6/10 Latte AMPS-556, PMPS-496, +3.25-398

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Last Night:
PMPS- 494
+1.5-423
+6.5-396
+8- 416
AMPS-556
+2-492
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16767

Sorry it took so long...everything is slow as molasses here...Latte's bg's, my computer, her subq drip this morning! :?

I was really hoping from her first 2 spot checks in last nights cycle she was starting to break a little. But I guess not. :YMSIGH: I suppose if this is a bounce from the blues and 300pt drop in 2hrs earlier in the week, she still has a few more cycles before it could break.

Our appt is at 2pm. The process at the U can often take a few hours. I have to work tonight at 6. So I hope it goes smoothly (in/out). Im a little worried about Latte nose diving from vet stress. Especially if its right around the cycle where she could break this bounce. Remember last visit, she dropped 322pts. It was earlier in the cycle that time, which could have made the difference. I will make sure to offer her baby food before we leave the hospital and feed treats in the car on the way home. Its not a far drive, but we head home in the midst of rush hour on one of the busiest thru ways between the cities. It can be really hard having a cat taking a big drop, locked in a carrier, and stuck in traffic for 30 minutes. She has also been having big time trouble walking after getting home from the vet. Im not sure if its from sitting in the carrier, or how she is generally being handled, stress, etc. I will ask the vet how to deal with that.

Im guessing the vet will want a ton of labs...u/a, culture, full blood panel, blood gas, pancreatitis test, etc. I certainly hope he will look at the ss so we can avoid the fructosamine test and all that jazz. Wouldnt be surprised if he wants an ultra sound, being that it was over a year ago since her last one. That would have to wait for another day. They dont usually do it on th espot unless an emergency. I hope he is open to the home testing. I certainly hope he has some ideas as to how we can manage her insulin/eating/other issues together.

Latte is doing okay. Does anyone know if restlessness is symptom of high BG's? Ive just noticed in the last day or so, she cant seem to sit in one spot long. At first I thought she was just feeling okay. But it is really wierd...especially for her...she is typically a pretty stationary cat. She is eating ok. Some kibble and some wet. This a.m. she had a good start with the wet. But after a 1/2 can she has tapered off her visits to the bowl, no matter how much I beg/plead.

Ive only had about 7-8hrs of sleep in the past two nights TOTAL. So, Im pretty wiped. Going to to try and get a nap in before we go.

Again, thank you everyone for all of your supportive comments, thoughts, and well wishes. I was so scared yesterday. Just speechless and worried sick all day/night. Ever since her kidney failure, I have a great fear of coming home to her deathly ill. Its a constant cloud over my head that I just cant let go of. The group here really helped me feel less alone, and a little less afraid.

Oh - and feeding tube issue- can I comment on that after a nap???? ;-) Not trying to ignore it. Just want to be able to take time to explain my thoughts on it.

Will keep you posted on numbers thru the day and update when we return.
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492

Hoping everything goes well today Carolyn, will be looking for updates

Take care of yourself too ((((hugs))))
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492

SO glad you are going today and that you were lucky in getting time with this super doctor! Sending calm vibes to Latte for the entire trip. Can be so stressful but I hope her numbers stay steady for you....wishing you well Carolyn!
Hugs to you both...tell Latte that she is beautiful and that Shadow is thinking of her today...as always...
love from us all :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492

Me too -- thinking of you at 2p. Noisy would get restless when his numbers where high but only after they had been low for awhile.
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492

Thinking of the 2 of you today Carolyn.
I hope all goes well at the vet and I will be watching for updates.
I told Max that his sweet Latte was not feeling well and he wants to send his hugs too!!
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492

Hi Carolyn and Latte :YMHUG: sending you lots of ((((((latte)))))) and healing vines...you're gonna do great!
Hope you get some sleep you are doing such an awesome job, have been checking your posts to keep up with you and Latte.
Take care of yourself its easy not too ;-) as my mom would say make sure you eat :-D
heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492

I hope you can get a nap in today. Not to be a nag, but you need to take care of yourself, too. Sending healing vines to Latte today. I hope the vet has something new and wonderful to tell you.
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492, +6~348

+6.25~348

Thios is the lowest I have seen in two some days.
She has eaten well thru these extra hi numbers....total today is 3/4 can wet and some undetermined amount of kibble. No babyfood necessary yet (thats a big one!).

