8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 +4 331 +10 302 PMPS 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
Morning LL,

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21697
AMPS 162
+3 144
+7 83
+8 107
PMPS 201
+2 194
+4 145
+5 142

Today
AMPS 324

Today is day 3 of a dose reduction. We have had 3 reductions in the last 7 days. I am thinking that they are a bit too close together and this last one is not sticking. Should I back up to 1.25 this AM?

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 *DOSE QUESTION*

I'm looking and I'm seeing a bounce.
I'd like other thoughts too....

If you don't hear anything, stick with the same dose and see how the day goes.

Does Ollie have food available around +8/+9 before AMPS?
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 *DOSE QUESTION*

He did have food available at +9 (I get up early and take it away) but I doubt he ate any, he usually only eats from a fresh can but I wasn't watching him all night so ???

Thanks!
Klaree
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 *DOSE QUESTION*

k, thanks for answering that - wasn't sure if he gets a snack at that time.
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 *DOSE QUESTION*

Ollie has just passed through 4 cycles of the lowered dose, correct? He had pretty blues last night...
let's see if someone comes along...
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 *DOSE QUESTION*

did you shoot?

I'm thinking you may want to stick to the same so you don't stall any longer.
And see how the cycle goes.
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324

Can you maybe put the dose you shot in your SS for this morning....wondering how Ollie will do today...
Come on down Ollie!
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 +4 331 +10 302 *DOSE QUESTION*

Ollie's decided to surf in the pink today :-|. We're hoping it is a bounce from perhaps going low yesterday around +6 while I was gone??? I can tell his BG is high, he's mostly sleeping today and is a bit grumpy when I wake him for spot checks.

I'm going to ask the dose question now so that I don't stall longer than needed tonight. If he stays high until PMPS should I bump him back up to 1.25 or hold the dose for another cycle (or 2...)? confused_cat

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 +4 331 +10 302 *DOSE QUESTION*

I'll be honest. I'm torn. If Ollie dropped low last night, a bounce is possible. It looks like when he does drop low, his bounce is the next cycle. It could also be a high before a break. In either of these scenarios, you would hold the dose.

If he didn't drop and surfed the blues and he's not holding the reduction, you want to increase the dose back up.

Conservatively, you could hold for one more cycle and we can try to sort out which of these things is going on.
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 +4 331 +10 302 *DOSE QUESTION*

Thanks, Sienne. My gut thinks he isn't holding the dose. Even if he would have gotten low yesterday when I wasn't home, he normally doesn't stay this consistently high. With that said, I'm willing to try one more dose at 1.00. If he stays high, I'll shoot 1.25 tomorrow morning.

Well see what happens!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 +4 331 +10 302 *BAD LANTUS?*

I didn't think this was an issue it's worth mentioning. Wednesday (8/4) night I left the bottle of Lantus on the counter for approx. 2 hours after I gave Ollie his shot. :oops: Was that enough time to render the remaining insulin useless and this is what is happening with Ollie?

I sure hope not....I will feel terrible both emotionally and financially (the bottle was only only about 25% gone and cost me $110).

Thoughts?
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/7 Ollie AMPS 324 +4 331 +10 302 *BAD LANTUS?*

I've left the Lantus out for longer than that before with no problems. Humans leave it out all the time. Just keep an eye out for floaty things in the insulin, if you see those then it's probably toasty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top