10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50, +.6 53 +4.3 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Link
Yesterday

Here we go. I believe I am conforming to protocol with my new post today. Please be patient with me on this subject. As for BG values, there is no way I can get + numbers M-Sa from AM. Different story in the PM cycle though, if I have to wake up in the night, I will. Sunday is the only day that I don't work. M-F my commute is ~1.75hrs. each way. Not looking for pity here, just understanding of why there are no + numbers from morning. I leave right after AMPS and shot and get PMPS and shot done first thing after he eats when I get home 12 hours later. Also, with Buddy, until he is more regulated and therefore calmer about food, there is no way to test him before he eats. He is CRAZY for food right now. Any insight as to how fast BG rises in relation to food? I've been testing directly after he eats and don't know how accurate the number is. At a minimum, if it is high enough to shoot, I do.

Thank you all,

Tony and Buddy
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425

Perfect job with the new condo for today and the links! Excellent job!! :thumbup
12 hour days...that is really hard...you certainly are a busy one!!
Tell me what you do for snacks while you are away? Do you leave anything out for Buddy?

Some people have bought either the 2 compartment timed feeders, or the 5 compartment ones. That way, you can time a snack for him while you are gone. The food keeps them steady...and it is good to leave something out. If no timed feeder is doable, some freeze an ice cube tray with watered down food and leave a puck or two down when you leave. The food defrosts and then they have a nice snack. It is best to pick u food before 2 hours of a preshot....so if you are working, there is no way to really monitor that. But it is good to remember for the PM cycles of for you DAY off...(1 day off, eh? sigh..sorry)

I am hoping that soon you will find that Buddy's appetite is returning to a more normal hunger. My Shadow was ravenously hungry right before dx and after for some time. I really forget how long he ate like he couldn't get enough food! We have to remember that without insulin working in their bodies, they are virtually starving....Their body takes awhile to adjust to getting enough nutrients with the added insulin we give them. He will be satisfied one of these days....but until then, it is suggested that you do feed and don't hold back food when they are soooo hungry.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425

Very nice spreadsheet. :) Good job on getting it up and running. This will truly help those that are more knowledgeable than I am with your sugarbaby's #'s. Hoping for good #'s soon with Buddy. Lantus requires a "storage shed" http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150 and some of the insulin gets put into Buddy's body. Takes a while, but you'll start seeing the results as time goes on. This link will explain everything.

I, too, got discouraged, and I still do at times. It's perfectly natural. Just keep it up, and everything WILL fall into place. :)
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425

Pat+Raja+Shadow ,

Thank you much for the idea of watering down some food and freezing it. Plus it will get him more moisture. I've been "spiking" his wet food with a little H20 every time I feed him. How much water do you suggest with the food? 1:1 ratio?

Tony and Buddy
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425

When I froze food for my kitty to eat later, I didn't do 1:1 ratio. I think it was about 3 food to 1 water, because my kitty didn't like it to be so diluted. Every cat is different though, so it might be a trial and error thing for you to find what works best.

I would put down the frozen piece and plop another 1/2 can of fresh canned food on top. (Fancy Feast 3 oz.) That way BigMac could eat some food right away and the frozen stuff would thaw for him to eat later. Sometimes he'd eat quickly and then lick at the frozen lump. But that was ok, because it still took longer for him to actually eat it.

Now I use the 5 compartment auto feeder and it works well for us. If I have to fill all 5 compartments because I'll be gone 12 hours or so more, I do put frozen chunks in the compartments that open last. (My kitty is no longer using insulin so I don't have to stick to the 12 hour schedule. I hope you get there too someday.) :-D
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425

CD said it right...sounds good to do it that way to start and then see how it works out for Buddy.

We believe that our kitties are so much more than just their numbers. There is so much that is involved when looking at the "Whole Cat" That's why we do a WCR.(whole cat report) during the day. You might visit other condos and see something like "4Ps present" or "Waiting for the last P" and it refers to our shortcut for describing how they are doing in our WCR.
There are 5 Ps that we look for each day:
P=purring
P=pooping
P=preening
P=peeing
P=playing
If all those Ps are accounted, for , then we are thankful that our kitty is doing pretty well even if the numbers aren't so good. Now, my two are 13 and they don't get into P for Playing too much, but I do keep watch for all the other Ps.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425

Well Buddy has been eating so much and started drinking water so we see a lot of Pooping and Peeing. Purring happens when I go after him for some rub downs, have seen him Preen a bit, but there really isn't much Play right now. And this from a cat who takes pleasure in making sure I can't tie my shoelaces (cause he's batting them around while I try). He spends a lot of time half hunched by the food bowl. So badly do I want my Buddy back to more normal. . .

Someone (not on the board) asked me how I've paid for all the vet bills, insulin, food, and testing supplies, I'm approaching the 1k mark (I imagine many of you have spent much more) . I just tell em that I was saving for a big flat screen TV (I am in the stone ages with a CRT at home) and don't regret the decision to help Buddy instead of getting that TV - it'll have to wait another couple years if ever . . .

