9/21 Boris AMPS=87 updated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25647 link to yesterday

ok - just when I got a little too relaxed! ;-) I slept thru the nite. DH checked him at +4 and fed Boris 1/4 can Wellness

+4=98

This AMPS = 87

So I'll keep checking Boris - but I'm mad at myself as I wonder how low Boris really went thru the nite. He acts ok for sure! Just wondering - do I stick with 0.75u when he gets hi enough to shoot? I know the protocol say if they go < 40 (I'm considering Boris a long term diabetic) then a dose decrease is considered. But I don't know if he did or not.

Ok - from now on - I'll still get up at least once to check him during the nite!

As always I so appreciate all of your help!!!!!
 
Re: 9/21 Boris AMPS=87

Patti-what a guy that DH is. Boris is looking good this morning. hope he has a good day and rides the green wave.
 
Re: 9/21 Boris AMPS=87

ok wasn't really sure what to do - have been reading the protocols and trying to do what's right - here's what I followed:

If blood glucose at the time of the next insulin injection 50-100 mg/dl (2.8-5.6 mmol/L)
Initially test which of the alternate methods is best suited to the individual cat:
a. Feed cat and reduce the dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU (as above).

I went with B

I fed Boris and waited one hour. He went to 100 of course - just on the edge. I went ahead and gave his usual dose of 0.75. I have to go out later today and he is coming with me!

I'll have to work on getting him back now to his usual "schedule" of insulin as we are almost 2 hours behind on dosing but we have 3 days to work on that.

oh I so hope I've done all this right! nailbite_smile I have hi carb and lo carb food with me. I'll try to check in during the evening via my phone. Any and all advice greatly accepted!!!
 
That was good Patti! I see you are testing him now....that is good that you could bring him with you.
You can get back on the old schedule by moving the shots up 15 minutes each or 1/2 hour a day...
(you might be able to shoot a little earlier if he goes really high by +11 but check back and see what the others say.)
Nice work..and beautiufl AMPS for Boris! :mrgreen:
 
You can always feed a little LC to keep him surfing...looks as if he went down a little...90 is still good.... but the snack will keep him surfing the higher greens...
 
Ooops...was his AMPS=100...then the 87 could be put in the previous day's +11 with a note that it was the +12 number. His AMPS are the number at which you shot....so that's 100, right? You can put a note that the AMPS was really +13 if you were 1 hour late in shooting...make sense?
 
thanks everyone - I'm having "trouble" learning how to put numbers in a certain place on the spreadsheet when it doesn't "fit" quite right like this morning did. Sorry to make it so confusing. I'm going to see Emmy (Dude) in a couple weeks and thought she could show me some tricks cuz' I keep looking at others sheets and can't quite figure out how to put the explanations in the middle of the sheet like they have. DUH!

Boris went up to 212 this evening. BOOOO! I wonder if any of it was related to stress at all. He went with me to Seattle - It was a 2 hour ride up - ugh - traffic altho his BG was 104 just before we got up there. He started howling and I got worried - so I pulled over to the side of the freeway and tested him. Nope he was ok - just wanted out of the carrier. When we parked in the garage - I fed him and went to a movie and dinner with friends. Then the long ride home. I have to admit I knew we'd be home by the time he was due for testing/dosing so I didn't test again in the city. Plus it was pouring rain and I was tired and just wanted to get going. I think he got a little chilled - I had left all the windows cracked open a bit for him but it got quite chilly. Am I a bad mom?

He's resting now peacefully in his nice warm bed on the kitchen counter. His favorite place.

We are staying home alllllllll day tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top