6/18 Latte AMPS-490, PMPS~318

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by carolynandlatte, Jun 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Last Night:
    PMPS- 460 (increased from 1.5 to f1.5)
    +3.75- 210
    +5- 179
    +6- 266

    yesterday:
    viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17474

    Those BG's are constantly on the move. I dont know if its better or not. I increased slightly last night, as recommended by the specialist at the U (probly not as much as he wanted), under the conditions that I will watch her this weekend and drop her back down next week if Im feeling uncomfortable or it seems it is not best for her.

    Latte and I had a little slumber party last night. I noticed before bed she was laying in some strange spot (middle of the room or hallways). As I watched her walk more and more I realized why. By midnight she was only able to take 1-2 steps before having to lay down. She had not been eating well, was trying to drink but having a hard time, and kinda nippy when I would touch her (which is unusual). I gave some bupe and checked on her every hr or two thru the rest of the night. She seems to be more mobile this a.m. Once she gets more food in her, I will probably give bupe again.

    My conversation with the Specialist at the U yesterday is not sitting well with me. You know the last thing he said was, "Good luck to both of you". I didnt like that. Since this is a 'urinary' issue, I am going to call her kidney specialist over there today. He is in research right now, but has always been good about calling back if important. It might not be until early next week. But I think he would be able to better understand how this new problem will affect her overall health and prognosis...as well as explain it to me. Her regular vet is not in on Fridays, or probably tomorrow. I will send him an email, and also call to see if someone over there can help clarify things. Maybe there is not much to understand. An infection that cant be treated. Probably pretty obvious.

    Thank you all for the links you sent in my condo and in pm's. That was helpful, since I didnt really have the time yesterday to look. It seems there is not much info out there on the infection and cats??? Im a little concerned because I have read some about the easy transmission between people and animals. I need to make sure this is not a big issue.

    So today is a Latte logistics day:
    get records (labs) from U, call vets, pick up multiple scripts for her, cat food, testing, research, possible appt for her to get a u/a, etc.

    Oh - on my way out the door to work last night the pharmacy called. They said they were going to overnight the pred and all charges (including the medicine) would be cleared. Its all free. I was stunned. It doesnt make up for the fact that Im still having to pill her...I think the struggle hurts her back. But it WILL be here before Monday, and it was very thoughtful for them to not charge. Tho I did give my cc #, so I should check on that today. I really liked (and still do) this compounding pharmacy - wedgewood - and would highly recommend it to others.

    Alright, sorry for the novel. Just got a lot going on in my head.
     
  2. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 6/18 Latte AMPS-490

    Hi Carolyn, You just have to maintain your clear head and hang in there. We're with you. We hope that Latte will have a more comfortable day today and that your day will be less frustrating. Do try to get in a nap!
    Many hugs,

    Ella & Stu
     
  3. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/18 Latte AMPS-490

    Hi guys! I hope that latte is feeling more comfortable today and shows you some of those nicer numbers again, like last nights +5! Anyways, hope that you guys have a great weekend!
     
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/18 Latte AMPS-490

    Getting in touch with her kidney specialist sounds like a wonderful idea.

    I didn't see anything about enterococcus being transmitted to people. The e. coli, on the other hand, could be an issue. Think about gloves and/or washing after cleaning the litter.
     
  5. Iorwen & Tray

    Iorwen & Tray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Re: 6/18 Latte AMPS-490

    Hang in there, I know its hard but I will be praying for you
     
  6. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/18 Latte AMPS-490

    We don't mind a longish report Carolyn...sometimes it is longer cause of all the issues...it's good to read about the things you are thinking....i am so happy about the medicine and shipping being FREE!!!!!! Your tears brought empathy and free stuff! Sometimes spontaneous emotions that are heartfelt bring some added attention besides the relief it brings us. That is a good thing for you two!
    :roll:
    maybe its a SIGN!!!
    yeah...THAT's it....it's a SIGN that things are on a good path now....the low you felt is now going to be lifted...I hope!!
    Enjoy your day...sounds as if you have a good plan figured out. Hug latte from the 3 of us, okay? And a big hug to YOU too!! :mrgreen:
     
  7. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Today:
    AMPS- 490
    +2- 423
    +4- 335
    +6- 287
    +8- 232
    PMPS- 318

    Nice mellow day for Latte, number-wise. Can you believe I woke from a nap at noon and thought I had overslept for her a.m. shot! :lol: I even went as far as getting in the kitchen, pulling out the insulin...when I realized the coffee was already on. Then I remembered! I took a nap and my alarm went off for her +6! ohmygod_smile

    At one point today I went to visit her in the bathroom. Once I laid down and showed her I had nothing in my hand (syringes, pills, meter, etc), she relaxed. I started telling her how pretty she was...over and over...her tail started wagging, and she got all excited kneading her little paws on the rug and meowing. :lol: It was the CUTEST thing.

