6/14 Trey 252 PMPS Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17102 Well Trey is high this morning 343.8 has not been this high in awhile he got 2 units at 8:15 will check before we go anywhere . He got a fur shot yesterday morning so only got 2units all day Now I am worried that he is not getting enough .Need to be told I am doing the right thing. We will test a few time today. Still got company that want to see the sites Wish it would have been at another time Grrrrr Thanks lOL Kath cat(2)_steam :?:
 
Re: Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Don't worry, sometimes it takes a few cycles for the dose to take effect. I'm no dose expert but you need some patience (I'm told that all the time here) and just wait at least 3 full days before changing the dose.
 
Re: Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Hi Kathy: You are doing the right thing. We all have had fur shots. ARG. Sometimes we go up then come down only to go up again. Look at Tuffy's SS and see where she is now. Hang in there. PATIENCE. You are in good hands here.
 
Re: Trey 343 AMPS Dose

OMG he was started off on 7 units that is really high Trey is 17lbs and they wanted to give he 3 units You must have been very scared
LOL
 
Re: Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Hi Kath
Lantus works on building a shed and it can take several cycles for you to
see any results. If there aren't then you will increase based on the protocol, which
someone will let you know.
You jave a lot of people watching you.

Sienne had asked last night to get some checks in. I do not see any tests
on your ss from last night. By not doing any checks at night you are not getting
any info on the 2nd 12 hour cycle. This info is just as important as
daytime checks.

Could you like yesterday's condo to your first post please?
Also please add toays date to your first subject line. This is very important for
people reading the threads.

Please change it to 6/14 Trey AMPS 343.
Hang in with the patience.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Sorry forgot again to add condo Will try to get some testing done today and in second 12 ok company takes a lot of my time and having a DH is not always good :roll:
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Mr. Trey had a bit of BBQ pork and a fur shot yesterday? That certainly could account for higher numbers.

Your pinks are lowish pinks, those are normal for starting out. JoJo's Bunny (but a cat) lived for 14 years in the 300s. I'm mentioning that not cause you'll be in the 300s for long, but in the hopes that it will reduce some worry.

We need to see the rest of the cycle today but looks like you'll be able to raise dose to 2.25u tonight. Do you have 1/2 unit syringes? We can show you where the 1/4u will be.

Can you grab a +3, +6 and a +10 today?
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

May have to go get shrines as we only have the pen and it only gives units so may have to change over lol Kath
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

OK, you'll need 1/2u marked syringes. Don't want to go back to 3u -- if you are ok with it I think it would be a good idea to stick with 2u until you get 1/2u syringes. The 2u could use a little more time anyway. Typically, we'll hold the dose longer in the begining, then add bbq and fur shot = good things can still happen at 2u. I was partially basing the 0.25u increase by looking at the 3u numbers.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

hi Kath!

I know how it can be difficult to test with company around and things going on and a DH nagging about this and that :lol:
give it a try - grab Trey and go into a quiet room, and a quickie spot check - I'd love to see a +6 it may give us an idea on his nadir (lowest point in the cycle)

hope you have a good day and keep up the good work and hang on to that patience thingy :razz:
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Please get syringes. I'm not remembering off the top of my head who it is here who was using the needle attached to the pen to measure their dose. They realized just how inaccurate the pen dispenses insulin, especially in the very small doses that Trey needs. You will be much happier if you can find syringes. I'm not sure what's available in Canada but Gayle or Randi or one of the others from Canada can let you know.

Also, remember that the dose of Lantus is not based on the pre-shot BG number. We change the dose based on the lowest point of the cycle. This is why spot checks in both the AM and PM cycles are so important. If you look at people's SSs, you'll see that sometimes, even with an AMPS in the pink (or higher), a kitty can drop into the green numbers and earn a decrease and bounce back into the pinks all in one cycle.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Hi just tested Trey at +3 (11:15am) he is 178BG will try to get a +6 When you test on paw do you get the same reading and someone told me you should hold yur meter stright for sure reading is this right LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Is there a walmart in your area or a Zellers?
or any drugstore chain? Shoppers Drug Mart?

One of the good ones to get is BD brand 3/10cc's, with 1/2 unit markings, 31 gauge..it comes in a pink/mauve colour baggy about $4
Do check around ok? You're going to need those and its much easier to measure doses.

Great job on the +3!
Not sure about paw testing, others may advise on that.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Sienne and Gabby said:
Please get syringes. I'm not remembering off the top of my head who it is here who was using the needle attached to the pen to measure their dose. They realized just how inaccurate the pen dispenses insulin, especially in the very small doses that Trey needs. You will be much happier if you can find syringes. I'm not sure what's available in Canada but Gayle or Randi or one of the others from Canada can let you know.

