Tried to get him to sit with us watching TV and he curled up next to mommy for 5 min then took off for the sill. I wonder if eating so much is making his belly not feel all that well. He threw up some brown liquid with a few chunks O/N. Hoping to see PMPS similar to AMPS today. Also wondering if his PMPS is around 100, I plan on testing 30min. later. If it goes up, do I shoot normal dose, skinny it up, or drop 0.25units? In all reality, it could be 185-250, just throwing out this question. So hard making calls without numbers through the day.

Tony and Buddy
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

You really don't yet have data to shoot low yet. Take a look at this post from Libby on low pre-shot numbers. If you are able to get a +11 and post, it will give everyone enough time to lend a hand if you have a lower than usual pre-shot test.
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

Hey guys .. sorry to hear buddy threw up last night .. I always feel bad when kitties don't feel good ... can't really give you any dosing advice as I still struggle with that 1 1/2 years later! But I know someone will be around soon to give you some advice .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

anytime i'm not sure (which is a lot of the time) i post around +11 and the spirit guides always walk me thru it.

sorry bout the pukus...hope buddy feeling better!

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

Sienne,

In a perfect world, I would be able to get that +11. I literally walk out the door after shooting and return 11.75 hrs. later 12 if unlucky. Drive, work, drive. So it will be more like a PMPS and a +.5 or +1 if he is low this evening. So can't wait till Sunday to curve him. . . .

Tony and Buddy
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

Nice AMPs this morning Buddy! :razz:
The switch to canned can sometimes move the hairballs easier...so look for them if/when they vomit. I hope the vomiting was just from that or maybe eating too fast. You are doing great! Keep up the good job and post later on today with the next number you get, k?
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

I hear you. I'm usually in much the same time crunch. Whatever you can do will work. It's easier the more time we have to take a look at a SS and make a suggestion.
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

Hoping that you can get a good # today.

Sienne's right. You don't have enough data to adjust his dose right now. When first starting out, the protocol is to stay about 6 cycles-8 cycles (3-4 days... Usually it's 3 days) on the same dose, and then adjust it accordingly. This way, you'll know how your cat is doing on the dose for that lenght of time.
 
Re: 12/13 Buddy AMPS 185

I'm getting kinda nervous about shooting on a 185 after having a string of so high AMPS and PMPS numbers . . . .
He was fed again at 815 or so and the kitty pop was left out for him as well.
I'm hoping that the pukus is really about him eating so much and so fast. When I feed him, he literally INHALES it. I'm talking 6.5 oz in under 10 min, possibly under 7. I might time him tonight. Next week, I'm going to enter him in a hot dog eating contest . . . . ;)

Tony and Buddy
 
Unfortunately, he was back up to the red numbers. On a positive note, he didn't OD today which I was a bit worried about all day long since I shot him on a 185 this morning. I also got home about 30 min later today. I wonder how fast he rises and if he only spent a little time high. Damn job and commute kept me away from him too long today. Still waiting for Sunday to give the all knowing first full curve . . . .

Also on a positive note, he purred all through eating (until I poked him). This is a first and wonder if it indicates that he feels good and was "under control" for most of the day.

Tony

UPDATE: I found the door open to the front bedroom open when I got home. This is where we stick the civilian while we transition her to wet food to get extra calories from dry mix. I'm worried about her not eating. They get separated for wet food, but sometimes she doesn't eat all of it. So we stick her in the room to let her eat more dry (cause there is no guarantee Buddy let's her have anything during the day. That said, the other bean in the house left the dry on the floor and didn't make sure the door was latched - so with an appetite like Buddy's, I can only imagine he had some - hence the high number.
 
Don't know the answer to that question -- greater minds will be along with better info -- but wanted to stop by and say hello. You've made such great progress getting organized. It's overwhelming at first, but Buddy is in the right place to start healing. I know he'll feel better soon.
 
That looks like a number from dry alright...oh Buddy....I know you don't have enough self control to not eat that when it is right there in front of your nose. Well Tony, at least there is a reason behind that number. Buddy will be watching that door very closely everyday now....hope he doesn't learn how to turn the handle. LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top