9/13 Blackie pmps 118 +1 150 +1.5 155 +2 170 +3 190

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL,
I am at tbp, but DH is home today and will keep a close eye on Blackie. I lowered his dose last night to 4.5 and yet we still haven't seen a number over 200 since Saturday. I gave fluids this morning, but did spot checks before and after so we can see the effect. Of course this may be skewed because I fed him his regular LC (4%) with 12% gravy at amps, +1, +1.5 and +2. I know this long string of lower numbers may look very good to most, but it makes it difficult to give fluids and it makes me worry.

WCR: Blackie is feeling good. His routine hasn't changed, he goes outside, is eating well, and purring a lot. All P's but one were in place when I left.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24763

I hope everyone has a good Monday!
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121 +1 124 +1.5 95 +2 88

Hi Ele, I understand your concerns and hope that you will be able to work out a system that will give nice, higher greens and at the same time allow for the fluids. Blackie sounds happy with the lower dose. Don't forget that it will take a little while to lower the shed. What you are seeing now may be residual "shed action". A few more cycles and you will be able to see more clearly how he is doing on the new dose. Hope you and Blackie both have a fine day today.

Ella
Hey Blackie, Another OTJ party tonight--for Weeble. See you there, ready to work in the kitchen!
Stu
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121 +1 124 +1.5 95 +2 88

Good luck with the dosecrease Blackie. You are doing a great job with these numbers Ele! He is looking So fine! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121 +1 124 +1.5 95 +2 88 +3 67 +4 68 +5 73

The fluids are just one more variable to handle, but YOU ARE DOING A GREAT JOB! I really admire the way you are handling multiple problems. The important thing is , Blackie is feeling good and getting great numbers as well.
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121..+2 88 +3 67 +4 68 +5 73 +7 55 +7.5 55

Looks like the HC food this morning kept Blackie's numbers up for a couple of hours, but now he's coming back down again. DH fed him a little 12% gravy with LC at +7.5 and will recheck at +8.
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121..+4 68 +5 73 +7 55 +7.5 50 +8 51 ???

Now I am starting to get worried. We lowered the dose last night from a skinny 4.75 to 4.5 -- how long will it take the shed to empty? Should I decrease the dose again? Should we just feed a higher carb food for a while?
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121..+4 68 +5 73 +7 55 +7.5 50 +8 51 ???

Hi ELE - not too sure I can answer your questions on the shed... numbers sure do look nice though.

But I did want to thank you for yur heads up on Convenia. I did google it here on the board - and yes, scary stuff. I wish I'd known... why don't they tell you things, the side effects, while you are at the vet, and asked to make a decision. It would have been a no if I'd known. well - I have the info, know what to watch for, and will keep an eye on him. Thanks so much for mentioning it.
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121..+4 68 +5 73 +7 55 +7.5 50 +8 51 ???

Ele & Blackie said:
Now I am starting to get worried. We lowered the dose last night from a skinny 4.75 to 4.5 -- how long will it take the shed to empty? Should I decrease the dose again? Should we just feed a higher carb food for a while?
there's no way of knowing exactly how long it will take the shed to empty. the higher the dose, the bigger the shed. therefore, it'll take longer to deplete, kwim? if you feel like it's too much of a struggle to keep the numbers up, you could always skinny the dose up. if i were in your shoes, i would wait to do that until i saw how tonight's cycle went... presuming you'll be home to monitor tonight.
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie amps 121..+4 68 +5 73 +7 55 +7.5 50 +8 51 ???

Jill & Alex said:
Ele & Blackie said:
Now I am starting to get worried. We lowered the dose last night from a skinny 4.75 to 4.5 -- how long will it take the shed to empty? Should I decrease the dose again? Should we just feed a higher carb food for a while?
there's no way of knowing exactly how long it will take the shed to empty. the higher the dose, the bigger the shed. therefore, it'll take longer to deplete, kwim? if you feel like it's too much of a struggle to keep the numbers up, you could always skinny the dose up. if i were in your shoes, i would wait to do that until i saw how tonight's cycle went... presuming you'll be home to monitor tonight.


EDITED TO ADD after i saw the +8.5:
if this continues, i'd go ahead and skinny the dose up tonight.
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie 5 73 +7 55 +7.5 50 +8 51 +8.5 47 +9 54 +10 80

Wow! What a gorgeous day for Blackie!
good luck with his new skinny dose
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie pmps 118

I fed some 11% (FF Medley) mixed with his 4% Wellness. Blackie loves the Medley! I also shot 4 units - skinny wasn't enough for me. I plan on giving fluids in a few minutes and will do before & after tests. Blackie is feeling good - he's laying on the warm sidewalk outside my window.
 
Re: 9/13 Blackie pmps 118

bigger dose = bigger shed, sometimes you have to drain it out a little. What a great couple of days, though, aside from the fluids issue. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top