It was Weathergirl using the pens without the seperate syringes and realized the dose was
not as accurate.Now Vest is on OTJ trial after. :-D

As Ronnie said, the BD syringes are really the only choice here. I prefer the hocks, although I do not know if they ship to Canada, the monoject, or the US walmart relions.
I have access to the US so I would get mine there. You can get the BD at walmart in PEI
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

hey! Its me again :lol:


check it out - found some links for paw testing....I saw your thread in the TECH forum about that - you'll want to re-post that to The HEALTH forum when u have a chance, you should get some replies on paw testing, some do that instead of ears.

PAW TESTING VIDEO

How To Do a Paw Test on Cat
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Hi Kath,
I just wanted to say good morning :)
It seems that you are getting plenty of suggestions on dosing... so I'll be continuing to watch your progress with Trey -- and cheering you on.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Nice +3 178. Hold the 2u dose tonight.

I was a little worried about then pen accuracy too -- I've never used one and only remember one person who did but think she quickly switched to syringes.
I have some extra 1/2u syringes, if you want me to mail you some PM me your address.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Thanks D I can pick up some syringes at our drug store. Thanks anyway LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Here is a link to all the syringes available mail order from Hocks online pharmacy (see the green box at the op of this page). Be sure it specifies "Half Unit Markings, and u100 insulin"

I like the Walmart brand, ReliOn Insulin Syringes, for 30 units or less (u100 Insulin only), 29 or 31 gauge 1/2inch (12.7mm) needle, with "half unit markings for precise dosing"

They had Walmart Stores when I lived in Hong Kong, so I'm guessing you may have one somewhere :lol:
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 164 PMPS Dose

Hi just tested Trey by myself took 30 minutes more company but at +6.75 (2:45)pm he is 164BG . I like this It is good for this time of day right Thanks Kath
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

Go Trey. Very very nice. If he bounces don't get upset. He may or may not. Part of the program. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 343 AMPS Dose

housecats4 said:
someone told me you should hold yur meter stright for sure reading is this right LOL Kath

Um.... didn't someone here have an issue with DH reading the meter UPSIDE DOWN and thinking it was 25 instead of 52? Caused several heart attacks as I recall :shock:
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 164 PMPS Dose

Yes, I would keep the 2u. I planned on watching your SS at +10 and PS BG. If the case arises that he is blue at PS time, you will want to shoot regular 2u dose -- don't miss that opportunity by stalling or reducing. When we see a kitty's numbers start to go flat, we like to keep him there -- reducing shot or stalling can get in the way of that.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 164 PMPS Dose

Yep, it was us who used the pen to deliver full unit doses.... We did a test and found them to be inaccurate by up to 200%, which is like a 2unit shot only being a 1 unit shot. That could also explain your wonky up and down numbers.... Of course a cat eating BBQ pork could do that too!

Please get the actual syringes soon... it'll help the dosing out a LOT.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 164 PMPS Dose

From another Canadian, walmart, zellers or any other pharmacy, it's part of the over the counter behind the counter stuff. You will have to ask. BD are the only ones I could find here. The only thing you have to remember there are the smallest syringes with the 1/2 unit markings ok. The ones Ronnie told you about. You'll do great.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 164 PMPS Dose

OK will pick syringes up in the morning if I don`t get there tonight Thanks Kath
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 164 PMPS Dose

Hi Kath,
Now that's what I call a pretty fine looking BG, that 164! I think now you are seeing how sticking to one dose eventually smooths out and you can see how Trey is liking this dose.
I think I saw a mention that you need some tests in the evening, and actually, the most important one is just before you go to bed. I know you have company and all, and your days are hectic but make that last test what you do just before you turn out the lites and go to bed. What you want is to know what Trey's BG is so you can go to sleep and not worry about his going too low. I often go to bed around +4 or +5, so I test my Shadoe and Oliver just before I head off to sleep.

So how is Trey doing now? How is he acting? I hope he seems to be improving and looks more like his old self!
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 164 PMPS Dose

housecats4 said:
OK will pick syringes up in the morning if I don`t get there tonight Thanks Kath

Awesome! One thing to be careful is that your BG numbers are going to be a little wonky for the first few cycles after you switch to syringes. The dosing won't be quite the same as when you were using the pens, so you might be shooting MORE than you thought you were before. Check out Vesta's curves on or around May 20th. You'll see she went quite low, because her body wasn't used to sooo much insulin. Which, funny enough, was less than we thought we had been giving her before!

So yeah... when you switch to syringes, the spot checks will be even more important.
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 288 PMPS Dose

So when we switch to syringes do we lower the dose or still go with 2 units LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/14 Trey 288 PMPS Dose

What I would do is shoot a 2u dose from the pen into a spoon, then draw it up into a syringe -- see what it measures, if it is less than 2u, then shoot the amount that the test registered at. Use fresh insulin for your shot, not the insulin from the spoon test. Make sense?
 
Hi just tested Trey at 11:15pm I think that is +3.15 maybe anyway he tested 252BG off to bed now so will try to get up at 6am so can feed two hours before testing at 8:00am did not get the syringes so will use pen.. That is a good idea to measure the amount will do makes a lot of scents Thanks LOL Kath
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top