7/28 Buzz PMPS: 300, +1: 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20759&view=unread#wrap

Buzz went to the vet yesterday to see if she has an infection. Fittingly, yesterday was her 1 year dx-iversary. I told the vet I wanted to do a C&S, and that if the UA came back clean, I'd like to get BW done to rule out any other infections. Buzz's bladder wasn't full at all when we were there, so the vet said she would keep her for the afternoon. She was able to get some urine but not enough to do a C&S, so they kept her overnight. This was a good exercise for me, as I tend to have a little bit of a control issue when it comes to the kitty and her FD (don't we all? :lol: ).

She didn't get her insulin shot this morning because she wouldn't eat (she didn't eat last night either, only a couple of bites). For Buzz, this is huge. I have NEVER seen her turn down a meal, no matter how much she has already eaten (on those low nights when she gets food every 30 minutes) or what kind of food it is. Anyway, I did an in-the-door test and she was at 432 at 3 hours past what would have been her AM shot time. I didn't want to get that far off schedule so I'm skipping AM shot and we will pick back up tonight.

She DOES have an infection, I suppose a UTI although there were no crystals. We will have the results of the C&S back in 3-5 days, so maybe not before the weekend. Although this sounds weird, I am glad there's an infection because now I know I'm not crazy. :lol: Although of course it makes me feel like an awful bean for not having done anything about it sooner, despite my suspicions for the last month or so. Water under the bridge, yadda yadda.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

I hope you are able to get Buzz back on track and sorry he had to stay at the vet's office so long. Infections are never fun, but I am glad to hear you found the answers you were looking for and can now help Buzz feel better.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

Buzzweena!!!! We're all so sorry you aren't feeling well :(.

And Sarah.. don't be hard on yourself.. you are taking great care of her.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

Sorry to hear that Buzz has an infection, but once you get her treated, that should help her numbers! Try not to feel bad about it, the important thing is that she gets better. Sometimes the only clue you get is the BG numbers are not what they should be...Tinkles was like that for over 2 weeks before he showed signs of infection from his latest URI! I had no idea what was going on until he showed symptoms.

I hope she feels better soon!
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

don't beat yourself up over this, sarah. cats are so good at hiding what's going on with them. now you know and you're taking care of it.
hope buzz clears the infection quickly!
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

You did good. You ruled out the obvious and then got Buzz to the vet. FWIW, tuck away all of the indicators you can think of that made you think that something was "off." Should there be a next time, you'll be able to think back to the list and trust your gut.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

Thanks, guys. :-D I'm not being too hard on myself, because that won't solve anything except make me unhappy. As you've all said, the important thing is that I'm getting her treated now and hopefully she will go back to the great progress she was making when she first started on Lantus. Fingers crossed!

I just checked her at what would be +7 if she'd had her AM shot (and is actually +22; they shot her 2.5 hours early last night at the vet's :YMSIGH: ) and she is 307. Which is actually not too far off what her PSs have been lately anyway. It's also down about 120 points from the in-the-door test, which is great.

Good idea about making a mental list, Sienne. I will do that, although it was mostly just her numbers and how much more insulin she was on than she was before she got her UTI back in March.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

I totally understand being glad they found an infection. And other than the numbers, you really didn't have any way of knowing. I have had several u/a's for Blackie thinking infection and it wasn't. So you just never know. That is awesome that Buzz came down on her own today with no insulin. Once you get her on abs I bet you'll see much better numbers.

(ETA) I forgot about the not eating. Did she eat later today? Maybe the stress of staying at the vet made her appetite off. I hope she's better now.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

Sarah--Glad to hear that there is a reason Buzz is running high & now she can get better--All this could make anyone nuts, we all understand how you are feeling ..
Moonie says she hopes Buzz, one of her BFF's, feels a lot better now!! We luv you both!! Healing Hugs!!
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

KI hope her eating improved....glad that you now know what is up with Buzz and you can do something now. It's always better to know, right? BTW, I am taking Shadow in too cause I want to know if something is brewing with him. Earliest appt was for Monday though.
Good luck with the meds and whatnot....EAT Buzz!!! :mrgreen:
Hope you will be feeling better now!
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

you did good, you recognized that something was wrong and are fixing it. I hope Buzz feels better really soon.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz: Vet visit/No AMPS

Hi Sarah, It's good that you got her to the vet and now know that it's an infection--something you can actually do something about!! Feel better, Buzz, and get that hearty appetite back soon. Stu will come over and cook you some chicken soup. OK?

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz PMPS: 300

Thanks for all the well wishes for Buzz. :smile: Dawn, I had forgotten about Buzzweena! :lol: Good to see you again; how have you been?

She won't be starting on ABs until we get the results of the C&S back, so probably not until this weekend or Monday. I hate waiting even that much longer, but at this point, another couple of days won't hurt, I suppose. I find it interesting that her PMPS, after more than 24 hours of no insulin, is pretty much what it would have been with insulin. I guess her shed is at work? Whatever the case, I'm glad it's not too high. :smile:

She did eat as soon as we got home, so I know it was just the stress of being at the vet which caused her not to eat. So much for boarding being a solution if I ever wanted to have a life get away for the weekend. :YMSIGH:

Buzz sends her thanks to all her friends for stopping by to check on her. She says she would love some of Stu's chicken soup, and that she will soon be up for any and all activities with her buddies.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz PMPS: 300

Good going on getting her and finding out what is going on. Soon we can look forward to some pretty numbers.
 
Re: 7/28 Buzz PMPS: 300

Sarah and Buzz said:
Thanks for all the well wishes for Buzz. :smile: Dawn, I had forgotten about Buzzweena! :lol: Good to see you again; how have you been?

Gasp how could you forget about Buzzweena?!?!? :).. I've been good.. just busy.. lots of hugs from us to you two.. you are doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top