8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220 pmps 259 +4 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Happy Monday, LL
This morning's shot was the third cycle at 5 units. We did see some blue last night, and I'm hoping we'll see some green soon. I am still wondering about this high dose. Is there anyone else on LL that is this high but not an acrocat??

ETA: Blackie had a clear U/A about 2 weeks ago and bloodwork about 1 week ago. His teeth are fine - vet says they're surprising clear of placque & tartar.

WCR: Blackie is feeling good. He is more affectionate than usual lately and it is nice. He is eating well and all P's are in place.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23627
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264

Morning ele...I think there re 32 other cats that have that dose...no...was it 3? Or maybe it was 75...oh, I can't remember.
:lol: Only kidding with you...I know this is uncharted territory for yous. But if it's what Blackie is up to as far as the dosing scale, then it is what Blackie needs...right?
I was just reading a post that Jill wrote to Barb & checkers...about going to a dose that is higher than the past ...while the circumstances were different, it is still interesting to read... http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 69#p232076
Sometimes you have to go up in order to go down...hang in there. Those blues means that things are going well, right?

I am going through the same thing with Shadow.
we have to just keep on raising the dose until our kitty's Liver notices! Maybe Blackie will get some pretty blues again and then we will be happy again....

Dear Blackie:
You are doing great...just a little more time, okay?
I am proud of you! You will find that perfect does
and then you will be dancing in the street!
With Love and Hugs....
Raja
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220

Hey Blackie, you gor blue last night. :thumbup These parties are the best for lowering BG. See you tonight? -- Tess

Ele, rule of thumb is 6 cycles, but Tess often takes more. Hang in there.
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220

Ele, please don't be discouraged. I was frantic yesterday, because Checkers had been high pink all day. In fact high for quite a few weeks.
I really thought he was on too high a dose, and his liver was fighting back, dumping out glucose.
In the post Pat gave the link to, Jill exlained it to me. Well, guess what? Today, he got to green. I don't remember when that happened last.
Hang in there, Ele. Blackie has his own agenda. It takes what it takes. I need to remember that also.

And btw, those are not such terrible numbers. Yellow is better than pink! :-D
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220 pmps 259

A yellow day for Blackie. Thanks for the link, Pat. I pm'd Jill to see what she thinks about Blackie's dose.
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220 pmps 259

Hi Ele, I agree with the others, Blackie has to find his dose. And once he does, it's not graven in stone, you know. Doses change all the time along with the kitty. Stu has been up and down a number of times since we started the protocol. So yes, hang in there and wait for the magic number of cycles on this dose. Thanks for the tip about having the babyfood on hand. I must have been reading your mind, because I bought some this afternoon just for that purpose (stage 1 chicken, turkey, beef).
Have a good evening. And, Blackie, you work on getting some blues and greens for your mamabean, OK?

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220 pmps 259

Hi Ele! Sorry to hear Blackie's numbers are giving you such headaches. Unfortunately, we all know how that feels. :YMHUG: I hope he will come down soon; he's had a pretty flat yellow day! :smile:
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220 pmps 259

Ele & Blackie said:
A yellow day for Blackie. Thanks for the link, Pat. I pm'd Jill to see what she thinks about Blackie's dose.
yes, there have been kitties in LL who have reached a dose of 5u or more and haven't been diagnosed with acromegaly. like i explained to barb in the post pat previously linked to, it's not unusual to have to surpass a former "good dose" once control is lost. it's why we're very careful when suggesting dose reductions.

this past year, alex has developed some health issues which she never had before. we're going up and down and back up and then down the dosing scale like you wouldn't believe... all dependent on how she's feeling at the moment. it's taken 0.4u and so far up to 1.6u (and probably climbing) to keep her tightly controlled. while you can't compare the volume of insulin between alex and blackie, the reason i mention this is because it's taken 4 times the amount of insulin to maintain her in the same range. like alex, blackie has some health issues which *could* be contributing to your frustration. try to remain flexible. don't attach any particular significance to the amount of insulin you're shooting. instead, focus on giving blackie whatever he needs.
you test enough that it shouldn't be a problem...
 
Re: 8/30 Blackie amps 264 +4 279 +7 220 pmps 259

Thank you, Jill. That's kind of what I was thinking, but I just wasn't sure. You've helped ease my mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top