8/6 Tori AMPS 266; +8~175 Chemo Day PMPS 292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21664

Hi everybody. So it's Friday which around our house means Chemo Day. Even though it wasn't a drop off for IV chemo today the vet office requested that I bring Tori in for 845 this morning. That meant a crazy morning for me trying to get Ayanna off to Day Care and Tori off to the vet at the same time. It's kind of like trying to get multiple kitties into carriers and off to the vet at the same time. But I did it and even got to the appointment for Tori on time.

The appointment went well. Tori has gained another 1/8 of a kilo. Her CBC and Renal function are both perfect;y normal. Doug was pleased that the second smaller lump has gone down completely but wasn't sure if the main lump had gone down or not. I think that it has but it is doing so at much slower rate than what we would like and it seems to vary in size from day to day.

He talked to another oncologist about whether we should be concerned that Tori hasn't gone into remission yet and if it is likely that she will. This oncologist felt that we shouldn't get too concerned until after the second Adriamycin treatment which is in two weeks. If it hasn't gone down by then then is the time to worry and we'll have to try something else. She suggested radiation again which is just not doable for us. It would cost about $8000 for the treatments and she would have to go to Calgary for it. That is about 4 hours away from here. She would have to be boarded for at least 3 weeks probably 6 which would be a t least $25 a day. I work full time nights as a nurse and have 2 weekends off a month so I wouldn't even be able to see her that often. Doug is also worried about how well they would do controlling her diabetes and quite frankly so am I. Also she wouldn't do well being away from her family. In all it just isn't doable. So I am just hoping and praying that the chemo will finally do its job completely. She did say though that we could try a different protocol but that she thought we were using the best one right now.

So we just have to wait and see what happens. Doug did say just again that Tori is the healthiest looking kitty with a lymphoma not in remission that he has ever seen. She does look great. You would never know to look at her that she has cancer and that she has been through everything that she has been through. She is my wonder kitty that's for sure. So keep her in your prayers OK?

I am going to have a nap now for awhile or I'll be a wreck at work tonight. That 1 day off sure went quick. Will check back in at shot time.
 
Re: 8/6 Tori AMPS 266; +8~175 Chemo Day

Hi Barb, Tori really is a fantastic kitty. We are keeping her (and you!) in our thoughts and prayers and hoping that everything will continue to go well. Sending a bouquet of "shrink that tumor" vines to your sweet girl. Get some rest (well, try to, anyway)!!

Hugs from
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/6 Tori AMPS 266; +8~175 Chemo Day

Barb and Tori said:
..... She suggested radiation again which is just not doable for us. It would cost about $8000 for the treatments and she would have to go to Calgary for it. That is about 4 hours away from here. She would have to be boarded for at least 3 weeks probably 6 which would be a t least $25 a day. I work full time nights as a nurse and have 2 weekends off a month so I wouldn't even be able to see her that often. Doug is also worried about how well they would do controlling her diabetes and quite frankly so am I. Also she wouldn't do well being away from her family....

I agree with you Barb...there is nothing about that that sounds doable....gee...that is really rough!
I will pray along with you that the chemo will work...really pray for her. Pretty decent +8 after all that she has been through today...the dreaded Friday. What a sweet trooper she is....I hope she will be okay tonight and tomorrow. And what a morning you had too! Hugs to you both! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/6 Tori AMPS 266; +8~175 Chemo Day

I'm certainly glad that you got to vet appointment on time with Tori in the carrier, not Ayanna. And glad Tori didn't go to Daycare. :lol: :lol:

It's good that Tori gained a little weight and has shown some improvement in the lumps sizes. I hope the main lump will start to really shrink. But the best part is that she doesn't act like she has cancer. She is still your wonder kitty, I love that!
 
Well Tori had a very quiet evening. When I got up she was on the couch cuddling with Ayanna. There has been such a big change in their relationship. When Ayanna was at the stage where she was just starting to walk and talk Tori got really stressed out by her. Now they are real close friends. Ayanna likes to help look after Tori. We have told her that she is sick and that is why she has to go to the doctor all the time. Since then Ayanna has been extra specially gentle with her.

Tori ate a real good supper tonight and in fact went back for seconds. She's having her bath right now and probably will have a nap. All seems well.

Have a good night everybody. Kiss your precious babies for me.
 
Tori is one amazing kitty. Incredible that she endures this all, takes it so well. I hope all turns out well for her - she so deserves it. Heal well Tori!
 
I will add Tori onto my prayer list, Barb. I hope that that Chemo works and Tori goes into remission soon.
 
barb, wishing you special luck getting tori into remission. we're in the same boat and i know how worrisome/stressful this all is.
ok, chemo, go get those cancer cells!
 
Hi Barb:

Been wondering about your sweet girl Tori and glad to see she's doing pretty well. Sounds like she's managing the chemo well and that's great. Am sending BIG vibes and prayers that this works for her - she is certainly a fighter and is doing all she can to help you take care of it.

Sending hugs to you and scritches to her.

Emmy & Dude (& Mittsi too)
 
Sending prayers and healing vines to Tori. I haven't been on the Board very much and missed that Tori has cancer. I'm so glad she seems to be tolerating the chemo.

All paws in our house are crossed that she goes into remission.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top