Chigga AMPS ~198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt)

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone - it's been a little while since I've been on. Things have been steady and I have bumped chigga up to a new cycle of 1.5u twice a day and things seem to really be improving. All her p's are in place! I just wanted to ask those of you who can advise if the bump I made is enough or if I should bump it up even more to 1.75 or just see how this cycle works out.

Hope everyone is doing great!

Erica
 
NICE blue this morning for Chigga! :-D I hope it wasn't a fur shot, but if it was, it happens. Never redose, just wait until the next shot is due.

Great job with the curve! I'll leave the dosing question to more qualified people. Good to see you!
 
Hi welcome back... :-D

really glad to see you both!

hmmm...ok, I'm a party pooper now...unfortunately, we are missing a lot of numbers in the evening cycles.

is it possible for you to get a before bedtime check? how is your evening schedule like?


hope you can check back and by then we'll see what others can add.
 
Hi...is this your last condo on Aug 11th? viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22133

Glad to see you and Chigga again! Glad also to hear that all Ps are in place and that you are both doing fine. Hoping our more experienced people will be around to take a look at your SS. I just wanted to say hello and that we have missed you guys! :mrgreen:
 
That certainly was my last condo - I've been keeping record just hadn't come onto the forum because things seemed to be running smoothly but I realize I'm not able to get that +6 check during the week unless I do it at night if I set my alarm. I work from 8 to 6:30 (M-F) so when I get home it's time for the pmps and I get up around 6am so I can do a +11 and amps. I tend to go to bed (or try to at least around 11pm) So what numbers should I try to get during the week, keeping my work schedule in mind (sadly, I can't leave work)? I figure if I could do a curve every weekend that would help as well but obviously Sunday she had a flat curve so I thought that meant I should up the dosage by .25u...any suggestions?
 
High Flat curve??

Just curious...what does it mean when my cat has a high flat curve? From all the reading I've done I upped the insulin which seemed to work according to her AMPS today but I just wanted to hear an explanation from some of you. Her range on Sunday stayed between 230 and 259 at the highest but was mainly in the 230's and 240's all day. Then with the bump in insulin she had her first blue this morning with her AMPS. So does the Flat Curve just mean she needed the higher dose?
 
Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt) said:
That certainly was my last condo - I've been keeping record just hadn't come onto the forum because things seemed to be running smoothly but I realize I'm not able to get that +6 check during the week unless I do it at night if I set my alarm.


ok, there's weekends, the nite before a day off, good time to set alarm for an overnite check.



I work from 8 to 6:30 (M-F) so when I get home it's time for the pmps and I get up around 6am so I can do a +11 and amps. I tend to go to bed (or try to at least around 11pm) So what numbers should I try to get during the week, keeping my work schedule in mind (sadly, I can't leave work)?


To help fill in the blanks after PMPS time, you could start with a +1 thru to +3....if +3 is around your bedtime, call it a before bedtime check.
...the +11 before AMPS is great idea - it can be an indicator of where Chigga is heading....one of my favourite test times :-D




I figure if I could do a curve every weekend that would help as well but obviously Sunday she had a flat curve so I thought that meant I should up the dosage by .25u...any suggestions?

again, without evening numbers it's hard to see what Chigga needs....not sure if you've heard this before, but often times, kitties tend to go lower in the evening cycles. Plus you'll want to make sure it is safe to go to bed (before bedtime check) in case Chigga is diving, know what I mean?
Let's see what others can add thru the day, about your dose question ok?

 
Re: High Flat curve??

Hi Erica just dropped in to say hello sorry can`t help you with advice ....Sending Healing green light to help Chigga get those numbers down :mrgreen: Kath
 
Hey Erica,

please post your questions in this thread for today.

One thread/condo per kitty :-D this helps keep everything in one place.
 
Here is the question you posed in that second condo...I have asked kath to delete her post to you so once she does that you will be able to go back in there and delete that one, okay?

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt) said:
Just curious...what does it mean when my cat has a high flat curve? From all the reading I've done I upped the insulin which seemed to work according to her AMPS today but I just wanted to hear an explanation from some of you. Her range on Sunday stayed between 230 and 259 at the highest but was mainly in the 230's and 240's all day. Then with the bump in insulin she had her first blue this morning with her AMPS. So does the Flat Curve just mean she needed the higher dose?
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
Hey Erica,

please post your questions in this thread for today.

One thread/condo per kitty :-D this helps keep everything in one place.

i merged the 2 threads for the sake of continuity. :mrgreen:
 
in the door, out the door, nadir checks, and before bed spot checks are a caregiver's best friend. in other words, spot checks are like pieces of a puzzle. the more pieces/spot checks you have the easier it is to see the entire picture. this is especially important with lantus and levemir because dosing is based on nadirs rather than preshot numbers. curves on the weekends can help, but they' don't always yield enough information to base a dose adjustment on. for instance, if you happen to do a curve on a day kitty is bouncing from a low, the numbers may be high. you wouldn't want to increase the dose based on that one curve because you wouldn't really know how low that particular dose was taking you kitty. kwim?

high flat curves *may* mean either too much insulin or not enough insulin. too much insulin could drop kitty too low causing a bounce to higher numbers. not enough insulin could mean kitty will remain high and flat.

those spot checks mentioned earlier are essential to figuring out the reason for high flat numbers and for making dose adjustments.


edited to add: sometimes kitty's number can be high and flat right before the numbers are about to break on a given dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top