Tony and Buddy
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

I think we overshot here. I'm nervous about shooting such a low number. Protocol says to reduce the dose 0.25 and go for it. What are your thoughts? He ate 1.5 cans Purina DM wet, so belly is FULL. Wait 30 min and retest? Then shoot .75? I don't want to start from scratch again, but I don't want to kill my cat either. Any suggestions greatly appreciated.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

hang on, looking at spreadsheet. You're too new to shoot this right off the bat. He ate 1.5 cans just now? Hungry kitty! You can test 30 minutes after the food and post your number.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

That is......a big drop.

I would retest like you said and give .75 instead of the 1.00. (but wait for others to answer- just my opinion - I am new)
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

Yeah, def want to get a new number in a little bit. He normally is getting 1.5 cans (worked up to it over the past week) so I don't take this as a sign of hypo. And I am standing ready with syrup just in case. No other symptoms - he's actually satiated himself and left just a little in the bowl. Thank you for your support here.
And I've been mulling it over in my head a bit today. Since his fasting 2 weeks ago, he has fought me every time for blood readings. Today I put his food on the table where I test him and did it while he was eating. So simple, he folded back his ears, but I got a drop w/o much fuss otherwise. I am wondering if he's been showing higher numbers from the stress of testing. Before his sickness induced fast, testing and injections were a breeze... ok, let's go get that number.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

sorry for the delay, I had to get caught up on yesterday and today's condos. It sounds like your schedule is pretty tight - if you delay the shot tonight, then tomorrow's shot will be due 12 hours after this one. You can be a little early, but not a lot, maybe 1/2 hour at your stage of the game. Is that a problem for you getting out the door in the morning?

Let's see how much he goes up at the 1/2 hour test.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

IMHO that's not enough of a rise to shoot, especially with as much food as he ate. If your time isn't flexible enough to wait longer, then it might be best to skip tonight and reduce to 0.75 in the morning. I think there's a good chance Buddy has been dropping lower during the day the last few days.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

Libby,

I was hoping that it would rise faster to be able to dose, but I'm with you on skipping for tonight and trying 0.75 in the morning at the usual time. Thank you for weighing in on this one. Hopefully it won't be such a huge step back skipping the dose, but comming back with 0.75 should help with that. I'll be keeping a close eye on him tonight. He actually started his motor running (Puuuuuurrrrrr) when I rubbed my face on his. Like music to my ears. And to see him satiated like he is. So wonderful. Been so long.
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

Libby knows Best!! I would follow what she tells you! She is very knowledgable with dosing!

Welcome to lantus land--When we first came, Moonie would go from the food to the water, food-water, all day long!!She camped out by the water bowl, and just ate everything she could..Today there's at least 1/4-1/2 can left between the 2 cats--When they finally get somewhat regulated & their BG comes down. all that behavior changes, less hungry & thirsty. And less peeing as well.
I see you are doing the best you can so far, that is great! Just ask questions, read, and keep posting..And Most of All,
Look At the Whole Cat, watch for improvement, playing, returning to normal behaviors--Patience & Consistancy is our mantra here-
Again-Welcome!
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

Thanks for the reassurance Ronnie and Moonie,

Can't wait till Buddy gets back to normal. It is great to see him not go from one bowl to another.


Tony (aka Mad Scientist) and Buddy.
Purrs and facerubs. . . .
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50 HELP w/ Dosing

You are doing the right things Tony...I hope Buddy will start showing major improvements real soon.
Maybe take the "Help part" out of your header now.

Wondering if you leave food out for him to eat during the day....we talked about it a lot earlier.
Maybe you will try the frozen food idea if you are not already leaving a snack for him. 12 hours is long time for a kitty to go without food.....
 
Re: 10/11Buddy AMPS 425, PMPS 50, +.6 53

Pat,

Thank you for correcting me with the help in the header. I'm still getting used to the mores here and appreciate all the gentle feedback to keep me on track. I am freezing some kitty food pops tonight for both my cats. I am also still getting used to feeding can food instead of leaving dry out for grazing through the day. Be back in a bit with some more BG numbers after dinner. He's eating again. . . .
 
Well, he got a snack of Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets (half can) around 9pm. Cause he was a good sport tonight and I wanted to see if he would eat it - he's only had Purina DM wet till now. I think my plan is to find Evo 95% locally so that I can test out the palatability of the stuff on my cats before I go and buy a case online. We are also trying out some other FF flavors and a couple 9Lives. None of the Friskies or Wiskas foods looked low carb at the store tonight. There seems to be a lot of "tender slices in gravy" stuff going on. Seems like anything that is made to appeal to humans, is def not suitable for a diabetic cat. At 10:18 his BG was back up to 232- I expected this, but was not going to shoot on a 53. We are going back to 0.75units 2X daily, hopefully this will level him out over the next 4-5 days then fine tune it from there, either up or down as needed. 1unit was def. a bit much. Goodnight, we are packing it in.

Tony Buddy and Jade
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top