I got a nap in...and missed a test I think!

D- it is interesting you said noisy would get restless after a while. So maybe it has not been my imagination? I will try and remember to ask about it.

So many thanks again to everyone for the support.
I really dont want them to find anything new or worse. On the otherhand, if it offered an explanation and possible solution for such extreme drops and bounces, I might welcome it.

Time to get ready for the day....
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492, +6~348

Good luck today!!!

Restlessness...not sure. Good Q to ask the vet. Didn't you say she'd been a bit more wobbly lately than usual? That could be from the higher bg's, or possibly her back or athritis. With all this rain and damp around here lately, could be a factor.

Talk to you later, hope it goes well, no BIG drops and you get some rest!
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, +2-492, +6~348

We are back.
Full blood panel, u/a and culture, EC8 /blood gas (see if Metabolic Acidosis is worsening).
He didnt feel it was necessary for pancreatitis test, since all the tx for it we already do pretty much on a daily basis. No real conclusions of course, until we see results from tests in next day or so. The vet student brought her back to me and said there was definitely cloudy gunk in her urine. If not an infection, possibly crystals. I dont know anything about those. Have to wait for culture to come back. Of course that would affect her BG's.

confused_cat confused_cat
In the meantime he said to increase her dose to 1.5u. Thats a half unit jump from her current dose. Part of me fully agrees, because I knew we would have to go up some. I also know Latte is not a 'protocol' kitty, so things have to be different. BUT, I also know she is so reactive to the smallest changes...Im terrified of it being such a big jump. Please, anyone offer feedback? I only have an hour or so before I shoot. I dont know if I have the guts to do the full 1.5 tonight, especially since I will be gone the first 3hrs after her shot. Maybe 1.25, then shot 1.5 tomorrow??? Im home all weekend. He of course told me not to test until at least Sunday. :lol: But he knew I would test her as soon as I got home.

They were very impressed with her ss and the detailed care I give her. Vet said to relax and stop working so hard. :roll: He did acknowledge how difficult this is going to be considering her challenges with eating.

The student vet had a diabetic dog and she explained a few things to me...
Like weight...the heavier they are, often times the more reactive/bouncy they can be because they have the excess storage to do so. When they are thinner, often times they cannot protect themselves so much from low numbers. What do you all think about that? She is heavier by almost 2lbs from when she started insulin 9 months ago. Something to think about, I guess.

SHE (not the vet-he had no comment), encouraged me to stop using karo and let her drop naturally, even if they are huge. She said adding karo prevents the liver and the body from learning because Im artificially preventing the drop. Thoughts? I guess it makes sense.

Thats all I can think of for now. he was REALLY nice, and I felt like we were on the same page....other than t he testing, which he is supportive of...just not every day. Other than increasing her dose asap, we just wait and see what her lab work reveals.

She only dropped to 298 by +8.5 (at vet). When we got home @ +10.5 she was up to 394. :sad: She is terribly thirsty and crying at her water bowl at the moment.
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556,+10.5-394 (Thoughts for 2nites Dose??)

Tough question... I understand your reluctance and since we usually only increase doses by .25u anyway maybe the 1.25u is what you could do for tonight. You'd be more comfortable since you have to leave the house, but you did increase the dose as the vet suggested; just not by as much as he suggested. :roll:

Ultimately you have to do what you feel is best. (((Carolyn & Latte)))
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556,+10.5-394 (Thoughts for 2nites Dose??)

