6/9 Vesta AMBG~62 +4~65 +10~102 pmps~113 +3.5~63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Active Member
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16742

When I woke up early this morning to feed (at pmps+9) I got a bg of 63 off of her... and she ate the 1/2can FF I left out well. This morning Scott tested her at her normal AMPS time of 7am, and she was 62! Nice :) Except we both had to go to work today, so we skipped her shot. Yep, giving nothing is the best you can BCS a dose when you're down to one drop! I was able to get a quick +4 and she was still holding the 60s. Food-wise, she ate her breffis well... but didn't touch the autofeeder at +2 or +3. Ate hungrily at +4, and I left the autofeeder to go off at +6 and +9. I'll be home at +11 to see how she ate all that.

Question- do we shoot her 1 drop at PMPS, or do we just start a trial? I know you guys wanted to see her on the drop for a bit longer, but I really wasn't comfortable giving it this morning with both of us being out of the house all day. Sorry if that messes things up :YMSIGH: We're totally good shooting for as long as she needs us to, but it seemed a little low this am without supervision.

So yeah... where should we go from here?
 
Re: 6/9 Vesta AMBG~62 +4~65

hey very nice!

I'd be curious to see where she is at +9 today.
Go Vesta! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/9 Vesta AMBG~62 +4~65

Ronnie & Luna said:
hey very nice!

I'd be curious to see where she is at +9 today.
Go Vesta! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Unfortunately neither of us will be home at that point... we're back home at around +11. I guess we'll post then and see where to go.
 
Re: 6/9 Vesta AMBG~62 +4~65

I believe that a cat cannot hypo on a snif of insulin. Civvies cats walk around in the 50s all the time....

The longer you'll support Vesta's pancreas to give it more extra time to heal the stronger it will be (and the lesser chance of finding you and Vesta back here again).

Let's see what others will tell you...
 
Re: 6/9 Vesta AMBG~62 +4~65 +10~102

Scott came home early tonight and got her +10 (102). She didn't eat from the autofeeder well, maybe that was why? Either way guess we'll be back on track with her 1 drop at PMPS.

Getting ready for some slightly wonky numbers due to the skipped drop.
 
Re: 6/9 Vesta AMBG~62 +4~65 +10~102 PMPS~113

Helene & Tizon said:
I believe that a cat cannot hypo on a snif of insulin. Civvies cats walk around in the 50s all the time....

The longer you'll support Vesta's pancreas to give it more extra time to heal the stronger it will be (and the lesser chance of finding you and Vesta back here again).

Hypothetical question then- if it's not enough to drop her into hypo (only 30 points or so from where she was, at most), is it really enough to make a difference with her pancreas? I'm not criticizing by any means, just asking. I definitely want Mr. P to be as healthy as humanly (or feline-ly?) possible before we take off the training wheels.

I'm pretty sure the high (er) PMPS was 'cause she hadn't eaten more than a few bites from +4 through the rest of the day. When we test after she's eaten, it usually goes down. Gave her the one drop shot.

I wish we could make her eat on her own!!!
 
Re: 6/9 Vesta AMBG~62 +4~65 +10~102 pmps~113

The way I would think about it is to think of one drop of insulin like wrapping a sprained ankle. You can still walk on the sprain but it feels lots better if there's just some elastic there to prevent you from twisting it again. You don't need a brace or a cast -- just a little something for support until the swelling goes down and the muscles heal. Does that make sense?
 
Yeah, makes sense.

Again, BG's went down after food... yay! And again, didn't eat when we weren't home. Arg.

Setting the alarm for 4am. And 7am. Night ~O)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top