7/10 mocha pmps 237

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19310

WCR: she was a wild woman last night because I had two cake orders due and that means that nothing was on schedule other then her shot. She got to stay up past bedtime and play with twix, plus she was feeling good from the lower numbers so when it was actually time for us to go to bed she fought us.

This mornings number is no surprise. We had thought we were going to go down to a (S)3.0, but with libby's idea of holding this dose for as long as we can (until we see under 40) I think we are going to stay here as long as we can. Peter says I'm scared of dose reductions too, and that mocha will forever be here at 3.0 because we HC the heck out of her so she get's out of the 40's so she will never go under 40, so she will never earn her reduction. I feel torn but I just know in my heart mocha cannot hold dose reductions, no matter the smallest amount.
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359

Hi Devon, Why don't you give a dose reduction a try? Mocha has earned one, and if it doesn't hold you can go back up again.
Hope she clears this bounce and shows you some good numbers today. Does Mocha bake, too? If so, she should join the kitchen crew!
Have a good one,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359

I agree with Ella - you can always go back....

Mannie says to tell Mocha he bounced this morning too - a pink morning for some of our kitties. I hope they all can find the lower floors. so frustrating after a great day to wake up to an ugly high pink....
He also agrees with Stu - maybe mocha bakes and cooks and would want to join the kitchen crew. He says they can always use the help....

And this from Spot - Pool luau party tomorrow at Spots! He hopes that Mocha can come.
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359

I'm using food to manipulate the curve, as well. Gabby is as tough as Mocha when it comes to holding reductions. What Jill had suggested to me is to give enough insulin so that you see blue (or green) pre-shots with green in between. You've got to work like crazy to prevent those greens from being in a reduction range. You have plenty of data on Mocha to know when she typically drops so test around those times - or before - so you can catch a drop and use food to prevent it. I'm finding that the longer I can keep Gabby in better numbers, the more her numbers improve. You need to remember that drops into reduction range is not the only way to earn a decrease. A week of numbers in the normal range earns reductions. Kathy/Kitty went OTJ by earning reductions based on a week of numbers under 120. In many ways, I think this latter approach may be one that is best suited for Mocha and Gabby and some of the other kitties who bounce and need to learn how to flatten their curves.

I know that I've found that using the drops into low numbers only sets Gabby up for bounces and doesn't flatten the curve. I'd rather see her pancreas kicking in than her liver!
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359

Mocha has been having lovely numbers at this dose. As Libby said yesterday:
Libby and Lucy said:
......
About the reduction, well, you could use the "under 40" rule if you want to hold this dose a little longer. I probably would. I may not be the best example, I'm skeerd of dose reductions so I always tried to hold Lucy's doses until I really couldn't hold them anymore.

You will see when you can't hold her at this dose anymore no matter how you try to manipulate it with food. She is really looking great! But you and Peter have to weigh the decision.... (That saying comes to mind "If you do what you've always done, you will get what you've always gotten.) Have you ever tried that "under 40" rule in the past?
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359

aww I understand the fear of letting Mocha go under 40, it is scary but the wonderful people here can help you thru that, so why not give it a try? don't be afraid.
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359

Hey mocha come on down....I'm back in the yellows, my bean is happy :-D
But she's really mad at me right now :YMSIGH: I was meowing in the kitchen until my mom came down. I had a surprise for her and she
just got all mad :YMSIGH: I caught her another bird for breakfast :-D and layed it by my dish....oh well, she said something about moving the
bird feeder?!@?! :o

lets hope for better numbers today ;-)
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359

Ummmm.....

Look at Mocha's SS. Devon and Peter have tried the 3 times under 50 approach on any number of occasions AND have no fear of under 40 numbers or shooting low. They are very experienced beans who are working very hard to get Mocha regulated.
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359 +3 254

thank you everyone for your suggestions on dose reductions. We have caught mocha under 40 below, not even while trying! So I think we will hold this dose until she hits it again or can have steady blues/greens for a week. I would have to place my bet on going under 40 before she regulates into a nice solid color for a week straight. It sure is funny how in the beginning we were scared to death to shoot anything under 100 and now we see a 40 something and we're like yeah ... we shot that .. :lol:

Off topic but today was peter's first blood draw for his hemochromatosis. We went up to the hospital and we were the only ones in the lab and after they got the results back on his numbers to make sure he should have the blood draw he was taken back behind a wall to have it done. The nurse told me I could come back with him, but I can pass out at the near sight of blood so we told her I would stay in the waiting area. Well after about 20 mins. I heard the nurse call out to someone in the back to come out and I wondered if anything was wrong and then I heard her explain that this was his first phlebotomy and he was turning white and then I heard her say, he's out, and they started yelling peter's name real loud so I went back there to see what was going on and sure enough peter was passed out but yet, he was starring right at me with his eyes wide open and pupils as large as nickels. It was a scary sight to see, and then they had to grab the smelling salts to bring peter back and he came to, but only slightly and while they were getting him to wake up some more, I saw his blood on the floor and started feeling light headed myself and had to get out of there before we were both passing out nailbite_smile once I was under control I walked back in the room, but by then peter had passed out again and they had to get more smelling salts and yelled his name over and over and over and they were rubbing his chest all the while trying to reassure me he was fine. Eventually he came to and they gave him cold washcloths to put on his face and neck and they gave him apple juice to drink and within 10 minutes he felt totally normal.

I did ask if they got all the blood they needed but the nurse told me they only got 300CC's and they are supposed to take 500CC's so now we have to call his dr on monday and see what he thinks we should do. The nurse suggested he go in every other day and have 150CC's drawn but I told peter I feel uncomfortable with that because I dont want him driving a car to work after he passes out. So maybe his new order will be to draw less blood, but for a longer amount of weeks. I guess we just have to wait and see.
 
Re: 7/10 mocha amps 359 +3 254 +8 255

I think trying to hold Tess as long as possible really helped. Giving the pancreas as long as possible to heal just makes sense. I'd rather take things slow than have to backtrack so often. Good luck whatever you decide.

:shock: I'd be a wreck too with the thought of him driving after what happened this time. There has to be a simple solution. Hugs to both of you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top