I do think Latte needs more insulin, so I wouldn't hesitate to increase. Jojo even suggested going back to the last good dose before the reduction (skinny 2 units). It's up to you, but I don't really think 1.5 is out of line if you're comfortable with that (assuming that she is eating today). What about 1.25f, so it's a full 0.25 increase? Then if that isn't enough, go to 1.5 after 4-6 cycles?
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556,+10.5-394 (Thoughts for 2nites Dose??)

Hey Carolyn. I'm just happy you got all those tests and had such a top notch doctor looking at her.
Good luck with the dose, whatever you decide to do.
Have a good evening, and get more sleep, tonight! :lol: and don't forget to eat!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556,+10.5-394 (Thoughts for 2nites Dose??)

I am glad the vet visit is done with and hope you get some helpful results when they are in.
As for the dose,the others make some good points. Me, I would hesitate as well with a .5u increase, and despite what the vet said, I would likely smile, nod, say ok, then do what I wanted meaning go with a .25u increase for a cycle or two and then up again if I thought it was needed.
Mind you, this is coming from someone who increased Ollie's dose by 2u recently then had to backtrack.
I sure hope that Latte feels a bit better with whatever you decide to shoot.
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556,+10.5-394 (Thoughts for 2nites Dose??)

Libby and Lucy said:
I do think Latte needs more insulin, so I wouldn't hesitate to increase. Jojo even suggested going back to the last good dose before the reduction (skinny 2 units). It's up to you, but I don't really think 1.5 is out of line if you're comfortable with that (assuming that she is eating today). What about 1.25f, so it's a full 0.25 increase? Then if that isn't enough, go to 1.5 after 4-6 cycles?

latte does need more insulin. the only reason the dose was reduced was because of the possible initial reaction we see when kitties start lantus or levemir. as libby mentioned, jojo did say to go right back to the last good lantus dose (a skinny 2u) if the numbers were high. this IS following protocol. what we're seeing is the same as a failed reduction.

having said that, i understand you reluctance to increase the dose to the 1.5u suggested by your vet when you won't be home to monitor. i would shoot as much as you're comfortable shooting depending on latte's appetite today. i would up the dose to 1.5u tomorrow since you'll be home to monitor this weekend, but that's just one person's opinion...


ps --- will be back later. am warming fluids and then have to test, shoot, & feed.
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556,+10.5-394 (Thoughts for 2nites Dose??)

When you described Latte as restless, I was wondering whether she was experiencing any pain. If she has crystals, that can cause pain or discomfort as well as urinating outside of the box. I hope the labs come back with some helpful information.
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, PMPS-496

Quick note from work:
I was REALLY torn, but I shot the 1.5u. I know some of you will disagree. And trust me, I dont fully agree if I did the right thing. But keeping the same dose or working up too slowly didnt sit right with me either. If she has an infection or the crystals, that is only going to make things worse...bg's and potential ketones, right? Her BG was a lower ps tonight, but its still terribly dangerous for her. She has eaten well the last few days. I didnt go off of just what the vet said. There were a lot of conversations, suggestions, variables, etc that had to run through my head in a short time.

I dont know. I hope I made the right choice. Other than the first 3hrs of this cycle, I can be home to monitor the next three days.

:YMSIGH: These decisions are never easy with her. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 6/10 Latte AMPS-556, PMPS-496

Hi Carolyn, I think you did the right thing by following your intuition. Don't forget that the new dose won't begin to have an effect until at least 2 hours from the time you shot. And in a little while from then you'll be home to observe Latte. I am so glad that you went to the vet and that he and his student were excellent and informative and offered some new perspectives on Latte's issues. Now, Stu and I wish you and Latte a good evening and a good night's sleep. Especially the sleep part!
Many hugs,

Ella & Stu
 
i think you did the right thing. you can always skinny the dose up if it proves too much right now.
remember what we always say, or used to at least on the old board: in the end, YOU are the one with the syringe in your hand. you make the decision. there are many variables we aren't privy to as an internet support group. our job is to try to support your decision and help wherever possible.

hoping your test results are good and point you in the direction you need to follow. (((CAROLYN)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top