7/30 Tori AMPS 260- +8~58; +9~95 PMPS 288 Chemo Day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21004

Not too bad a start to the day numbers wise. Could be a lot worse. She ate a good breakfast and had a quick bath before it was into the carrier and off to the vet. It's chemo day and she gets the Vincristine today. That one seems to bother more than the rest but the second round of it was better than the first so I'm hoping that this one will not bother her at all.

So Tori is safely delivered to the vet and my grand daughter is safely delivered to day Care so now I'm off to bed for a few hours sleep. I've been awake since 1 o'clock yesterday afternoon so I'm wiped. Will try and catch up with everybody later.

Have a good day everybody.
 
Re: 7/30 Tori AMPS 260- Chemo Day

Sending healing vines and feel good vines for Tori today. I really hope she feels good when she comes home.
 
Well she's home and safe and eating her supper with gusto. Today's chemo visit was one of those good news, bad news (Not super bad ) kind of days. First the good news. Tori has actually gained a little bit of weight. I wasn't surprised really because the Pred has acted as a wonderful appetite stimulant. I swear sometimes she'd eat anything that wasn't tied down. Also her CBC was completely normal. Great news for sure.

Now for the not so great news. They had a hard time again getting an IV started on her. Even at he best of times she has always had tiny veins. I sure wish that they could do PICC lines in cats like they do on people for long term IV treatment. Also Doug admitted today that he is getting concerned about whether or not Tori will be able to go into remission or not. I guess with most forms of lymphoma if there is going to be a good response to treatment it occurs within the first few weeks. Tori is now into her 6th week. Although the second lump is barely palpable now ,the main one although smaller is still about the size of a large grape and hasn't decreased really in size since the first couple of weeks. He's trying to get a hold of an oncologist who knows this form of lymphoma well. The one in Calgary has been on vacation for the last couple of weeks and he hasn't been able to contact her. I guess what we both want to know is should we stay with this chemo protocol or add something else to to the mix. It gets very frustrating not having the resources available to us that a lot of folks in the States have. Mind you we don't have the population that our American neighbour has either.

So we carry on and wait to see what Doug can find out. I know that he will try his best to get the answers we need for Tori. You know it's funny. I look at her and most of the time I really don't quite believe that she is sick. She looks so darn good. Apart from the areas here and there where she is minus a bit of her fur and even that isn't very noticable. I guess I'm just impatient and want this darn cancer out of her and I want it out now. It's not that I'm not grateful that she is feeling so well. I am.

I felt kind of bad today. Right now the vets have a 2 year old kitty with lymphoma and she was there today too getting her treatment. I guess she's really having a rough time. The tech said that they were in kennels right beside each other today and that they were trying to reach out and touch each other like they were comforting each other. So sweet. I haven't met her owners but I told the tech to please let then know that I am thinking of them and hope she'll do well. Poor little baby. It's just not fair. Cancer sucks.

OK I've rambled enough. We'll just keep on fighting and hopefully we'll win this war. When I told Doug how Tori was doing laps of the backyard at full tilt. He laughed and said, "Is that surprising? You're talking about Tori. She's our wonder kitty." That she is.

Have a good night everybody. Kiss all your precious babies for me. I have to get ready for work soon. Yuck.
 
Barb and Tori said:
When I told Doug how Tori was doing laps of the backyard at full tilt. He laughed and said, "Is that surprising? You're talking about Tori. She's our wonder kitty." That she is.

For sure she is.

That's sweet about Tori and the other kitty comforting each other.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top