10/11 Gandolf PMPS 332

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27122
WCR: All Ps Present
Out-of-town 10/20-24

Good Monday Morning LL Friends,

Off to a great start this Monday. DD was in neighborhood and dropped by to do the "poke & shoot" dance with Gandolf. So glad she did. The more practice the better. And off she goes. That's how its going to be when I'm gone. If the auto-feeder works and we know his numbers better, it should be fairly smooth sailing.

And we're off to a full day ourselves.

Have a good day all,

Cee & Gandolf
 
Re: 10/11 Gandolf 319

Nice on the DD - it is so great that you have someone that can help. Hope the auto feeder works too - my guy thinks I still need to serve him. Drives me crazy.

Have a good day today - hope Gandolf can find some yellows.
 
Re: 10/11 Gandolf 319

That's a fairly low Pink...can you bring that down a bit Gandolf?
This is your 6th cycle on this does, right? Let's see how he does today....
 
Racing through the BG strips, but certainly key to monitoring. It is 6 cycles and he seems somewhat "regulated",if I may, though in the yellow and pink. Wondering if I should consider a docrease to 2U? If so, Wed. would be the day because I'm out ALOT for hours tomorrow. Back and forth but no close monitoring. He's eating OK. Didn't seem quite as hungry today. Not sure why. I'm going to think it's because he's getting regulated. We're not in a hurry. I'll get a reading or 2 tonight but big day with lots of workouts so need to sleep.

Picked up some micro marked syringes at WalMart. ( measuring help to me and DD). The clerk there talked about some over-the-counter insulin (didn't know you could get it OTC),"R" and another name, some product ReliOn itself manufactured. He said Lantus was the expensive insulin. Well, I don't know about the different insulins. Anything better than Lantus?

Thanks for your continued oversight. We simply continue to gather data. pc_work

We send our very best to y'all tonight.


Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
The clerk was telling you about Humulin R (or "regular" insulin). It is not meant to be used in quite the way the clerk was telling you. It's a very short acting insulin. It lasts about 4 hours and is used as a bolus insulin. Vets use it primarily in emergency situations and some people use it here in very small amounts to help lower high numbers. It is very potent. At present, Lantus is the insulin that has the best track record for getting cats in remission.

I do think you have room to raise Gandolf's dose.
 
Hi Cee

Sorry I haven't checked in with you and Gandolf lately but what a difference a few days makes. You are doing splendid now and picking up the LL lingo...just like an old pro!! I hope Gandolf's numbers come down from you and I would just follow whatever advice Sienne or the other guides have for you. (((Gandolf!)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top