Thanks for looking in on us Libby.
Libby and Lucy said:
interesting. I’m not sure it’s advisable to use Bastians’s spreadsheet as an example, with shots given in the 40’s and 50’s, with him going into the 30’s with no followup tests, going to bed on a PS of 55 last night… If you want to be a case study, then more testing would be a good idea so others can study your spreadsheet and learn, or so you can point to your data to prove why it’s working and why it’s safe. Sure, you’re getting some nice numbers, but at what expense? I don’t know that it would be worth it to me to have my cat at risk for hypo every day. I KNOW I wouldn’t recommend it to others.
I see your point, but I know from history (early in his time here with me) where Bastian is going. I was data-ready to shoot those numbers. And data-ready to let him go on his own after +2 last night. I did do follow-up testing when he was in the 30s and 40s. Not every 15 minutes every time he hit those numbers as some here would suggest, but early on I tested low numbers every 30 minutes, and I learned where he was going.
Perhaps Bastian would do well on TID dosing. At least it would be a consistent dose at a consistent time, and maybe you would be able to lower the dose enough to keep him safe. Usually TID cats are microdosers who can’t give enough insulin to overcome the bounces. We don't usually suggest TID or other customized dosing, because for the majority of people it's impossible. It's hard enough to get some people to test/shoot twice a day, let alone the 3 shots and round the clock testing needed with TID dosing.
Stefani works full time, so she cannot do TID. I worked Sebastian into a pattern she could hopefully maintain. I know she is not as comfortable with the lower numbers, that's why I tried to do a couple cycles on .25/.25 so that she would know that he would end up in the high 100s/low 200s at PS, where she is going to be more comfortable. As I said in my post Bastian is "quick to respond to even small amounts of insulin."
I'm curious about the logic of 9/11's shot patterns, what made you decide to give shots at these times?
PS1 ~ 80 (+13) 0.5u
+3 ~ 40
PS2 ~ 61 (+3.5) 0.25u
+3 ~ 59
PS3 ~ 100 (+2.5) 0.25u
PS4 ~ 151 (+10) 0.25u
As I wrote on the SS, 'Messed up day timewise due to personal commitments." I was away from the house from the AM+9.5 to PM +7. I gave him low, safe (for him) .25U doses. As I wrote there, " I was an insulin pump today. Nice day though."
I’m trying to see how you’re determining when and what to shoot, but I can’t see it. Some cycles I see 0.5/0.25, some cycles I see 0.25/0.5 or 0.25/0.25, sometimes +2 sometimes +3, but there aren’t patterns that I can see. I guess I have to understand something and know it’s safe before recommending it to others.
I was trying to see what pattern of dosage and timing would fit best into Stefani's schedule and desire to run his nadir around 100. I don't dose less than .25U (can't see it). Perhaps Stefani will try those lower doses, or let him run higher than her target if she feels uncomfortable about shooting in the double digits even with .1U. I left her a note about the dosing in the comments section of today's line.
Sorry it’s time to give Bastian back, though I bet Stefani will be happy to see him. :smile:
I hope she will be. She's terribly busy helping to manage her mother's treatments for her recent Stage 4 breast cancer DX. Hopefully, someone will soon want to adopt Bastian. I feel he will fit into just about any situation as long as someone is willing to manage his food intake. He lives for food, and will even lick a plate hours after it has been licked before. With little effort, he could be a blimp. (='.'=)
PS--Celi, yes. Bastian allows me belly kisses.