8/23 Kim's Shadow PMPS 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim 'n Shadow

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23031

wasn't online much Sunday, regular chores got put aside on Saturday, so Sunday was spent trying to get some things done around here. I didn't do as much testing so her ears could get a break.

Shadow has just finished a round of Clavamox for a kitty pink-eye thing, so she should be OK for any UTI. The day she was diagnosed, the vet looked in her mouth, didn't say anything, but I am going to follow up with that thought the next time I see him. I appreciate the suggestions.

As for peeing on the floor, she's bad about it on high sugar days. I think it is the polyuria thing. One of my civvies doesn't think he has to squat when he's in there so the kitty box is a tall one. I got a different one for Shadow and cut one side down, I was thinking a full bladder just couldn't make the leap over the edge of the taller one and that has helped. She does seem to have some back leg weakness and I want to make it easier for her to get into the box. It has been a couple days since it happened last. When she's feeling good, she doesn't have any trouble getting in there. She started methyl B12 last week so I am hopeful that will help her back legs.

She looks good this morning, eyes sparkly, lots of interest in the food bowl. And a dry floor in the kitty box room - a good way to start the week.
 
Re: 8/23 Kim's Shadow AMPS 228

Have you given her Fortiflora or some other kind of probiotic while she was on the Clavamox? I order mine online. It's important to replenish the good bacteria in their systems since the ABS wipe out everything. We give the Fortiflora a few hours after the ABs....

That's a nice low yellow for Shadow's start today. :razz:

BTW, sometimes with bladder infections, they do a culture of the bacteria to see which AB to prescribe. Just so you know there are different ones for different conditions. Keep an eye on her and if she continues to urinate outside the box even after you have made adjustments, maybe a trip to the vet is in order. I just went through that with my Raja and she is fine now after 2 weeks on Clavamox. But she didn't have a UTI but rather trace blood in her urine.
 
Re: 8/23 Kim's Shadow AMPS 228

Hi Kim, she's looking alright on the reduced dose, so far. Considering the skipped shot and the shed building back up.
Did you get any mid-cycle tests, today? I don't know if you work away from home, yet, or not.
 
Re: 8/23 Kim's Shadow AMPS 228, +5 271

Methyl B12 is wonderful stuff, I hope you see a steady improvement in Shadow's neuropathy. Getting the BGs down will make a difference, too.
 
looks like a little bounce, it's not so bad though. If things don't change much by tomorrow night, we can look at increasing her dose.
 
I wasn't really sure how much data I would need to compile before she could have an increase. My next day off is friday, I can be home all day and it will be my next chance to do a curve. Does that factor into our planning?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top