6/19 Trey PMPS+12.25~ 265 Advice shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 shot advice

Trey is still waiting not sure what to do at +5PMPS he was 266 at +12 he is 232BG should we still give him 2 units ???? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 shot advice

Well because he is still lower then he was at +5 just wondering and did not want to jump the gun this time LOL
 
Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 shot advice

When I'm more awake I'll come back and try and help with clarifying this. This is not a "dropping number" that would delay a shot, by any stretch.

SHOOT now.
 
Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 shot advice

He got his shot at 7:50 am +12.75 so only 40 minutes late ~O) cause we were 15 minutes later to start Darn bed felt too good this morning :roll: ~O)
 
Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 @+12.25

Good morning. I got up late, too.
Nice AMPS to start Trey's day :-D
 
Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 @+12.25

Kath,
I made up a chart of BG conversions long ago because what I get on my meter is not what I post here ; my meter will say 12.9 but I post 232 in here.

It helped me to see the colors and know with a glance if it's a low or high number.

I attached what I use for ref and also have a copy in google docs if you don't have Xcel.

the number 232 is fine to shoot, but don't know what dose others think you should do. I am sure they will let you know if you need an increase and to what dose.
 

Attachments

Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 @+12.25

Thats a really great idea Gayle...the chart!!! :thumbup
Im not pulling it up because my computer is a twit and will slow to a halt probly...but I can envision it, and I bet it could help a lot of people!

Good shootin' this a.m. kath.

Hope you have a good day!
 
Re: 6/19 Trey AMPS 232 @+12.25

My vet says the numbers that Trey has is really good but not good enough she wants to increase to 2 1/4 units every 12 hours Keep him on it for 7 days then do another curve what do you think of this . She says he is staying too high and she want to get the work done on his teeth as soon as possible .... :mrgreen: :YMSIGH: Will not be able to post any more till +12 got to take company out for family outing bye for now.....
 
:YMSIGH: Made it home in time only few minutes late...Trey tested 265BG Vet said he is staying high too long and she wants to increase another unit but talked her down to .25 unit what do you thing.? She also wants to know if I am talking to a real vet here . I told her that I was not sure but vets were involved here for sure. Am I right?. anyway she said I should go with .25 increased for the next 7 days then another curve. She wants to get him in for in teeth as soon as possible. What is best for Trey ? LOL Please let me know for morning just sticking to 2 units for tonight LOL Kath :mrgreen: :roll:
 
We generally increase doses by .25 units and hold them for 6 - 10 cycles (3 - 5 days). If you haven't already read it - here's a link to the protocol we follow:

LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOLS

That can by found as a "sticky" in the links at the top of the Lantus forum. There is a lot of information in that sticky - including links to the protocols upon which ours is based.

There are other people around who can give you dose advice and I'm sure they'll stop by, so welcome to the FDMB!!! These people know what they're talking about. I think this forum has gotten - gee, what's the number now - 128??? cats off insulin since Feb 2008... And more are on the way as I type this. That's pretty encouraging!!!
 
I would not increase tonight. Either Trey had a flat yellow cycle today or he was in the blues. Generally, we would hold the dose for another cycle or so with blue or greens. And Krys is right, we increase by 0.25u so the increases are safe and you don't miss an effective dose.

I would suggest you print out the attached article for your vet so he will know that what you're doing is backed up by published research.
 

Attachments

Hey Kath,
What does the vet want to see in the way of numbers before doing Trey's teeth? I must be missing something here but what does low number have to do with teeth? If the teeth are bad, then it could be the teeth that are causing the high numbers!

I took Shadoe to the vet to have her teeth cleaned and if any were bad to be treated or pulled. She had 4 iffy teeth that were Xrayed and 1 very bad one that was extracted.
After the extraction, her numbers improved!

As for the dose you are at, if you did increase the dose by .25u to 2.25u, but why would you hold it for 7 days? Seriously, if you increase the dose and it's not bringing Trey's numbers down after 3 days, 6 shots, why would you stay with that 2.25u?
If you followed the protocol, you will increase Trey's dose again by another .25 and give him 2.5u. if you are getting decent numbers and you rush too quickly, you may run into problems.

Your vet is saying hurry up and go slow.

If Trey needs his teeth cleaned and checked for any bad teeth, why not do that work now? if you vet is waiting till Trey is regulated, you may have a long wait and in the meantime, Trey is suffering with bad teeth!

Print out a copy of the protocol that Krys gave you and take it to your vet. Show her what people here are following and what has worked to get many cats otj.
If the protocol did not work, how come so many cats no longer need insulin?
 
Will do I am printing them out now will give to vet on Monday see what she says So should I increased tomorrow by .25 units . Will talk to her about doing Treys teeth and see what she wants Thanks so much LOL Kath
 
Hey Kath,
There is one thing that is very important for you to remember:

Trey is YOUR cat and YOU are the boss and have the final say what's going to happen, ok?
If you looked at my Shadoe's ss around 3/19 and before, she was getting numbers even higher than Trey and she had her dental done. When you see your vet on Monday, ask why she wants to delay Trey's dental work?

I hope Trey has some more nice yellows and maybe even some blues!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top