6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, PMPS~494, +1.5~423, +6.5~396

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

(((Carolyn)))

I have not posted to you for a while but have tried to keep up with what has been going on with Latte. I wish I could give you some words of wisdom but I can only give support.
I am so sorry to see these numbers and understand why you are scared. I am sure you test regularly for ketones.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

Come on down, Latte, slowly, nice and easy, now. I know you can do it.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

Come now Latte, you can do it, come down.
Praying for better #'s for Latte
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

Aw, Carolyn, I'm sorry to see her like this, poor baby. (( Carolyn )) I hope she will eat a little for you, she probably isn't feeling great. She's been here before, we know she can come down.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

Carolyn,
I so wish I could help more than to say you and Latte are in my thoughts , but I know that Latte is in your capable hands and that you take the best care of her, so you'll do what tests and things are needed.

Latte,
We are all thinking of you and are hoping you can get around the problem causing that HI. We are pulling for you sweetie.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

I just called the univ of mn ER. They said it was a big concern if she was not coming down, but to call her regular vet when they open. Unfortunately It seems her regular vet does not know what to do. They cant get me in at the U this week unless a case manager overrides. I dont think IO could take her today because of work. They are very expensive, I would be limited to a visit only...not any labs.

I got her to eat about 1/3 jar baby food. All she has had in the last 12 hrs is baby food- about 1 3/4 jar. I will keep trying more and encouraging her regular bfast. Im here until +4.5.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

((((Carolyn & Latte)))) We are thinking of you all the time, Carolyn, and do so hope that today's numbers will come down and that Latte will be able to stay on a lower level. Wish we could do something to help you. Latte, Stu has picked you a beautiful bouquet of lower-numbers, feel- good, eat-breakfast vines and is sending them to you with lots of love.

Hugs,
Ella & Stu

p.s. just saw your post; I hope the Univ. of MN dept. will be able to give you the advice you need. Please keep us posted.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

please come on down now latte .. you are scaring your momma ... we know you want to feel better too so we will be sending positive thoughts that you get your appy back and want to eat eat eat!
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

I have never used R and do not know about advising on R but what abount trying a touch of R? I imagine the concern is the amount of food she has in her.
Come on girl get down from there. Sending you strong thoughts.
(((((((((((((((Carolyn and Latte))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

Can it be an infection back again?
I don't have any words of advice to you sweetie....you are doing all the right things though...keep monitoring her. Can you get a ketone test too? From what you said, kibble has not been eaten at all during the night, is that right?
Hoping that she will come back down again in an undarmatic way for you...sending hugs....
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

(((((carolyn)))))

just throwing this out there...
i know you haven't been keen on the idea in the past, but maybe it's time to revisit the idea of having a feeding tube put in? not only would it solve the problem of wondering if she'd be getting enough to eat, but i think you'd feel more comfortable taking the insulin dose back up.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

((Carolyn))
I hope Latte's numbers come down today. I had the same thought as Pat -- is there an infection of some sort going on.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

i looked back to see what jojo had said the last time she visited. i found this post:


Re: 5/26 Latte~Fresh start~NO shot 2nite, new dose 1U

Postby jojo and bunny » Wed May 26, 2010 9:20 pm
sorry you are having such a rough time carolyn. ((hugs))
i haven't been around so major gaps in my knowledge of what is going on with her, but do you think the pred reduction i see posted in yellow across SS on 5/11 has anything to do with the sudden no eating at all? (pred is an appy stim for reading those that don't know). also maybe the higher dose was making her back more comfortable and stopped eating cause of increased discomfort? was there any probiotics given after the Orbax? maybe her g/i tract is under populated and giving her more nausea? just throwing ideas out there. has to be a reason she suddenly just stopped eating on own.
i know we have talked about this before long ago, however that was then, this is now... but what do you think about a feeding tube? i am getting this sense from your SS and post that you have been spread about as thin as a hooman can be and not fall. yeah there is a risk, not un-doable though, of the anesthesia (no ket/val for induction of course), however man it would really make your life so much easier. give you so much better control and free up time. again just a thought....
i do not know if the trace ketones on SS from couple of weeks ago are real (says something about bad strips?) but if they were, be very careful with this dose reduction of 1/2 the dose. you do have a cat on immune suppression meds (maybe has/had UTI i saw on SS?), plus less calories, add in too little insulin and danger is real of DKA. i do want to say that if numbers are scary high on the 1.0 unit, they might be better, many cats the amount of food vs. insulin needs are so closely tied, less food = less insulin needs, but if they are scary high or if you see any trace of ketones, you do not need to go up dosing path increment by increment, you can go right back to last dose (s2.0 units), simply treating the 1.0 unit as a failed dose reduction. kwim?
~jojo