    Most 'housekeeping' tasks for Latte's logistics have been taken care of. Appt is set for Tuesday, late afternoon (better timing for that vet stress drop) to get a recheck on the urine and see if he can further explain things to me about the infection and options, if any. Her kidney specialist is out of town, so I had to leave a voice mail. Not sure when he might be able to get back to me. $100 bucks worth of meds picked up, and notes on every door on the apt building guiding the ups guy tomorrow a.m. to the correct door so I can sign for that injectible pred (I did get a tracking number this time).

    I did get her labs emailed to me. The sensitivity lists a bunch of a/b's. Next to them it states if it is resistant, intermediate, or susceptible to the bacteria. The e coli is susceptible to all a/bs on the list. The other infection (enterococcus) lists orbax (which she is on) and baytril as intermediate. This is probably why he suggested sticking with it for now...to see if it works as we get rid of the ecoli. I assume, intermediate means a slight chance? There were 2 listed as susceptible....ampicillin and clavamox. Clavamox is NOT well tolerated by Latte. I think if it was a short course, and very hopeful I would consider it for sure. Long term, boy :YMSIGH: ...Im not sure how fair it would be to give her something that would make her feel crappy everyday (vomiting and not eating) for an undetermined amount of time and not be 100% sure it will clear it. KWIM? That may be where I have to draw a line in the sand. Ampicillin sounds like it is not absorbed well orally, so another injection (fine). I have read that bacteria often builds resistance to it. It also has potential to react with antacids (latte is on pepcid)). This must be why the IM was not to hip on giving it a try.

    Aside from a few things I would like to ask her kidney specialist about, the rest of her labs are as good as can be expected. I do have some concerns...but really, what more can I do?!?! Bodies get old, and bodies shut down. :YMSIGH:

    btw...I always tell latte how things look on "paper" and what is going on inside her body. I have not told her about the infection, and dont plan on it. She doesnt need to know this one.
     
  8. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((((Carolyn)))) Latte sure has a good bean, going the extra mile to try to understand what is going on. The only thing I'm qualified to comment on is the insulin, and I'm glad you increased her dose. I hope that will help bring her range down some.
     
  9. Helene & Tizon

    Helene & Tizon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Hang in there Carolyn! I have no doubt that this is hard for you and Latte... we are supporting you morally!
     
  10. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Wishing the best for Latte and that she gets that infection all cleared up. You are doing a great job taking care of her.
     
  11. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Sounds like a pretty good day for Latte (and for you, too, Carolyn). We hope that this will prove to be a good start to the weekend. Fingers and paws crossed that the pred will arrive without incident tomorrow. Have a really good night.

    Hugs
    Ella &Stu
     
  12. Nina and KB

    Nina and KB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    What a Sweetie!
     
  13. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    (((Carolyn)))

    That's awesome that they are sending you the pred at no cost. I mean, it sucks that it didn't get sent earlier, but at least they were good enough to realize the importance of getting it to you ASAP.

    Just remember that even though this bacteria is resistant to antibiotics, that doesn't mean that Latte can't fight it off. There may be ways to stimulate her immune system as well. But from what you wrote, it sounds like you definitely have several ABs that can be tried - not as bleak as it originally sounded. Clavamox is what gave Blue liquipoo, so I'm with you on staying away from that one unless you absolutely have to use it. Hopefully the orbax will take care of things. And Baytril and Ampicillin are also on the list, right? So, you have multiple possibilities. Possibilities are good.

    We'll all concentrate on getting Latte healed.
     
  14. Barb and Tori

    Barb and Tori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hi Carolyn. It's good to see those numbers coming down a bit for you. Even better was the picture of your baby kneading the rug and wagging her tail like a happy little kitty. Those are the moments that keep us going when we get down right?

    I can really understand being so exhausted that you wake up from a nap and have no idea what the real time actually is. I've done it many times being a night shift worker and often day time grandbaby sitter. Also with the stress you've been under no wonder you're exhausted.

    You and Latte have been in my thoughts so much. Hang in there.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page