Alex AMPS HI,PMPS 351

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi y'all!

Alex is just fine...it's me who has been frustrated and melting down a little bit again and as I've said a few thousand times :roll: , I tend not to post when I'm trying to figure things out. I have been keeping my eyes open around here though :razz:

I've come to the definite conclusion that Alex is not getting the duration that he is supposed to from his insulin and it has nothing to do with feeding him at the beginning of cycles..it's him. I believe his hyper-t is not only doing something to his metabolism of the insulin but I also think that it affects the way that his liver reacts to every situation he has; his drops, his bounces..etc. In other words..all cats with hyper-t have some level of liver instability. To what extent, I don't know, but I think this is messing with his insulin and his bgs as well. His last blood draw showed his t4 to be well within normal range but that is so variable from day to day and Alex is not a candidate for surgery or even for I131, as he gets stressed being away from me or even in the car with me to the point of hyperventilation (bad for his heart)

So, while I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS FOR ANYONE ELSE (I read all of your ss's all of he time and the Protocol WORKS)!, We are sidestepping the 'Protocol' and seeing if that might work for Alex. I have spoken to some other hyper-t FD beans who had to do this as well to attain any regulation for their diabetic hyper-t kitties....so that's what I'm going to try for my boy.This may not work and if it doesn't, well at least I tried. Now trying to find the correct starting dose to keep the ketones away, as always, is the main problem with Alex ohmygod_smile

Alex has his purry pants on and had a big breffis this morning. He has been very affectionate and following me around and talking to me a lot lately. I'm not exactly sure what he's saying but he seems like a pretty happy little dude (unjinx, UNJINX). Alex and Jackson are both taking their morning naps.

Have a great Caturday everyone. :razz:

One Week Ago
 
Re: Alex AMPS HI,+4-314

Hi Caryl,
I hope whatever you try works out for you guys.
And hope you can still post here and keep us posted on Alex. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Alex AMPS HI,+4-314

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi Caryl,
I hope whatever you try works out for you guys.
And hope you can still post here and keep us posted on Alex. :YMHUG:

Thanks Ronnie...
I was just thinking and trying to work out what might work for him...and I have been leaving early in the morning 3 days a week to work at the vet's office.
If you look at Alex's ss, you'll see what we're trying...2nd sheet is easier to read
I have put a disclaimer on my profile so that no one thinks this is okay for everyone
If it works..well that will be just great!

Hugs to you (and Looney Tunes and the Gang) too :YMHUG:

C, A&J
 
Re: Alex AMPS HI,+4-314,+7-350,+10.75-351

Kathy and Kitty said:
I'm not sure I understand what you said above... but I wish you luck with it!!!! :-D

I said that I'm encountering problems due to Alex's hyper-t. It's most likely interfering with how fast he's using his insulin. The liver is almost always involved also when a cat has hyper-t which could be responsible for his wacky bouncing and what seems to be a problem with duration..(ie always in the red at the beginning and end of every cycle, and starting to rise too early in each cycle)...so I'm trying something different. So for Alex, it may be a good idea to not wait the full 12 hours to shoot, as it appeared that he had no shed. It looks like he may be building one now.
 
I've never mastered the fine art of dosing, but even to me, Alex has always looked like an unusual case. (And no, not just because he is unusually handsome and has excellent taste in music.)

My brain is officially closed tonight, but I'll read closely as you figure out this hyper-T/diabetes interaction.

hugs
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
I've never mastered the fine art of dosing, but even to me, Alex has always looked like an unusual case. (And no, not just because he is unusually handsome and has excellent taste in music.)

My brain is officially closed tonight, but I'll read closely as you figure out this hyper-T/diabetes interaction.

hugs

Wait till I tell him you said that..he will be so pleased!!! Especially about the handsome part (I got him to pose with a little grandma hat on tonight and he really looks pissed off in the picture)

I just watched 'The Blind Side' on HBO and there were coming attractions for "The Promise: The making of Darkness on The Edge of Town" which premieres on HBO THIS THURSDAY!!! Mark your calendar if you haven't already. I am PSYCHED!!!! You're so lucky to have a hubby that likes HIM *sigh* (It's dedicated to Danny :sad: )


Does my heartthrob , Kitty, love him too? (I bet he loves "Kitty's Back"..doesn't he? I mean..who doesn't)? :mrgreen:
 
A grandma hat? Bruce would not approve! :lol: No wonder Alex looks PO'ed!

I do not get HBO. :cry: You will have to report back to me.

P.S. Kitty favors "The Wild, The Innocent and the E Street Shuffle," as he is both wild and innocent! :mrgreen:
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
A grandma hat? Bruce would not approve! :lol: No wonder Alex looks PO'ed!

I do not get HBO. :cry: You will have to report back to me.

P.S. Kitty favors "The Wild, The Innocent and the E Street Shuffle," as he is both wild and innocent! :mrgreen:

Oh no you're kidding ! I will I will..maybe I can save it to my DVR and transfer it to tape for you. there's a way to do it and if I can figure it out I will. You DO have a VCR, right? :lol:

I like "The Wild, The Innocent and the E Street Shuffle" much better than "Greetings" also...much better album IMO (and probably most people's...just for 'Incident' and 'NYC Serenade' alone)..."ya' wanna make a little easy money tonight"? ;-) ewwww chills! :lol:
 
Caryl and Alex said:
You DO have a VCR, right?
Um.... :oops: Maybe iTunes will have it. Just tell me what you think when you see it. As long as you have more to say than "purrrrrrrrr." :lol:

NYC Serenade. Tops.
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Caryl and Alex said:
You DO have a VCR, right?
Um.... :oops: Maybe iTunes will have it. Just tell me what you think when you see it. As long as you have more to say than "purrrrrrrrr." :lol:

NYC Serenade. Tops.

You may have to come here to watch it..I'm sure it will be online eventually, probably on HBO.com. Why don't you register there. I just did ... and ask for latest updates to be emailed to you! It's bound to be online!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top