10/4 Gandolf PMPS 325 (1.5U) +1 340 +3 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
yesterday's viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26542

Good morning LL Friends,

Am I correct in thinking we want the colors in the green just as steady as we can get them through insulin and food management (besides saving their little lives)? And our goal is using Lantus protocol to get there, personalizing and administering as needed to our sugarcat? This is the reason for the data collection and all the adjustments we make as we go. Am I seeing this clearly now? Really don't know how one could do this without the BG home testing. It's all coming together in my head...I hope. Please correct me if my thinking isn't right.

Am working on feeding Gandolf properly now. Not sure what that is but I think we might be slightly uncomfortable for a time as we figure that out and see what food schedule works to keep his BG steady and working with the insulin. Guess it might be a little early in the game too since we're just getting data collected now. Patience. He's a fighter. He didn't like waiting this morning, but he did. Then he ate a 1/2 c of Special Kitty. He's sleeping now. He seems content. Let's see how long this last.

Have a great day!

Cee & Gandolf
 
Re: 10/4 Gandolf AMPS 306 (1.5U)+1 227 (a ?)

You've got the purpose and yes, getting a kitty (or human, for that matter) regulated would be impossible without home testing. Most of us scratch our heads over why more vets don't insist on it. The only modification I'd make to what you underlined is that we want our kitties in a normal BG range -- 50 - 120. They can be in the lower blues and greens. Of course, if they can be either tightly regulated on insulin or get off insulin and stay in that range would be ideal.

Largely, how you use food is a very individual to the cat and trial and error thing. Jill is very good at studying a spreadsheet and helping to figure out how to use food. At this point, though, I'd concentrate more on dose that food.

Also, please get a +2. Your +1 should actually be higher than your AMPS and reflect a food spike. When it doesn't, it means numbers are dropping since the Lantus hasn't kicked in yet. Lantus onset should be around +2. You may need to monitor carefully this cycle.
 
Re: 10/4 Gandolf AMPS 306 (1.5U)+1 227 (a ?)

I saw you didnt feed food until after you gave Gandolf a shot.

My understanding is to not feed in the AM until you get a BG Reading, then feed the cat, then give the shot.
The same goes for the PM time.
(Reading, food, shot)
 
Re: 10/4 Gandolf AMPS 306 (1.5U)+1 227 (a ?)

Good morning Cee,

No good advice for ya....just lots of support and well wishes.

You are doing a great job w/digesting all this new information and then applying it.

Yes, patience is the key here. (I'm still learing that one.)

Have a great day.
 
Re: 10/4 Gandolf AMPS 306 (1.5U)+1 227 +2 198 +3 187

Cee, I agree with Tena, you are doing a marvelous job of asking questions and applying what you are learning. Keep up the good work! :-D

Was he just not happy about waiting to eat, or didn't like getting tested first? I know my crew tries to convince me that they are not going to survive if I don't feed them immediately in the morning! :lol:

Gandy's numbers look very nice today, I see a blue +2 and +3! Sweet!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top