1/15 Kitty AMPS 80, +5 51! Qstn

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kathy and Kitty, Jan 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    ETA: See mid-day +5 question

    Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2597

    Ah, just a smidge higher. That sneakcrease may be in effect. We can handle a smidge! :mrgreen:
     
  2. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty AMPS 80

    My senses are tingling - like spider sense! at Kitty's pretty greens!!! heee heeee!!!!

    NICE NICE NICEY AMPS!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat
     
  3. jojo and bunny

    jojo and bunny Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty AMPS 80

    HOLY CRAPPUS!!!!
    i just opened your SS. where is the pink cat on 5.0 units? what did you do with him? :mrgreen:
    teehee. well that sure was nice to see. very happy for you guys. nice work!
     
  4. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty AMPS 80

    YOU are what's nice to see!!!! :YMHUG:

    Kitty is a Team J Kitty. :RAHCAT He is doing very nicely!
     
  5. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty AMPS 80

    Look at this green Kitty.....so nice to see.

    Hey was there a Jojo sighting in this condo? :eek:
     
  6. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty AMPS 80

    Faster than a comet, but I saw it too!! :D
     
  7. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty +5 51 - Question

    So much for noticing the dosecrease!

    of course, TODAY I had to test at +5. If I had waited until my usual +6, I am certain he would have been below 50. I fed him, rather than wait to catch it, and he ate pretty well.

    So the question is... does this mean anything? I know we're not supposed to take another sneakcrease, but gosh, the kitty seems not to even notice it.
     
  8. Barbara and tuffy

    Barbara and tuffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That is a tough question Kathy. He is right on the border. I'm sure one of the experienced people will pop in with an answer. Nice numbers for Kitty. Keep up the good work. Glad you fed the curve. That was the right decision.
     
  9. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty AMPS 80, +5 51, +7 61 - advice?

    Thanks, Barbara! :D I always wonder whether I'm doing the right thing.

    He is still pretty low for a kitty who has had the dosecreases he has. And of course, tonight I have to leave him until shot time, and tomorrow, I have to leave him for about four hours after shot time!

    He'll be okay tonight, I guess, since it's so late in the cycle. But I'm worried he'll be low in the a.m., and I'll have to leave him.

    I'm just not sure how to handle this. Step one, I know: Worry early -- and often!! :mrgreen:
     
  10. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    In my opinion I might wait another cycle or two before decreasing. He may not notice this one but you don't want to get to far ahead and lose momentum.....having said all that I would wonder what the more experienced people think.
     
  11. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Let's see if one of the o:) see's your question by the end of the nite.

    +5 is pretty green thou huh? Nice Kitty!!
     
  12. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty - effect of rapid reductions

    I guess I should come out and ask it straight out: What happens when you reduce too quickly -- loss of momentum, as Miriam said? Does it matter whether the reductions have been drops or .25's?

    I thought his shed would empty with the .25 reduction we took a little while ago, but it sure doesn't seem like it. confused_cat
     
  13. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Where's Jojo when you need her? (And you couldn't have tested at +6, too? Just kidding!!)

    If you decrease too quickly, the decrease won't hold and you increase to the last effective dose. As for tomorrow, I'm presuming Kitty will eat if his numbers are running low. If his AMPS is lower than usual, you could always give a BCS dose and go back to your regular dose in the evening. I'm with Miriam though -- I think you need more experienced eyes to give this some thought.
     
  14. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty - effect of rapid reductions

    you don't want to know. :lol:

    seriously, if you lose momentum now... it could set you back months. i've seen it happen too many times for my comfort. this is why we'd like you to hold the dose for 7 days unless kitty tells you otherwise.
    my recommendation... hold the doe.
     
  15. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty - effect of rapid reductions

    If you do hold the doe be careful of those antlers.....they are killers. :lol:
     
  16. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty - effect of rapid reductions

    haha_smiley typo fingers strike again!
     
  17. CD and BigMac

    CD and BigMac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Jill is such a deer isn't she... I mean dear. :lol:
     
  18. Barbara and tuffy

    Barbara and tuffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Happened to me in July with reducing too fast. Finally got back there.
     
  19. Cassandra and Sasha

    Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I agree with Jill. If Kitty starts to notice those drops you've been sneaking off without holding long enough between, all of this pretty green could go bye bye. None of us want that.

    Plus.....then who would I give gold stars to? :eek:
     
  20. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty PMPS 71 - THANK YOU!

    Thank you, everyone! It was time for me to ask the question and get a dose of reality. And a few puns too. :mrgreen:

    I do not want to put his momentum at risk. He's worked hard for it. And I need my stars! :D

    I hope he isn't too low tomorrow morning. Maybe his regular dose and some MC will do the trick.
     
  21. pjstroop

    pjstroop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Kathy... I'm glad you got a dose of reality :lol:

    Yes... I've learned to feed that curve instead of dropping the dose too quickly..
    Leaving out MC (if numbers are nice and green - which they usually are.. lol) is an excellent idea.
    I feed Pepper mini meals through out the day (+4, +6, +8) b/c I'm not available in the day..

    Mr Kitty will show you those dose reduction numbers when he is ready... they have us trained!
     
  22. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/15 Kitty PM +2 69

    I'm not generally in favor of reality, mind you. :mrgreen:

    Snacks rule! EARLY snacks rule more!

    I think I just got scared of the lows, because he was in the 90s for a while. Time to get reacquainted with feeding the lows.

    Ni ni!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page