6/06 Meadow AMPS 372 curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm glad you saw some pink this a.m., Amber. I hope the new dose brings you more and even better numbers really soon. You're doing a great job with Meadow. How is she feeling/acting?
 
good luck with the dosecrease!

If you wanted to start increasing every 4 cycles, instead of every 6, until she starts getting some movement, that would still be within the protocol (cats who are high and flat can increase faster).
 
I think I'll try the increasing every 4 cycles if she doesn't improve. She is laying with her face in the water bowl again and peeing rivers all over the floor. She tries to go in the litterbox, just sometimes her butt hangs over the side. I use storage containers because they are wider than a normal box, but she still sits on the side. She's been really lethargic in the afternoons and evenings and laying by the A/C vents. She needs to get better soon.
 
There are several kitties who seem to like to pee close to the edge of the box. You might want to try pee pads around the box to catch the spill over.
 
I've tried that (last week) and Meadow decided why bother getting into the box when she could just pee on the pad. It would get saturated and drip thru to the floor. She wants what she wants. She also for some reason likes to go in my bathroom and pee on the rug outside the shower. It was making me mad and then I thought, how can I get mad at her for peeing in the bathroom, isn't that where you're supposed to pee? I put a box in there, but she likes the rug. I picked the rug up one day to trick her, and she just peed on the floor. I think she's just doing this because she's mad about feeling like crap. I've had her since she was 6 weeks old and she's never peed on the floor before getting diabetes. She was a prissy cat, but now doesn't ever groom herself. She peed in the floor the other night and then layed down in it. She just looked at me like, fix me.
 
((Amber)) I think Meadow knows you're doing your best and we certainly know you're doing what you can to help Meadow. It just looks like she's going to need more insulin and you've got to get to her right dose safely.
 
hi amber. i know i'm posting in yesterday's condo, but i don't see one for today...

i know you are very concerned about meadow's numbers and lack of response to insulin. perhaps it's time to consider if something other than diabetes is causing high bgs. some diabetic cats do require that much insulin before reaching a breakthrough dose, but it is often a sign that something else is going on. although we may discover that meadow is just a diabetic requiring more insulin than others, it's time to prepare for other possibilities.

a few days ago i had asked you what your vet thought about meadow's numbers. you said the vet doesn't seem to care. have you had a chance to talk with him lately? the reason i'm asking is despite the dose increases, we're really not seeing much movement. i know the subject of acromegaly has been talked about in this condo. if memory serves me, i believe your vet said meadow didn't fit the profile. acromegaly is thought to be so rare that your vet's reaction was typical. however, enlarged organs and lack of response to insulin IS part of the profile of an acro kitty. the latest study shows acromegaly is widely under diagnosed, but here on fdmb, we have realized the condition is not as rare as thought.

i think it might be a good idea for you to post in the High Dose Forum asking them to take a look at meadow's spreadsheet and her profile. they have tons of experience analyzing spreadsheets of high dose kitties and know the right questions to ask. they'll also have the answers to questions you may have. they're a wonderful group and will be happy to offer any insight they may have. alternatively, i can ask them to stop by here.

one more thing i wanted to mention... in one of your posts you mentioned something about stereotactic radiation surgery at CSU being out of the question if meadow did indeed have acromegaly. very few of the acro kitties on this board have been able to have this surgery done for one reason or another. as the acro moms will attest... their acro kitties have been able to live years without the surgery once they're given the proper amount of insulin. carolynn's fletcher has even gone OTJ a few times! please don't let not being able to have the surgery done stop you. caring for a kitty with acromegaly can be challenging, but you'd have a close knit support system from both the high doser's and this group here in LL.

last, but not least... we may be putting the cart before the horse. we may simply discover that meadow is just a diabetic requiring more insulin than others. having her tested would rule out other causes or provide an explanation... which would go a long way towards easing the frustration you must be feeling.
 
Hey Amber,
I can totally relate to Meadow urinating in lousy places! Shadoe did that LOTS before stupid me figured out there was a problem!
Cats are really smart and you know what got me to take her into the vet for testing? She used to pee on the kitchen floor, right where I would stand every morn first thing to make my coffee to start the day!
She knew!
And so does Meadow. The dear is just saying please help me to feel better.

I started on Caninsulin and Shadoe just stayed high and flat and then slowly her 'accidents' started to be less frequent. Sure it took some time, and it got better faster the longer she was on Lantus and the higher we went with her dose - once she was getting closer to the amount of insulin she needed, she started to feel better and act better.

I still get a couple odd 'accidents' just outside the boxes from time to time, but I got a couple of washable big pad with rubberish backs from Petsmart that I lay on the floor just in front of the litter boxes. I also used to set the boxes on top of a rubber boot tray and lots of 'accident's landed in the tray. I am pretty sure others can have some more good ideas you can try to help Meadow until she gets up to her good dose.

My goodness, that SRS at csu? There is NO WAY I could afford that! I don't have that kind of money!
But don't let that bother you because first things first, to have the couple of tests done and see what's happening.

You know that there have been other kitties who have been on a higher dose and they are OTJ. I keep thinking of Randi/Max where he was going up the dosing scale right alongside my Shadoe, then he just broke and down he came. He's OTJ now.

We all know how you feel with troubles seeing any progress or an end to the difficulties, but rest assured, it will come. Where I used to be in tears over wondering if Shadoe would ever come around, now I have to worry that she doesn't eat all of Oliver's food and stops hissing at him and scaring him!

Jill mentioned Fletcher - he's a perfect example of things coming around to the point where no insulin is needed!

My Shadoe is a missy prissy girl but back in October, she was like she forgot all about grooming. My civvie, Booboo, used to clean her. When you feel like crap, who cares about grooming! But watch. That's going to be one of the signs that Meadow is coming around; you will start to see the grooming come back. Maybe not alot at first, but it's something you will see. Now Shadoe cleans herself constantly, I am scared she is going to lick her fur right off!

It will happen, but just like a little boat leaving the shore, the waves are rough along the shoreline but once you're out on the open waters, it's clear smooth sailing. So very many people are here to help you in any way we can.

I hope your curve is going OK today; look forward to seeing the numbers.
 
Sorry! I thought I had set up a new condo for today this morning. I guess after updating the spreadsheet I forgot. Thanks for all the encouragement and information.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top