Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 225 +2 268
Try to alternate the hours of testing today. And the +11 is always nice to see once in awhile...but especially if she is running low during the day. How do you know if she is running low? By testing.
It's all about the testing. Did you get a chance to look at Shadow's SS....or Gabby's SS?
On Sept 2nd, I shot a 64...I gave Shadow 2.50u of Levemir. And if you notice, his +11=63...I knew he was going up and I also got a +1=67. I also tested every hour on the hour during that cycle too. :lol: The only reason I could do that was because I have
documented his numbers. I know my cat and I know that I am in control with my trusty meter and the food I have on hand, whether it be LC or MC or HC....
If I had to walk out the door, I would never have shot that number. Which is demonstrating what Sienne said in your condo yesterday.
Sienne and Gabby said:
There are too many variables...
- Are you going to be home?
- If you're going to be out, for how long?
- Will your cat self-feed?
- Is the pre-shot 150, 120 , 180?
- What is the lowest you've shot before?
- Will you be able to test at +1? At +2?
- What's you cat's pattern?
- How flexible is your schedule if you need to delay?
And probably a bunch of things I've missed!
Bear with me now Marjorie....I am
NOT telling YOU that you should shoot that number. Shadow and I have been doing this dance for 13 months now. I am trying to demonstrate that the data you collect with tests will help you make decisions about what number is safe for you to shoot.
We really cannot pinpoint one number that would be too low for you to shoot at this time.
We would have to look at what went on during the day with Gracie and if you are not testing through the day, there will be no information to base shooting that low.
When Gracie starts getting lower mid cycle numbers the preshot numbers will come down. You will eventually get <150 perhaps at preshot. You will then decide whether to shoot a smaller dose, or delay the shot and your subsequent schedule until the numbers rise. If you visit other condos, you will witness this happening with others and you will get the idea.
LC is <10% or so, MC= 10%=15% HC=16% and above....refer to the Binky chart for some medium carb foods. Much depends on how sensitive each kitty is to carbohydrates. Again, back to testing often to see how the BGs rise with each category.
There are countless scenarios Marjorie...and difficult to cover all possible circumstances. It would be nice to get enough testing for her SS so that you can see a pattern...the curve...with the nadir and the rises.
Thankfully you are shooting at a time when many people are online. You will post a +11 or +11.5 and someone will help you. They will ask you have HC gravy and plenty of strips and whether you will be home.
Then, you will decide together about what is going to happen. I hope that helps a little...