6/12 Doodle +10 107 PMPS 82 +12.5 79 NO SHOT YET SHOT HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi and doodles

Member Since 2010
Hey guys,
I need help with her shot! She's at 107 her appetite hasn't been too good today although she's been active.
Just got home did +10 she's at 107!!!! And have no idea where her nadir is or was.
Not sure if I should shoot a full 1U or not less?
Any ideas please?

Heidi and Doodles >"<
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

Heidi --

Could you clarify? Is 107 your +10 or has Doodle been surfing at 107 for the last 2 hours?

(And not to crab, your SS isn't up to date.)
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

that was her +10 she was starving so I fed her a full can of FF. So I did not shoot a pmps.
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

so it's still 2 hours until PMPS?

In meantime, can you update your spreadsheet please? What was her AMPS?
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

to clarify heidi fed after get the +10...doodles ate like a piggy
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

I have no idea where she was today! Because I was gone til her +10. She looked off in her eyes, little appetite this am, may have thrown up while I was gone, there was some on the floor.
She ate great after I took her BG at +10
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

So here's the scoop...

You don't want to feed within 2 hours of shot time no matter how much Doodle is begging. There are exceptions but this isn't one of them. There is a good chance that Doodle's numbers would have risen by PMPS and you would have been able to shoot. At the very least, you could have shot a reduced dose so as to not completely deplete the shed.

Where are you now in relation to shot time? You posted just a few minutes ago so I'm not sure if you're at +10 or close to PMPS.
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

I know I should wait two hours but I knew she hadn't really eaten today so I went ahead and fed. Newbie mistake.
Does this mean I should wait?
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle pmps 107 HELP WITH SHOT PLEASE!!!

no, you don't need to wait. Get another test now. Let's see where she is.
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle +10 107 PMPS 82 SHOT HELP

how about stalling a little bit - test again 30 minutes after the 82. Don't feed again yet. Post back here when you get the +12.5 number.
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle +10 107 PMPS 82 SHOT HELP

is there any chance of hypo after 12 hours since last shot
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle +10 107 PMPS 82 SHOT HELP

I seriously doubt that there can be a hypo without insulin. I suspect that Doodle is running on fumes from the last dose and what we're seeing is some endogenous insulin from Doodle's pancreas kicking in. Remember, that food can trigger a pancreas that is still functioning to work.
 
82 is Not a hypo number..usually by +12 number should be rising, but it does happen that sometimes it can be a dropping number--That's why we stall, to see if in a half hour , if the number is indeed rising or falling...
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle +10 107 PMPS 82 SHOT HELP

lori and tom said:
is there any chance of hypo after 12 hours since last shot
under normal circumstances... no.
in the case of an overdose... yes, there is a chance, but one would have seen numbers much lower than this many hours ago.
 
Re: 6/12 Doodle +10 107 PMPS 82 SHOT HELP

lori and tom said:
is there any chance of hypo after 12 hours since last shot

Not usually, unless there is an overdose or some other unusual circumstance. He's in the 80's so he's totally fine. The number should turn upward any time now. Since this appears to be a dropping number, and since this is only Doodle's second time in green at preshot, we're just waiting to be sure the drop has stopped before shooting.

Normally we would just go ahead and shoot, grab a test at +1, and if still dropping then feed to control the drop.
 
I'm a little afraid to shoot with her numbers where they are right now. I'm gonna wait and take a BG early morning and see where she's at.
thanks everyone.
 
you've shot 80's before, are you sure you can't shoot this? She's surfing, often if you shoot a surf they keep surfing for hours and hours. Either that or she'll drop and earn another dose reduction.

How much longer will you be up tonight?
 
Staying up late isn't a problem, but shooting this late will not work for me and my schedule. So, I'm confused because when I did shoot at 98 she dropped to 36. I can't do that again.
 
it's up to you, if the schedule doesn't work then you can wait until morning. At some point you'll need to start shooting lower, that's how Doodle can earn dose reductions. You want to shoot at lower preshots when you're home and can monitor, so you'll know how she is reacting when you can't be home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top