8/30 Skippy ambg 80 on dental day

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippy and birten

Member Since 2009
Didn't get much sleep. Heading for his cleaning today in two hours. His ambg is 80, I reduced his dose on Sat evening. He ate until 3:30. I hope the ride down is not going to be a waste. Prayers his bg rises since doc said if it was low she would not do it...why does he do this to me :)
 
I wouldn't think 80 is too low. But you might ask for the vet to check his BG just prior to the dental though, and maybe even once during. I always have the vet check the BG when one of my diabetics is being put under. Costs a little but to me it's worth it. Having IV fluids given is also something to consider if there is any question about the kidneys or if you want the vet to have instant access for injecting meds if a problem develops. I think that costs around $60 but sometimes it's worth it.

good luck,
laur
 
He is headed in the right direction 87 now in half an hour. Hoping by the time we get there he will be in the 100's or low 200's,...
 
Sending good dental vines to Skippy! Everything will be ok, Birten! Let us know when Skippy gets home. His numbers look fantabulous, tho...hope vet will do dental, I wouldn't want you to have to go through this anxiety twice in a row.
 
Dental was cancelled on the way to the vet. She refused to put him under anesthesia and has a strict protocol of having him between 100- 200 steady for 2 wks. We are heading back home and I am happy that she is concentious but it bites that I have to take another day off etc.
 
Oh boy...seems like such a waste of time, doesn't it? I have heard of this happening in the past.... sigh.
When did you reschedule for it? Did the vet have any suggestions for what you can do next time?
Maybe ask if you should give a half dose the night before or something along those lines?
Ok well your practice went great..you get an A+ for your preparation and execution of the drill...
guess that doesn't help much, does it?
 
What can I say my Skippy loves to cancel appointments by making his bg go low. And for making mama bean go crazy. I was hoping to post when I got home but the appt was cancelled by the vet due to low bg and for dropping 3 times in a two weeks. We were 30 minutes into the ride and she called. When he got home he was 76 @ +3 and now pmps is 288. He is smiling for playing a trick on me :)). We are set for Sept. 14 @ 11:30. I am off the weel prior for vaca and did not want to make the appt. In closing she is a good doctor for doing this instead of taking a chance on something that is not urgent. He shows no sign of tooth problems for now. Great preparedness on my part
 
Frustrating! At least you know if his numbers are under 100 in the 2 weeks prior to the dental you'll need to cancel. It would have been nice if she'd told you that in advance, though.

I wonder what she does with non-diabetic cats?
 
Sienna I was wondering that too. Perhaps it is that non-diabetics are around 100 and a diabetic can be unstable and more reason for complications. I will pose the question to her on the 14th.
 
that's a bummer. :sad: Your're right, though, at least you know she is conscientious and wants to be sure Skippy is safe. It would have been nice for her to tell you that she wanted him over 100 for two whole weeks, though. I guess she is not used to seeing diabetics that are kept lower than that.
 
I actually halved Shadow's dose the night before because I was worried about him going too low during the night with no food. He was high enough that I wasn't worried about him that morning.
But to keep the numbers within that range for two weeks prior is something else again. :roll:
At least you know now...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top