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15544&p=155707#p155707


i don't know if it helps, but thought it was worth finding...
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI (I'm scared)

Jill & Alex said:
(((((carolyn)))))

just throwing this out there...
i know you haven't been keen on the idea in the past, but maybe it's time to revisit the idea of having a feeding tube put in? not only would it solve the problem of wondering if she'd be getting enough to eat, but i think you'd feel more comfortable taking the insulin dose back up.

Very good idea.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

sweetie - I don't know what to tell you. You're doing what you can in monitoring for now.

All I can say is to repeat what I told you last night. I don't have the Lev experience, but knowing what your goals are, and look at the numbers since you added a single drop to her shot - you've had black and HI preshots each cycle. I can only think to take that drop back out and get her back in the area she was and reduce the bouncing and spiking.

I know it seems counter intuitive - and I may be seriously off base - but You were still getting more bouncing and steeper drops than you liked last week. I'd have been inclined to lose another drop to a skinny 1.0 than add more right now. It just doesn't seem to be having the effect you want for Latte.

Sending prayers and good thoughts for both you girls....
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

((((((((((((((((((((((Carolyn & Latte))))))))))))))))))))))))))) :sad:
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

I set an appt at the university with an IM specialist. It looks as if his interests are with the pancreas...but not necessarily diabetes specific. her regular IM is in research and is mainly a kidney guru. They tried paging him, but he was not in. The ER dr (I did not talk directly to them), said as long as she was not symptomatic it is not an emergency. But watch closely, monitor, and call if there are any changes. They were kind enough to call it a recheck, which will be much more doable financially. I have a call into her regular vet. He is in surgery right now. I just wanted to keep him in the loop.

I emailed latte's ss to the specialist at the U. They are aware it is coming. Dont know if he will have time to look at it, but I do know once we are there I can pull it up on their computers in the exam rooms (Ive done that before). Not sure if they will have any ideas. But, between you guys, her regular vet and his reaching out for consultations, along with the university doctors ...at least I know I have reached out to every possible resource...all very knowledgable.

She IS eating. She had 1/3 jar baby food within 30minutes of her shot, 1/2 of 3oz can wellness before her +2. She has just eaten (+3) another 1/4 can of the wet food (diverted from kibble bowl). She has spent some time on the chair next to the computer with me this a.m., on her throne, under the piano, and in the bathroom. She seems ok. I have not seen her urinate yet, so no ketone test.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

Great news, Carolyn; I was glad to hear she is eating some and visiting her throne.
Hopefully, you can get some plan in place for Latte now. When's the appt?
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

((((((((((Carolyn and Latte)))))))))) send positive thoughts and as many healing vines that I can find. You are in our thoughts.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

((Carolyn)) ((Latte))
Both of you are in my thoughts today.
I hope all goes well at the vet. The strength of the board is behind you.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

((((Carolyn))))) I am so sorry for this situation. I'm glad Latte is eating this morning and that you have the vet appt. Sending healing vines for Latte and peace and comfort to you.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

(((Carolyn)))
you're both in our thoughts, sending healing vines for Latte and ((((hugs)))) for you both
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

Just sending good vet visit vines to Latte, today.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

I'd be scared too. So glad you were able to get the appointment. Maybe things will turn around now.

Sending healing and calming thoughts and vibes to you both. Hang in there.

