08/08 Blackie AMPS 405

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
AMPS 405, fed, but will be shooting a bit later this morning @ approx. 6:42 a.m. due to shot distribution @ 7:12 p.m. the previous night.

I understand that if you're late (say an hour like I was last night), that you divide that in 1/2, and then shoot 1/2 hour prior to the shot's time the previous time...? (hope that makes sense).
 
My understanding is that yes, you can do that. Most I believe will tell you to move it up/down by 15 minutes. I've done 30 minutes, when I have been in a tight crunch time wise, and it has been OK for my guy. Good luck!

Hope Blackie can find lower numbers today. Come on down Blackie!
 
I think Blackie needs a 24/7 cheering squad, I tell you. LOL

I gave her the shot 1/2 hour before last night's shot time, and I think this evening she'll be back on track. I'll be giving her a test shortly this morning... Her +3 test.
 
There are a couple of ways you can shift time. You can move shot time (earlier or later) by 30 min. at one point in the day or by 15 min. at each shot time. The most conservative way to move time is by 15 min. per day. Whether you move by 30 min. at once may depend on what your pre-shot number is. For example, if Blackie were in the lower greens, moving your time by 30 min. would require much more monitoring than if it was like today, where Blackie's numbers are in the red. Also, remember that shooting early is like a dose increase and shooting late is like a decrease.

When pre-shot numbers are high, there is always the possibility of shifting the shot by an hour. If you're not sure whether this is a good option, post and we can help you with the decision.

I'm really not clear why you reduced Blackie's dose. You need to give a new dose at least 6 cycles to stabilize. When you raised the dose to 2.0 and saw numbers in the red, Blackie may have been experiencing NDW (new dose wonkiness). If you note in the Tight Regulation/Tilly Protocol:
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.
I really think Blackie needs more insulin.
 
For the time being, should I keep the 1.75 for a while longer (6 cycles) then increase to 2.0 for another 6 cycles), or shall I increase to 2.0 and ignore any red #'s that may be showing up?
 
Lets see some nicer numbers Blackie.
I hope you get Blackie's dose figured out, it can all be a bit confusing.
 
If a dose reduction doesn't hold, you go back to the last good dose. There is no need to let the reduced dose settle for several cycles. I don't think you gave the 2.0u dose enough time to evaluate whether it was effective before you reduced the dose back to 1.75u. IMHO, I'd go back to 2.0u but let's see what some of the others have to say.
 
it looks like time for a dose increase to me. Normally we wait 6 cycles, but when numbers are high/flat we can increase sooner. Since nadirs are pink and red, you can increase by 0.5 units if you want.
 
She's currently getting 1.75u, and it hasn't been 6 cycles yet. Shall I increase it to 2.0 or 2.25 at PMPS tomorrow?

PMPS +4 347 @ 9:34 p.m.

I have a sinking feeling that she may go back to 8u like she did when she was on ProZinc per the vet's suggestion back then. I truly hope not. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top