1/14 Latte AMPS- 218, +10-101, +10.25 VOMIT, +10.5, 76....

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by carolynandlatte, Jan 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2409

    +1.5- 154
    +2.25- 97
    no food eaten while I was gone , but ate well before I left
    +10- 101
    +10.25- VOMIT food I had just given her
    +10.50- 76
    +10.75- 82
    +11- eating kibble

    I have to shoot at 6pm and run out the door to work until about +3. And Im not sure what I am going to do.

    For future reference, can anyone tell me what happens when a cat drops too low, and you cant get them up because of vomiting? Do you still do karo?
     
  2. kate and lucky

    kate and lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    I'm sure there is a method of timing with Pred and shot? Can't quite remember and that may limit vomiting-not something I have experience of.

    If kitty is vomiting, HC gravy or karo and if not that my only thought would be admisitering glucose anally.-Again not something where I've had to go beyond HC

    I'm sure there's a few around who have dealt with this.
    You could always post as a question on health too (not everyone looks in all the isg's) and get some more eyes.

    Try not to worry, the early days are the hardest and when compounded by other complications worrying. Hang in there your doing a great job :D
     
  3. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/14 Latte AMPS- 218, +10-101, +10.25 VOMIT, +10.5, 76...

    +11.25 - 82
    gave pred and a few treats
    gave ondansetron (anti nausea med) early

    Still debating in my head about full dose being wise or necessary.

    Of course input is always appreciated.
     
  4. Brenda and Morris

    Brenda and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Not sure I am qualified to give an answer, but I would always err on the side of conservatism...and give either no shot or a BCS (sorry I didn't look on the SS before answering so don't know her dose). If not eating/throwing up I'd not give insulin if I'm leaving. Just IMHO.
     
  5. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Im leaning toward shooting full dose because Im certain she will have a rebound from today (who knows if she surfed or how low she dropped). She has kept the kibble down she ate nearly 30 min ago + treats, AND the pred *should* be causing her to rise in the next hour ....for at least 3-5hrs afterwards.

    Again, i dont know if Im being stupid or not by even considering this....

    Gonna test again, feed babyfood, and decide during that process what to shoot in 20 min.
     
  6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    My initial thought was to feed babyfood and see if Latte holds it down.

    So can you update us? What's going on?
     
  7. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    +1.5- 154
    +2.25- 97
    no food eaten while I was gone , but ate well before I left
    +10- 101
    +10.25- VOMIT food I had just given her
    +10.50- 76
    +10.75- 82
    +11- eating kibble
    +11.25 - 82
    pred and ondansetron given, treats
    +11.75 (PMPS)- 120
    3-4tsp babyfood
    +12- shot fat 1.5

    PMPS + 3.5 - 185
     
  8. Amy'sWinston (GA)

    Amy'sWinston (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yo! Don't leave us hanging here! nailbite_smile ;-) What did you shoot?
     
  9. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    So my next question is where would I learn how to do this? Not like I ever want to, but in case I need to know and cant get any outside help. Im trying to figure out all the things I need to know and make advance plans for nearly every possible situation so I can handle them on my own.

    Are there videos? Is there someone on the board who has had to do this before? Im sorry if it sounds gross, or far out, but This is a real concern.
     
  10. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The full dose - fat 1.5...didnt I put that in the last post? Too many numbers, maybe not.
     
  11. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Just stopping by to wish Latte well.
    I hope the vomit has passed; it's rough on the body no matter what the source is.
     
  12. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    good shooting, looks like it worked out well.

    I haven't seen anyone here have to administer Karo anally, rubbing it on her gums would probably work if she couldn't keep it down. Hopefully you'll never need to try anything beyond that.
     
  13. pjstroop

    pjstroop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Carolyn.. I hope that Latte is feeling better this evening..
    Sending feel good tummy vibes!
     
  14. Cassandra and Sasha

    Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I used to rub Karo on Sasha's gums when she was low and wouldn't keep anything down. It usually worked, but I did sometimes have to resort to syringe feeding after dual amtiemetic administration with both Cerenia and Ondansetron.

    Sending many healing tummy vines.
     
  15. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    +6~ 144
    keeping food down and seems happy...even with earlier vomiting.
    Looking at her ss, anything goes at amps...pink, yellow, blue. I have a plan with numbers I am comfortable shooting at various doses just in case.

    Its been a long week with lots of ups and downs...literally.

    night!
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page