6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97) +4(90) +4.5(75)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Last night, we did hit some green! You were right, Sienne. Unfortunately, it started with a 41 at +4, but soon bumped up to 99. It was nice to not freak out. I was heading to bed when we got the number (sleeping on couch, needing to walk upstairs) and Brian said he'd take care of Johnny. He gave him 1 tsp of high carb FF. I wish he'd just fed it with LC, but I'm glad he got the number bumped up regardless. Wondering if we might see any bounce from that 41. I really wish I could recognize bounces on a chart already! :roll: (the rolling eyes are at me) I've been here a month as of yesterday.

I've been reading some other condos and some are saying that kitty shouldn't eat within a couple hours before the AMPS/PMPS. I somehow missed this. He doesn't each much, if any, during this time, though since overnight, I think the left out food is probably gone by 6 (2 hrs prior to AMPS) and the same for the afternoon. I hope we haven't been skewing numbers unknowingly by free freeding the wet food.

Sienne, I didn't go to the parade and rally! I take it you passed as well? I imagine it was pretty crazy around the downtown area all day yesterday on top of the regular Friday traffic. Go Blackhawks though! That was pretty exciting to see. It did make me kind of scared wondering how the city would react if we won the Super Bowl!
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny AMPS 236 ~ +3(170)

Looking very good here!! Johnny seems to be doing well--Keep trying to go with the protocol & his numbers will get better--
You are doing great, you are, sfter all a newbie & we understand :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny AMPS 236 ~ +3(170)

spreadsheet says Johnny went to 39 last night? Seems like this dose might have some oomph behind it for Johnny, get some spot checks tonight (as if you wouldn't anyway!).
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny AMPS 236 ~ +3(170)

Libby and Lucy said:
spreadsheet says Johnny went to 39 last night? Seems like this dose might have some oomph behind it for Johnny, get some spot checks tonight (as if you wouldn't anyway!).
interesting.
yes, keep an eye on things...
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 +2(140)

It was a 39 last night at +4. I was mistaken above and double-checked the monitor memory.

I hope this dose has some good oomph! :)

+2 was 140. Expecting some green in the next spotcheck (11 CT). And prepared for low green tonight, if it happens! Hooray for weekends and naps. :)
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 +2(140)

Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
It was a 39 last night at +4. I was mistaken above and double-checked the monitor memory.

I hope this dose has some good oomph! :)

+2 was 140. Expecting some green in the next spotcheck (11 CT). And prepared for low green tonight, if it happens! Hooray for weekends and naps. :)
a +2 is *supposed to be* about the same as the preshot number. that's quite a drop.
i would feed a teaspoon or two of lc in an effort to slow things down a little...
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140)

Jill beat me to the post! This is a big drop by +2. Johnny may want a reduction so keep a close eye.
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97)

Okay, so +3 was 97. Lower than last night at the same time (106). Johnny's been eating LC after each test. I think he's still in the "hungry" post-dx stage, so I don't see him not wanting to eat becoming an issue at all. But, if it's more important to know how much he's eaten in between, we will start to better capture that. He probably ate 1/3 can of LC FF after the +2 and I gave him a tsp after the +3. He'll eat more gladly. I'm grateful for his good appetite in these situations.

We'll get a +3.5 since last night's +4 was where the big drop was noticed.

Re: dose decrease...we've been doing a fat .25 (only since last night) to the best of our ability. I can't imagine hitting between there consistently. The syringes we have are Walgreen's Super Thin II syringe, short needle, U-100. They had a much smaller one there when Brian picked them up last time (he thinks they were 1u), but they were individually wrapped and...$2.99 each!! Is there a better, more affordable option for microdoses? I just felt like he was really stalling at .25u, though I won't pretend to know exactly what I'm talking about, lol.
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97)

syringes marked with half units are all we have available.
i use walmart's relion u-100 syringes marked with half units. they're $12 something for a box of 100. some people don't like them, but i've never had any problems with them.
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97)

Jill & Alex said:
syringes marked with half units are all we have available.
i use walmart's relion u-100 syringes marked with half units. they're $12 something for a box of 100. some people don't like them, but i've never had any problems with them.

Are they short needle? Ours goes up to 30 units, forgot to mention that? Is that they typical?
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97)

83 at +3.5. Hopefully that's a sign he won't dip too low tonight. Promising for dose or looking like reduction or too early to tell?? We'll test again at +4 and for the next hour or two. We'll see what +4 is.

Man, I wish a smaller syringe existed that wasn't so pricey. We also have 1/2 markings, but it sure would be nice if either they or the plunger were fluorescent orange. We'll get the hang of it, I'm sure. We've got a trusty magnifying glass. I guess I will just count my blessings that Johnny seems to be a micro-doser. :)
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97) +3.5(83) +4(90)

Looks like we have a late-night surfer (or early morning!). Glad to see the number going up with just LC. He just had another tsp of food.
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97) +3.5(83) +4(90)

niiiiiiiiiiice! see how easy it is manage the curve with food?
you're doing great. this surf is awesome!
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97) +3.5(83) +4(90)

Jill & Alex said:
niiiiiiiiiiice! see how easy it is manage the curve with food?
you're doing great. this surf is awesome!

It IS amazing how easy it is, especially when the humans know what is going on. If I hadn't found you guys, I'm sure Johnny would have been taken to the ER vet a few times. "Hooray for FDMB and educated parents!" says Johnny.

We'll still do a +4.5 and 5.

Does each surf lead towards happier pancreases? (Pancreasi? lol)
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97) +3.5(83) +4(90)

i guess you could say that. keeping kitty in normal numbers for as much of the day as possible is thought to be happy, healing time for those beta cells.
 
Re: 6/12 Johnny PMPS 260 ~ +2(140) +3(97) +3.5(83) +4(90)

Thanks for that insight, Jill! I will totally be thinking positive thoughts for those beta cells.

He's at 75 at +4.5. Still surfing! Go, beta cells, go!

So, would you tend to think this is a good dose for him, so long as we are able to monitor at this level? Even though he had the 39 last evening?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top