7/1 Meadow's PMPS is 431....Argghhhh!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL,

It's another lovely low humidity day here for us. I wish I could it's another low number day for Meadow, but I can't. She's had red numbers since yesterday at 7pm. AMPS this morning 346.
Gave her between 1 and 1.25u this morning, but her ears are so sore and bruised, I am not going to do any more than AM and PM testing for a few days and one of my dearest friends lost her husband last night, so I will be there with her for the next few days and won't have time for a lot of testing anyway.

Have a good day everyone. Will check in as I can.

Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18569
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....she's in the red again :(

Meadow is in the pinks, not the red. (Red is over 400.)

Please get in at least one spot check per cycle. Just because you have a pre-shot number that's higher than what you would like, it doesn't mean that numbers will stay high for the cycle. Gabby has had pre-shots on both ends that were over 400 and a nadir in the 40s and earned a dose reduction. If I hadn't tested, the drop would have been missed, to say nothing of dealing with a safety issue. I realize you want to be with your friend at this difficult time. At least get an "out the door" test and a test when you get home.
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....she's in the red again :(

yeah meadow is in stinkus pinkus land with mocha today! I do agree with sienne, about getting in at least one spot check. Mochas ears are very tender and bruised but I always have to get at least one spot check in. I am using neosporin with pain relief on her ears after her spot checks. That is something you could do too, if you aren't already.

I am sorry for your friends loss.
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....she's in the red again :(

So sorry about the loss of your friend's DH. That is good that you will be there with her.
I agree that if there are no mid cycle tests, there is no way to know where Meadow is taking these pinks. It will be okay...this all takes so much time and patience. Pretty Meadow will be fine... the neosporin that Mocha gets will help a lot. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....she's in the red again :(

Sorry about that. I did mean to put pink and not red, but I guess my mind is preoccupied today. I came back for a little while just to check on her and do a spot check because I was worried abotu not being around. 201 at +5 I can deal with. I had hubby feed her some FF at 9am and again at 11am just to keep her leveled off. I'll get another spot check somewhere after her PM shot or before bed as I am back out the door,
Thanks for your advice, Sienne. I appreciate it.


Sienne and Gabby said:
Meadow is in the pinks, not the red. (Red is over 400.)

Please get in at least one spot check per cycle. Just because you have a pre-shot number that's higher than what you would like, it doesn't mean that numbers will stay high for the cycle. Gabby has had pre-shots on both ends that were over 400 and a nadir in the 40s and earned a dose reduction. If I hadn't tested, the drop would have been missed, to say nothing of dealing with a safety issue. I realize you want to be with your friend at this difficult time. At least get an "out the door" test and a test when you get home.
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....she's in the red again :(

Stunkus Pinkus...love that, Peter! Sorry Mocha is visiting there today too. Yep, I got the neo w/pain relief 2 weeks ago when I read about it here. It seems that Meadow's ears don't want to bleed as easily as they once did, even with pre-warming, and I wondered if the neo may have anything to do with that. What is your time cycle with Mocha and when in the cycles do you spot check?
Thanks for your condolences.


PeterDevonMocha said:
yeah meadow is in stinkus pinkus land with mocha today! I do agree with sienne, about getting in at least one spot check. Mochas ears are very tender and bruised but I always have to get at least one spot check in. I am using neosporin with pain relief on her ears after her spot checks. That is something you could do too, if you aren't already.

I am sorry for your friends loss.
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....she's in the red again :(

Thanks for the condolences, Pat. Mind if I ask what your time cycle is too? When do you prefer to do a spot check aside from the AM/PM test?

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
So sorry about the loss of your friend's DH. That is good that you will be there with her.
I agree that if there are no mid cycle tests, there is no way to know where Meadow is taking these pinks. It will be okay...this all takes so much time and patience. Pretty Meadow will be fine... the neosporin that Mocha gets will help a lot. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....+5 201

I'm so sorry to hear of your friend's loss. I am glad you are able to be with her during this difficult time.

If you are only able to get in one spot check, I would try to time it as close to her nadir as possible, or a little before. That's just my opinion, maybe others have a different idea.
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....+5 201

Thanks for the condolences, Sarah. Luckily my friend lives very close, so I'm running home for a spot check here and there. +8 and 1/2 we're back up to 354. Damn.

Sarah and Buzz said:
I'm so sorry to hear of your friend's loss. I am glad you are able to be with her during this difficult time.

If you are only able to get in one spot check, I would try to time it as close to her nadir as possible, or a little before. That's just my opinion, maybe others have a different idea.
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....+5~ 201..+8 1/2~ 354

I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your friends DH - It is wonderful that you can be there for her - it will be so important for her. I am glad too that you are still able to spot check Meadow. I concur with what all everybody else wrote in regards to that. At times like these we feel we live inside a revolving door. You are doing a great job on taking a care of it all. Sorry for all the pinks - meadow looks like Mannie today - pink and yellow....

take care, and worry not. It will all come together.
 
Re: 7/1 Meadow's AMPS 346....+5~ 201..+8 1/2~ 354

Thanks Michelle, and everyone else, for the condolences. I passed them along to my friend Kathy and she said thank you all and thought it was so sweet that people she didn't even know sent condolences. It made her feel better. :smile:

So Meadow's PMPS was 431. I am wondering if she dropped really low between am shot time and the +5 bg check. Hubby didn't give her anything bad to eat while I was out, so it's not that. Hubby said she was up and walking around a lot and the few times I was here today, she was walking around and meowing, which she does sometimes but not often. Her appetite certainly isn't suffering, that's for sure. I just wish she would quit this bouncing around. I would much rather she was at a consistent level even if that level was a bit higher than it should be. I worry about the bouncing doing more damage to her organs.
 
The PM cycle is when a LOT of kitties go their lowest. My +4 is around midnight so I always get a check then. Likewise, I get a +4 before snack in the AM cycle too. I get a +8 during each cycle too, before snack. Yes, I actually set my alarm each night and 99% of the nights I DO get up and test Shadow. (some nights my alarm doesn't quite do the trick...) :-|

I started doing that in Nov when Raja was on her OTJ trial and I have been doing it ever since. I'm crazy, huh? :mrgreen: I can tell sometimes, not always, with his +4 number if he is going to go lower during the night. A lot of times, he surprises me with quick drops anyway at random times!
You are getting a lot more checks at night I see on your SS and that is commendable! :mrgreen: Alternating hours each day during the AM cycle I see too which is good. Get that data! We neeeeeeeds data!! You are doing a good job Dottie! It takes time but you are asking the right questions and trying very hard...it's all good!
Hope you have a good night....
 
Hi Michelle...I'm with you argghhh!!! Doodles pulled a +10 377 out of her you know what ohmygod_smile where did that come from.?!@?!

Me too, I'd rather have mellow yellows then the huge bouncing ohmygod_smile Let Meadow know that she's made quite a statement in her red, but let see
some yellow...not asking for much ;-)

Hope Meadow's number's drop slowly :-D I've been feeding 0 carbs to Doodles every 1/2 hour to see if that brings it down :lol: :lol: it seems sometimes to me
a crap shoot :lol:
 
Thanks for the encouragment, Pat. I think I need it! So we're down to 287 at +2 and 1/2 post PM shot. She just had her cooked chicken snack for being a good girl. :) Twice now I set my alarm to get up during the night and twice I hit the off button and went right back to sleep. :lol: You sure are dedicated! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top