9/22Boris amps=166 and evening update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
We had a great nite - I'm so excited! :-D

PMPS = 136
+2 = 109
...DH fed him 1/4 can of Wellness - he was a little worried he was at this number already - we're still learning!
+4 = 125
+8 = 130
AMPS = 166


Barb and Tori gave me a good idea about giving Boris' prednisolone at nite so as not to worry about lows at nite. I will keep that in mind. Bt i wasnt ted see if the pred really affects him or if the other day was just a "fluke". So we gave the pred at what has been his usual time of 0800 - which is now 1 hour before his AMPS and shot time. I was called off work today so it will give me a chance to test and see what happens again.

IF the pred does truly raise him into the 200's for half the day like before - would a dose change for that time frame be considered? I know - I'm jumping way too far ahead here........thinking wayyyyyyyy toooooo much here! my usual! :shock: OK I'll go get more coffee now! ~O)

Again and again - thank you thank you thank you!!!!!!!
 
Re: 9/22Boris amps=166 PRED Question

Hey there.

Pretty good cycle regardless.

I think you might be asking if you give 2 different doses?
Having no experience of Pred couldn't say-hopefully others will chime in. If you don't get an answer today, ask again tomorrow :mrgreen:


Still no news, but is a year for Lucky GA today :sad:
 
Re: 9/22Boris amps=166

Well so far Boris doesn't seem to be affected by the pred today! :-D So that's making me happy too.

+3= 142
+7= 120


I am feeling so very fortunate to have had it so "easy" thus far. I know it's not always like this. I keep waiting for something else to happen! Does the Lantus shed keep building and I'd maybe still have to adjust dose or has it really happened that he would stay stable on this dose??? I'm in awe right now of this! :thumbup
 
At this point, Boris' shed is pretty well established. And, he's having a really good response to Lantus!!

The amount in the shed is contingent on what you're dosing. If the dose is increased, the shed takes a cycle or two to catch up. If the dose is decreased, the shed may be overly full for a cycle.
 
So theoretically nothing should change then if I don't change the dose? Could it really be this easy?? :?: :?: :?: dancing_cat After years of caring for Merlin with acromegaly I keep waiting for wonky numbers, increasing doses, nothing to make sense! cat_pet_icon

So only say if Boris would become sick, or get into other food or maybe finally gain more weight - things that change the current status quo - those are the things that would maybe upset the apple cart and thus his dose? Sorry - I'm trying to look forward. I'm so used to having to test so often and look for changes so much.....

ok - i'll quit thinking again :twisted: thanks for being patient with me!
 
Patti and Merlin said:
So theoretically nothing should change then if I don't change the dose? Could it really be this easy?? :?: :?: :?: After years of caring for Merlin with acromegaly I keep waiting for wonky numbers, increasing doses, nothing to make sense!

Theoretically, maybe, but as his pancreas starts to heal then this dose might become too much. OR, something could make him go up too.

Funny, this really proves that ECID. I'm finding that dosing Jazzy (acro) is easier for me than dosing Lucy (non acro). It's just because Lucy was a bouncer and Jazzy isn't. I know that at some point the acro will take over and Jazzy will become more wonky, but right now she's flaaaaaaaaat and easy.
 
I got where I always knew what Merlin needed and could predict him but it took a long time to get Merlin dx'ed. It was in the time where people didn't necessarily "believe" in acro right away. So there were a million "rebound" checks, etc. We went thru 3 insulins and finally the PZI sliding scale worked so good. Lantus/Levemir were just beginning to be used.

So now with Boris to get good numbers like this - I'm just waiting........... :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top