Robin
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI (I'm scared)

(((Carolyn))) BigMac and I are sending many healing and eating vibes to Latte. Glad you got an appt. with specialist and I hope they have some answers... Latte is a tough case. Love and hugs to you.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI, +3- 514, +4.5-541

No advice, no ides, just sending you support and good thoughts. Have yo tried Laughing Cow cheese? A dab of that on their food and my cats get more enthused about eating. Good luck!
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI, +3- 514, +4.5-541

I dont suspect she is coming down today, or she would have already. She is bobbling, but has also been eating a lot. Finished a jar of baby food, 3/4 can wellness, and I unfortunately caught her eating kibble after getting out of the shower. When I took it away, she stood there for nearly five minutes, staring at the spot (literally). I put wet food there, and she just stared at it. Honestly, for right now, if I didnt know what her numbers were I would think she is having a good day...until I knocked the hanger off the shower rod and hit her with it. :? She is sitting next to me as I type this with her tail waggin.

I should clarify this appt at the University is tomorrow...at 2pm. NOT today. We are very lucky, as it usually takes a month to get an appt there.

I dont know how to thank Sara and all of you may offer to help with Latte's expenses. No matter how big or small. My plan was just to have a discussion with the vet and get feedback from him. I knew he would want labwork and such, but that would be out of the question with my budget. The U is a costly, but very worthwhile place to go. Okay....Im going to cry, and I just put on mascara....and I have to go to work. I just dont know what to say...how you all make something so terrible, much more hopeful.

I only have about an hour between jobs, but I will check in with a pmps.

All my energy is going to hoping she will not have serious reprecussions from these high string of numbers.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI, +3- 514, +4.5-541

Carolyn,

I haven't posted in awhile but I have been following you and Latte everyday. I'm glad she started eating this morning.

Maybe she is doing so well today because there are no huge swings. The fact that she's high is a concern, but steady high seems to be ok for her. for today. I know you hate the kibble, but maybe it's best to keep her eating so her numbers stay steady, however high they may be.

I hope everything goes well with your appointment tomorrow, and it is encouraging to know she still has these good days. The fact that she's capable of having these good days means that you've done a great job with her and that I have my fingers crossed for a breakthrough that makes these days more consistent.

Jason
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI, +3- 514, +4.5-541

Hi I've been keeping up on the posts Doodles and I sending healing and loving vines from Cali :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Come on baby girl hang in there for mama she's doing such a great job the both of you ...come on down lets see some good eating going on for mom :-D so glad she's eating something

Hugs
heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, +2-HI, +3- 514, +4.5-541

(((((Carolyn))))) Alex, Jackson and I are here for you too. It's just one of those rare times that I am at a loss for words.

Sending eating and healing vines to Latte, and lots of love and hugs to both of you. ♥ :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, PMPS~494

Hello everyone.
Thank you so much for the support today. I could not respond to anything at work, but was able to read posts on occassion. It really helped me get through the day, as I was a bundle of worry - especially after speaking to her vet.

She greeted me for some skritches when I got home. There was little water gone, and some kibble. I left multiple bowls of wet food out, all left untouched. Up to this point today, I think she has eaten very well! She is currently laying in a sunny spot next to her water bowl. She is not soft, so I can say with a good amount of certainty she did not budge a lot. I never thought I would feel such relief from seeing a number like this.

I did shoot her about 20 minutes early. I dont think we are done with seeing more hi's though....unless this is a massive bounce that breaks soon.

Her vet said in cases like hers they would keep her in the hospital and give R while closely monitoring. But, he said if she was acting normal, just keep testing blood and ketones, encourage food and water as we wait for our appt tomorrow. He also told me the IM She will see tomorrow is one of the top for pancreatic diseases/diabetes. He said we were really lucky, and if anyone can figure it out (even if its not stuff we want to hear), he will know. He was very excited about our opportunity and luck of the draw.

I need to try and get some baby food in her and change for the next job. I will be worried sick, but she is giving me some confidence that it will be ok when I am gone. I should be back around +6. Will also get a +1.5ish.

I will respond to some oof the pm's and other things addressed in the condo tomorrow. Im really sorry. Ive read them, but only have an hr or so of 'free' time. I thank you for putting effort in helping with her care.

You folks are A M A Z I N G!
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, PMPS~494

We're all rooting for you and your little girl. I'm relieved she doesn't seem to feel bad and ate better overall today. And I think Jason, as usual, has made some excellent points in his note to you. It sounds like your vet visit could be very interesting, anxious to see how it goes.
 
Re: 6/9 Latte AMPS~HI, PMPS~494

(((Carolyn)))
Just here to give you a hug and to let you know that Latte and you are in my thoughts, sending healing vines for Latte!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top