8/09 Meadow AMPS 244 PMPS 130

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did a double take at the subject line thinking... is that the same Meadow?
Sorry I can't be of assistance re: dose.
Just wanted to say hi and nice colours on this SS!
 
Good plan!! Also, please make sure to leave plenty of at least MC, if not HC food out depending on where Meadow's numbers are. How late can you test tonight? Please get at least a couple of early tests in so you'll know if numbers are dropping. If they are, please go right to the HC food.
 
cool. :smile:

Here's a very brief summary of the approach I've seen some of the other acro people use, especially when the cat is in higher doses. All of a sudden you find out that the dose you're shooting is too high, so you pick a different, lower one. So you decided 18 is too much, and you chose 13. Good. Let's say 13 isn't enough, then you pick a number between 13 and 18, maybe 15, and give that one a try. So you've narrowed your range down a bit. If 15 is still not enough, then you know your good dose is probably somewhere between 15 and 18, so you can pick something in between to try, etc. Crazy, huh? Also, you have to remember that 18 units has a big shed behind it, so when you do make changes, they can take several cycles to take effect. That's why with an acro, it's perfectly acceptable to skip or BCS shots if you don't know what's going on. Unless the numbers are too low, you'll want to hold your dose changes for at least several cycles before deciding it isn't enough.

Sometimes using the regular protocol will be just fine (go up or down in increments of 0.5 unit or 1 unit or even 2 units, depending on dose), but then sometimes she'll throw these big changes at you all at once.

Also remember that if Meadow gets lower than you want, go straight for the HC food instead of LC. I would do that for any green right now, until you know how she responds. Maybe even lower blue for data collection purposes (see how she responds to HC so you'll have that tool in your back pocket in the future). With Jazzy, low carb seems to work on this dose, but the first time she went green I HC'd because I wasn't sure.

And I'll just say again, cool. :smile:
 
Meadow has become very picky with her food. She barely eats 1/2 a can now. She wants only treats. With tonight's PMPS and her refusing to eat, I took like 10 morsels of dry grain-free food and stuck it in the canned food, so she would eat it. And she did. Brat! I didn't want her to not have any food and have 13u in her system. Also, I think the dry food, although a small amount, will help her from bottoming out. I will test in an hour & before bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top