07/14 Max AMPS 124 PMPS 99 +1 88 +2 77 +3 104 +4 86 +5 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
Max was nice & low this AM, and really eager to be fed. He sat lurking on my pillow next to my head from 5am on, waiting for me to show signs of consciousness so that he could demand his food. Mornings like this make it hard to test because he won't sit still, but he's pretty cute.

I'm a little worried he may be dipping down belong 50 when I'm not around. Do you think he's heading towards a dose decrease, or am I just impatient?

I'll be home around +10, so we'll get some extra tests in tonight.

Yesterday's Condo

AMPS 124
+2 (fed 1 oz wf)
PMPS 99
+1 88
+2 77
+3 104
+4 86 (fed 1 oz wf)
+5 115
Have a great day!

Holly
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124

no dose advice here .. just wanted to say this is a nice looking amps to start the day! I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124

can you get another test before you leave? Even if it's just 1/2 hour after the shot, that will let you know if he's still dropping. He should be fine, this is higher than his nadir last night, so we know he has been surfing for hours and will most likely just keep surfing.

One thing that can be helpful when they start getting good numbers is to set the shot time so you can get a +11 before AMPS. That way you'll always know if Max is dropping or rising. Either that, or leave time to get a +1 after shooting. Then if he's dropping you can feed HC food before leaving.
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124

Hmmm...I wouldn't lower the dose based on suspected but unconfirmed drops below 50. BUT, it is a good sign that he's heading towards a dose reduction based on his PS numbers being in the low blues. I want to say that was a trend I noticed in charts of OTJ kitties--eventually the PS numbers come down and the numbers don't fluctuate that much during the cycle (like maybe the PS number is 100, and the nadir is in the 50s or 60s).

I would think, tho I could certainly be wrong, that if he's dropping below 50 regularly, he would be rebounding harder, which would make his PS numbers go UP instead of down. Perhaps someone with more experience on that could comment?

Usually with my Max, I would be getting impatient for a dose decrease about 2 days or so before he'd prove he'd earned it. Hang tight until the weekend, and do a curve on Saturday if you can. Or, as much as it'll suck to do, set your alarm for the wee hours of the morning to get some later cycle spot checks in. I never had to do the alarm because I was usually up with one of my kids, and sure, it's not fun to be testing at 3am, but sometimes it's necessary.

So, I would probably hang tight with the dose where it is. His shed was probably depleted a little with the reduced shots last weekend and he's working it back up now. It's very likely he'll earn a decrease soon, or so I think. And really, my Max was perfectly happy surfing in the 50s and 60s--if your Max is truly getting down to those numbers, I think his overall numbers will continue to come down and his curves will flatten out because it means his pancreas is healing and starting to take over.
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124 PMPS 99

Wow, a green pre-shot! I'm going to get a few tests in tonight, not sure which would be most helpful? I'm thinking +2 +4 +10. Does that sound good?

Holly
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124 PMPS 99

Wouldn't mind a +1, been a while since one of those.
And go from there, but definitely +3 or 4 is good too.

Very nice Max!
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124 PMPS 99 +1 88

ok, so he's still coming down... 88 @ +1.

He had his 1/2 can (=3.25 oz) meal with his shot. Should I feed him more now, or wait and see where he goes?
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124 PMPS 99 +1 88

I would feed another snack.
That should help steer the numbers nicely.
Easy does it! Go Max! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 07/14 Max AMPS 124 PMPS 99 +1 88

I agree with Ronnie. With a low pre-shot like tonight, it can be helpful to get a +1 for just the reason that you saw. with an "ideal" curve, your +1 would be higher due to a food spike. A lower than expected +1 tells you to test at +2. Let's see what that test tells you.I would remind you that you want to get 2 consecutive tests where numbers are either surfing or rising before you stop testing tonight.

I would disagree with the comment about Max bouncing. It looks like he's been surfing or going a little lower between shots. I think he's been making good progress in liver training school.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top