7/29 mocha pmps 84 +2 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20886

WCR: so yesterday over on the health board I was asking questions about trimming back mochas food and someone on there helped me figure out how much exactly mocha should be eating calorie wise in a day. So last night we weighed mocha and saw a whopping 15.2lbs on the scale! Soooooo we decided to start cutting back on her food last night and skipped her normal 3:30 a.m. feeding (1/8 of can) and so she kept crying all night long, getting up in our faces, pawing at the doors, pawing at the blinds, eating my hair, wanting in and out of the covers, you name it, she did everything but sleep. We figured it was because she didn't get her normal meal time but now of course with the 77 showing up on the meter, I'm sure she was just extremely low and being the bad beans that we are, just kept telling her to stop and to go to sleep. I am sure there will be a huge bounce at some point today.
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

WOW What amps today!!!! Almost worth being awakened all nite!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Mocha is doing great!!
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

Nice AMPS!

I've done the same thing with Kasha - not trying to cut back on her food (it's hard enough to get her to eat) but kind of ignoring when she's crying and complaining and just assuming it's something else - then I'd test her and think "Oh you poor girl - you were just dropping low and needed food and I suck!" - LOL... Of course, they learn pretty fast, so one day they cry because they have low BG... the next they are trying to work you to get what they want! And in the end... they usually end up with what they want...
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

wow what a night! and nice amps, I sure hope Mocha doesn't bounce too high from all this excitiement
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

Don't feel bad we have done the same thing one time or another......one time Putty was low and another time he just wanted to eat early.

It is hard to cut down on food. I had to do it with Putty because he was always free fed (dry food) and he was over 15 lb's. It is hard for them to get used to at first but they will. I have noticed since I am feeding Wellness Putty is not as hungry.

Very nice AMPS today Mocha don't bounce too high. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

Hi Mocha, Wow, look at your AMPS!! Don't bounce too high, now!!
Hi Devon, Instead of cutting out a meal, why don't you simply make the portions smaller? Stu used to be fat when he ate a lot of dry food in addition to the wet food (4 1/2 years ago, just before he was diagnosed with diabetes, he weighed 18 lbs!, but now he is down to 12 lbs.) Maybe their metabolism changes, too. Anyway, have a good day and I hope it won't be a nail-biter!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

You were saying the other day that you wanted lower pre-shot numbers, I guess Mocha overheard you.

Rather than cutting out an entire meal, can you cut back on the amount? I tend to think we get our kitties "trained" to a schedule and they do tend to like when things are they way they've grown accustomed to. I've been cutting back on Gabby's main meals. It's a little easier to do than eliminating a snack.
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

Oh, I agree Sienne! Cutting back on the portions would work...but keep giving her some kind of a snack at her usual time. With Diabetic kitties the lack of food is not a good thing.
Nice AMPS today for Mocha....
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

i'm with everyone else. :-D
try cutting the portions instead of cutting out a meal from the schedule. this method has worked very well for alex.
she's slowly, but surely getting her girlish figure back!
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77

I am in the same boat - cutting back would be better. I still struggle with the weight thing with Mannie. I just can't get him to shed the pounds.

Very nice amps for Mocha!
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77 +2 125

I'm sure this is the start of her bounce. As far as cutting back on portion sizes, right now she is only getting 1/8 of a 5.5oz can at her snack times. I did try quite awhile ago to cut back to 1/16th of a 5.5oz can but the slivers were so small they always fell apart trying to get them out of the can and I would get frustrated and usually ended up plopping a whole freaking can in her bowl :oops: We figured if we cut out one of her feedings at night (she was getting five feedings at night between her +3 and amps every 1 1/2hrs) and do that for a week and then after the first week of doing that, cut down her morning meal from 1/4 can to 1/8 of a can, and then the week after that, cut back on her pmps meal from 1/4 can to 1/8 of a can it might help her slowly adjust to small amounts. At this point, we really don't know what else to do. We both admitted that we have given up hope on mocha and this is just going to be a part of our lives for the next ten years or so. It was hard to admit, but in the long run easier then pretending this is only a temporary thing we will be able to "fix" on her.
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77 +2 125

Oh, ain't Mocha cute, waking you all night long. :lol: Nice AMPS. I hope she gives you nice numbers today. :smile:
 
Re: 7/29 mocha amps 77 +2 125

Can you get the 3 oz cans? It might be easier to get 1/8 of that (which should be really close to 1/16th of the 5.5oz) instead of the slivers out of the 5.5oz.

I'll bet she is feeling really good right now! Nice hootin' Devon.
 
Re: 7/29 mocha pmps 84

I LOVE today, do it again, Mocha!

Mocha and Lucy really ARE twins. Lucy is at 15.3 pounds now, and that is after losing a pound in the last 9 months. She was over 16. So I'm actually happy that she is down a little, but she really should be closer to 11 pounds. After reading everyone's suggestions, I'm going to try reducing portions and see what happens.
 
Re: 7/29 mocha pmps 84

Beautiful day today for Mocha. I was a zombie and somehow miss your post this morning. I have a small electronic kitchen scale and weigh out Tess's meals. It's easier than figuring out those little slivers of a can. It doesn't matter if they are broken up, Tess has to have hers chopped up anyway, w/ water. This is what I am using now http://www.harborfreight.com/digital-pocket-scale-93543.html

I saw you post in Health about food for your civvie. Have you considered raw? Try giving him a couple little pieces of raw chicken to see if he likes it before getting too involved in the process. A lot of IBD and skin allergies are caused by food. Single source protein is supposed to help and rabbit is recommended for food allergies. More expensive than chicken, but look for a local source. Check w/ your butcher.

I too use Feline Future supplement. It's easy and w/ the scale I can figure out how much for just a few meals. No need to make a whole big batch. Also I don't bother to grind it since I'm not using bone (yet :roll: ). Just chunk it up and / or buzz it in the food processor. Chewing on chunks are good for their teeth.
 
well I'm quite surprised that mocha didn't bounce today ... must be saving it up for tomorrow??

The wal mart brand special kitty as far as I know sells 5.5oz can's as their smallest size. I think they go up from there. The scale is a good idea, I should look for one of those. It might be easier and more accurate then what I am doing now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top