8/3 Buzz PMPS:181, +1.25:155, +2.25:75, +3:87, +4:81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21333

Recap of today:
AMPS: 293
+3: 283
+6: 275
PMPS: 181 (?!)

WCR: Buzz is doing well. Someone hacked up a huge furball today, the first one I've seen in years. It was gross but at least I didn't step on it in bare feet.

The vet called today with the results of the C&S from last week. The vet had told me (based on her in-house quick UA) that there was an infection but no crystals. The lab that did the C&S reported that there was "no clinical relevance" (or something) to the infection, i.e., it's such a small amount of infection that it shouldn't be treated with ABs. The vet said that if I wanted to treat the inflammation from cystitis, we could do steroids, which she knew I didn't want to do, or she can use Metacam, which I don't think I want to do either (seems like I've read stuff on here about it, and it's not good?). Needless to say, I'm quite disappointed because I was hoping that infection was the reason for Buzz's numbers.

In light of those results, I guess it's time for a dosecrease. I admit her numbers and the "patterns" are completely beyond me, but I would say a full 0.25 increase is maybe in order (rather than going to a f1.0). Advice and thoughts are welcome, of course. I abandoned my feeding experiment from the weekend and am back to feeding at PS and +1, in addition to a meal at +6.

Thank you!
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181/C&S results/Dose ?

I may be confusing Buzz with someone else, but had you started Buzz on any antibiotics before the cytocentesis?

How were you feeding over the weekend?

I agree that it looks like more insulin is needed and I think you're right that a 0.25u increase may be helpful.

Had you thought about the possibility that the insulin is getting a bit toasty? If you don't see a good response to raising Buzz's dose after 6 cycles, I'd consider starting new insulin.
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181/C&S results/Dose ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I may be confusing Buzz with someone else, but had you started Buzz on any antibiotics before the cytocentesis?
No, she hasn't been on any meds since her last UTI in March.

Sienne and Gabby said:
How were you feeding over the weekend?
I was feeding at PS and +2 or +3, in hopes of bringing her numbers down more without such a large food spike at the beginning of the cycle. I was just curious, with her in consistently higher numbers, what that would do. I can't tell if it helped or not; some days it seemed to, and other days not so much, so I chalked it all up to randomness. And obviously now with her dosecrease, I hope we will need to front load the cycle again.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I agree that it looks like more insulin is needed and I think you're right that a 0.25u increase may be helpful.
I will increase to 1.25u tomorrow morning, barring any weirdness tonight. It looks like it might be an exciting cycle, which will surely mean a bounce tomorrow. Good time to raise the dose. :-D

Sienne and Gabby said:
Had you thought about the possibility that the insulin is getting a bit toasty? If you don't see a good response to raising Buzz's dose after 6 cycles, I'd consider starting new insulin.
I had thought about that, and in fact, I purchased another 5 pens about a week and a half ago. However, it seems like I get just enough of a good response every time I'm convinced that the insulin is bad, so I'm still using the vial. It isn't cloudy and there are no floaties.
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181/C&S results/Dose ?

Well, good luck with the increase Sarah...hope Buzz uses it well...
See you up there soon. I will bring a book and read until you get there, ok? So glad we fixed that ledge up...we will have a great old time for ourselves! :lol:(I just cracked open a new Flex Pen for Shadow....even if mine doesn't look cloudy or weird, I like to change it at approx 6 weeks....that is a nice amount of time for the Levemir...You're on Lantus~~~hummmmmm how long have you been using the vial?)
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181/C&S results/Dose ?

Good luck with the increase Sarah. Sorry for the disappointment wit the results. and that is an affirmative on the metacam - stay away from it. IMHO - bad stuff, and I will never ever use it again on any of my cats. Anyways - hope all is well with Buzz. Mannie says heelllllooooooooooooooo!

and for what it may be worth - new pen for me every 30 days, or once a month.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181/C&S results/Dose ?

Pat and Michelle-
When I use the pens, I do change them about every 30 days, mostly because I run out then. I've never used a vial of Lantus so have no experience with how long it lasts, but I started this one on June 17th. Maybe the inconsistency is an indicator that the insulin is losing effectiveness? I've always thought of it as an all-or-nothing type deal: it either works or it doesn't. But maybe it isn't that way. Hmmm. Food for thought, I suppose.
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181, +1.25: 155, +2.25: 75

+1.25: 155 (MC)
+2.25: 75 (HC)

Sienne (or anyone), would you still recommend a dosecrease in light of this action? I wonder if it was the hairball...
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181, +1.25: 155, +2.25: 75

Hi Sarah, It could have been the hairball. See where she is tomorrow morning. She may bounce if she goes too low tonight (following Stu's example!). I'm not sure if it is good to increase in reaction to an obvious bounce. I have done that and regretted it. But wait for some expert advice, like from Sienne!!!
From everything that I have read, Metacam is a killer. Stay away from it! (see the link in Carolyn and Latte's signature about Metacam).

See you tomorrow,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181, +1.25: 155, +2.25: 75

Looks like another threatening post actually worked!!!! WHOOO HOOOO!!!! You got green :lol: :lol: :lol:
See I told you the kitties read our posts!! Now wait & see what she is in the am!! KOOL! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/3 Buzz PMPS: 181, +1.25: 155, +2.25: 75

+3: 87 (MC)

Hope it's food spike from the HC. I want her to surf, not bounce! But when do we get what we want in this dance, huh? :lol: I am glad she didn't drop, though.

Thanks for the advice on the Metacam. I will definitely not put her on that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top