8/1 HARLEY -- PMPS 331

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 39 HELP AGAIN!

This is very low...it looks like the shed needs to be drained quite a bit. Normally I would suggest skipping the shot with such a high dose and a low number but with a history of ketones I am not sure that is safe.
I am going to pm somebody for some help.
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 39 HELP AGAIN!

wow!

No feeding yet Pattie, will be waiting on new re-test number

408? this is the new test number Pattie?
I need more ~O)
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 408

Just took the 15 minute test - 408. Can't jumpt that fast in 15 minutes can it. When I took it first, it was from the ear he hates me to touch - got just a small amount of blood. This time it was from the other ear with a normal amount of blood (for us). I printed the posts from yesterday and someone said that the amount of blood would matter. Could that be it.

I will be feeding and shooting the 6.25 now - right?

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 408

oh my - nice way to wake us all up! :lol:

could of been an error - glad you re-tested!



Agree with Miriam - retest again!
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

Now is 454 - panic is setting in. This is where I would use 1 unit of the Humulin R because I am so afraid of ketones.

I have had to put him in a room so I can feed the other 2. He is horse from meowing and telling me it is breakfast...it does sound kinda funny.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

It's ok Pattie, I know the feeling! You might as well put him out of his misery :lol: I got a starving kitty here too bugging me for more breakfast!

A ketones check would be good sometime today too.
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

Do I give the regular amount of insulin?

Ya know, just last week when he was having high numbers, I said - I would love to see some low numbers. Truly, it is a case of "be careful of what you wish for.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

I would shoot the regular amount.....I am thinking the 39 may have been meter error. I think a 400 point jump in 15 minutes is way too much.
Are you home to test today?
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

I am home all day. Just did another AMPS and it was 443. Gave the normal amount (or new amount) 6.25 units. I will be testing Q 2 hours just to see. I think that the next time I get a really low number, I may test again immediately with the backup meter to see if it is true.

What about tonight? If I shoot every 12 hours that means 7:00 which will really affect Monday AM when I have to shoot at 5:45 and be out the door?

Thanks so much.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

Make sure you get a +11 today and post for help. If the number is still high you may be able to shoot early to get back on schedule.

Good idea to recheck if number does not look right.
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

wow .. what a crazy bunch of numbers this morning! I can only imagine your surprise going from that low to that high .. but Im sure it was a meter error ... sounds like you got everything under control now .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

What kind of meter are you using and when was the last time you checked the batteries? This is the same scenario as yesterday morning. I'm really thinking this is a meter error.
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

it is a walmart relion meter. The batter seems ok, but will get a new one today. I now have taken out the back up meter to use also.

Yes, it is exactly the same as yesterday. I will be doing another test in 20 minutes to see what is going on...it will be +1 from the AMPS (exact shot) and +2 from the 39 reading.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

Pattie that happen to me 3 times and if you don`t get enought blood you will get a very low reading on the Freedow Style Lite meter..we got a 23 and 15 minutes later it was 74 another time 32 and 15 min later 94 So yeah it does happen..Angels coming to your house to help Harley with his high numbers For you{{{{{{{{{{ Breath }}}}} that is what the good advice I got here ;-) ~O) :YMSIGH: it worked Hope you have a nice blue day(color) Kath :mrgreen:

Come on Harley give momma a break... @-) ~O)
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- +30 minutes 454

I think that's a good plan! Comparing two meters can make you a little crazy but in this case, I think you need to be sure you're getting accurate readings.
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443

yea, there's some weirdness going on with the meter, I just peeked back at your past few days.


On anther note, I wanted to give you some help with posting - just so you dont get missed when you really it - k? Forgive me if it's been repeated!

When you need help or are updating new test numbers, you "edit" your first post of the day and change the subject/title line.
You'll want to post a reply at the end of your thread - this bumps it to the top.

As you can see anytime someone does a reply in your thread, you move up. Hope that helps. :razz:

Now, no more weird low numbers like this morning - right? Hopefully the meters will start behaving themselves.
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443

I will try to do better with the posts...

Is there a better meter I should be using? I chose the Walmart brand due to $$ and the test strips are only $20/50 strips.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443 -+2 493

Now I am nervous about his getting ketones. The plus 2 is 2 hours after the first reading of 39 and 1 hour after his shot. So, I think what I am seeing is a reaction to his eating breakfast. will continue to test Q 2 hours after this.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443 -+2 493

I see you got a ketones negative - YES!

As for the meter question, my favourite meter was the One Touch, bit more pricey strips, but I found it to be very reliable, I would of gotten the Relion, but it's not available up here in Canada.

I don't hear much negative issues about the Relion, the best part is that it is rated as a good meter by Consumer Reports
Consumer Reports Meter Reviews and the strips are a good deal too.

Hope that helps.
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443 -+2 493

Good Morning Harley lets see you come on down out of red after scaring your Mama Bean this morning I have also gotten weird meter readings before when you do not have enough blood If I think its wrong I always retest Do Lou
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443 -+2 493 -+4 334

Tested at +4 and it was 334 - whew. I did side by side test with the backup meter and it was 35 points different. Drove to walmart to get a new battery and need to say the thoughts in my head were not the best. I know I am giving the best care to Harley (others would have given up last year) but still I feel that I should be doing something better to help him.

Wow, guilt is something else.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443 -+2 493 -+4 334 +6 357

+2 493, +4 334, +6 357. I am happy that he has gone down, but now it is time for more FF. I give only 3/4 can AM and now give the other 1/4 can. Hopefully it won't make him go up too much.

Got new batteries for the Relion - I'll see what tomorrow brings.

On the bright side...still no ketones when I tested a few minutes ago

Pattie
 
Re: 8/1 HARLEY -- AMPS 443 -+2 493 -+4 334 +6 357

don't feel bad, Harley is getting a lot of blue these days and that's really good! He's probably even finding green in there. The 39 today does seem suspicious but there are lots of other places on the spreadsheet where there could be green. Hang in there...
 
Today was tough. PMPS is 331 - never got out of the 300's all day. My vet emailed me (she is so wonderful)about the numbers (I had also sent her a message today) and suggested that I go down to 6.0 as the dose. I am so worried about ketones, that I am staying with the 6.25 for a while (told her that).

I changed the battery in the meter at +10 .. +8 397, +10 318.

I am hoping and praying that tonight and tomorrow will be better. I am working out of town (20 minutes away) but planning to leave some frozen food out for Harley. Petsmart near my place was out of the automatic feeders.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top