7/12 Heart AMPS 171, +11 61 - dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/12 Heart AMPS 171 - Is this "the" dose?

Yaaaaay Heart!!! and Yaaay Mom for not panicking :-D

too early to say whether this is *the* dose, but it's awesome to see these numbers!
 
Re: 7/12 Heart AMPS 171 - Is this "the" dose?

Fundamentally, who knows? Heart will tell you. I just want to urge you to be patient, otherwise you are going to get frustrated and disappointed. Sometimes this sugar dance goes smoothly. Other times, it's two steps forward and one step back and, we're not the ones leading the dance. Our kitties are in charge.
 
Re: 7/12 Heart AMPS 171 - Is this "the" dose?

I'm just wondering if I should be trying to increase to get him into the green? Or if the blue is good enough and I can leave it at that? We've been at 3.5 for two weeks now (minus a few dose reductions while I was away and my NS day)
 
Re: 7/12 Heart AMPS 171 - Is this "the" dose?

Bice blue PS! Can't give advice on the dose. I do notice that you have hit green on this dose before though.
 
Re: 7/12 Heart AMPS 171 - Is this "the" dose?

If your question is should I increase the dose, the answer is I'm not sure. Lantus dosing is based on nadir number and although you are getting more and more data, it's hard to see/say what's going on.

If your question is 'is this going to be the dose forever?' Don't know. As Sienne said you will need to be patient as feline diabetes is a marathon and not a sprint.

With that being said, this morning was approx. your 13th cycle at 3.5 unit. Likely Heart is blue or high green at best and he rebounds to reds and pinks. Reds and pinks are not very interesting at this time (no poke-fest necessary), however, when you an action cycle - like both cycles yesterday, it would be useful to get as much data as you can so we can better assess whether Heart's dose needs to be tweaked.
Also... and I mean that will all due respect because people have to work sometimes... and life gets in the way... this morning, it would have been nice to have a +1 and maybe more to see where Heart was going with his blue amps.
Make sense?
 
Re: 7/12 Heart AMPS 171 - +11 61 - dose?

At +11 he's at 61! :o Should I still give full dose? His dose is due in an hour, but I have to step out and will be home an hour after his dose is due. I guess I'll see what it's like then?
 
Going to look at SS.

Too bad no other spot checks -- we don't know how low he may have gone earlier today.
7/6, the day after parents were sitting, he went blue -- blue after having 3 cycles , that was a 0.5u reduction, AND dry food.
You had a skipped shot 4 cycles ago so shed would have been depleted some and is replenished by now.
He'll probably bounce from today. I'm leaning towards a dose reduction to 3.25u.

Need to see PS before I feel comfortable suggesting a dose.
 
Even before the green showed up, I wouldn't raise the dose with that many nice blues just starting to hang around.

ETA: one more question, which meter are you using now the TrueTrack or the Freestyle? TrueTracks can read lower numbers in the green than other meters (i had one).
 
hi there

Heart is doing very well!
Just wondering, what is your day schedule like is typically like?
Would be a good idea to see a couple more mid cycle checks - example after AMPS, as Helene suggested.
That would give the experienced ones crucial info of what's happening early in the AMPS cycle.

Let us know ok?
 
Re: 7/12 Heart AMPS 171 - +11 61 - dose?

dodgingwrenches said:
At +11 he's at 61! :o Should I still give full dose? His dose is due in an hour, but I have to step out and will be home an hour after his dose is due. I guess I'll see what it's like then?


can you clear up?
Are you going to be home for PMPS +12?
Or plan to shoot at +13 when you get back?
 
D and Noisy said:
ETA: one more question, which meter are you using now the TrueTrack or the Freestyle? TrueTracks can read lower numbers in the green than other meters (i had one).

I'm using the Freestyle now. MUCH smaller blood drop and therefore so easy to use
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
hi there

Heart is doing very well!
Just wondering, what is your day schedule like is typically like?
Would be a good idea to see a couple more mid cycle checks - example after AMPS, as Helene suggested.
That would give the experienced ones crucial info of what's happening early in the AMPS cycle.

Let us know ok?

I work during the day and give him his shot shortly before I leave for work. And this weekend I'm out of town again. Sigh. I think I'm going to try and teach my mom how to test his BG. Knowing about the low numbers, she's starting to realize the importance of it. Last time I was out of town she didn't want to bother given that his numbers were always high anyway
 
I gave him 3.25units, since he wasn't particularly interested in food. I'm around later this evening to test, but need to step out again
 
cool. :smile:

You can feed a couple tsp of LC food and test again in 30 minutes to see if he's surfing or still dropping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top