06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 +9=313 Can I shoot @+11?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16441

This cat is enough to send me to the looney bin. I was going to increase his dose this morning when behold a 43 AMPS!
Now what do I do? He's was very demanding of his breakfast so I fed him some FF and skipped the raw. He's eating now.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

20 minutes later and after food he's still at 43 so no shot for Tray this am. I hope that's right.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

I'd keep checking every half hour... so you can try and at least give a partial dose at +1 or +2 once his #s come up. If you check out Vesta's SS, we ran into a problem like that once- finally gave her the shot at +2 then worked our way back down over the next few days to the time we were used to. (It happened on May 11th if you want to take a look)

(Here's a link to the May 11th condo... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14306 )
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Wow I bet this was a shocker to wake up too :roll: :shock: I agree these cats are enough to send us over the edge hang in there
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

There's a sticky at the top of the forum that talks about data ready to shoot low numbers. Somewhere I believe there are other instructions about (don't quote methough - I haven't found anything official yet) that you usually check every 15 - 20 min till you see the numbers going back up and then you can either shoot your regular dose or a BCS (Big chickensh*t shot?) - just a partial dose. If you skip the shot or do the BCS, you end up depleting the shed, I believe.

I'm no expert, but if it were Kasha and I were around to monitor, I'd probably wait till she were going back up for sure and then shoot her full dose in the scruff area (from what I read, it absorbs more slowly there, but ECID) and test, test, test till I was sure things were looking good.

I'll keep looking for something official unless someone who knows a lot more chimes in first...
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Has he gone up any?? was wondering if you had started to give a bit of mc yet or were sticking with lc for now?
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

I'm just waking up. You don't want to skip this shot -- you just got to good numbers and want to keep them. Want to see another test and know if he's eaten.
I'm not familiar with Tray -- any dry food in his diet, or anything else I should know before trying to help?
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Ok - if D is on the case, I can go btb and stop researching!

Good luck! I'll check back in and see how you guys are doing later!
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

I'm not saying this is the case but I am seeing (in SS) a possible late nadir kitty. Meaning your low point of the day could be around shot time. Watch Tray and see if you start seeing a trend like that. I like late nadir kitties cause typically they go up at shot time and then come back down next shot time -- making it easy to catch the nadir. Again, SS doesn't scream late nadir kitty but it does suggest watching for that.

Did you go BTB? ;-)
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

I was trying to stick around and help but have to go feed cats and stuff. I'll check back in a bit.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

OH! Late nadir! That's got MY attention!

Oliver pulled a good one this morn. D, if you could look at Oliver's ss and see if it's a good example of a late nadir?

Anyways, Oliver has a late nadir and he is still dropping at the time I should be giving his shot, but I know from past that I have to shoot because he's going to go up soon after!

Today, I tested at +11, 11.5, 12, 12.5, and then shot because even though Oliver was dropping, it had slowed to a trickle and I knew he was slowing down to start rising again.
Sure enough, 30min after he got his am shot, he was rising.
I don't know if I recorded it all right, but if you look at Oliver's ss for this morn, you will see how it went today.

Now, I'll back away since I have offered my late nadir example.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Okay sorry, had to run out to get some more HC cat food in between checking him.
So: +.30=43
+1=50
+1.5=50
+2=67
went out and didn't test again until
+3=108

do I shoot now? and what? and then how do I get back to by regular shoot time? I have to leave for work tomorrow by 6:45am, which is 15 minutes after his normal shot time.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

D and Noisy said:
I'm just waking up. You don't want to skip this shot -- you just got to good numbers and want to keep them. Want to see another test and know if he's eaten.
I'm not familiar with Tray -- any dry food in his diet, or anything else I should know before trying to help?

He's eaten twice now. FF and some raw and I gave him a few treats in my paranoia. He's not on any dry food, mostly a raw diet.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Okay I decided to shoot his dose in the scruff and will montior.
Still am confused as to what to shoot this evening and when?
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Pat went through your situation yesterday. Check Shadow's condo to see what she did. I think that it was safe to shoot when she was in the 100s. I think she shot a slightly reduced dose. Sorry I can't provide the link to Shadow's condo (don't know how to do this), but you'll be able to find it easily enough.

Good luck today!

Ella
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

+4=173 still on the rise so I guess it was safe to shoot. Maybe I should have shot in his usual flank and not scruff but I was scared. Live and learn I guess.
Thanks for all you input, keep it coming I really appreciate all the help.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Totally understand scared should have seen me when Do Lou was in the 20's thought I was going to have heart failure totally normal to be scared you did fine :mrgreen:
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

wow! Just got here and saw this number, talk about a surprise! Hope tray is onto something good here!
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

what an eye-opener!

first the housekeeping part: your "clock" resets itself after you shot, so your numbers for this morning look like this:

+12 ~ 43
+12.5 ~ 43
+13 ~ 50
+13.5 ~ 50
+14 ~ 67
+15 ~ 108 (AMPS - shot 2.5u)
+1 ~ 178

You can either write the times like that in the comments section, or stuff them all into the +11 box. Put the 108 (+15) in the AMPS box. You'll have to manually change the colors since you're writing more than just a number. There are examples on Lucy's spreadsheet of how I notated those delayed shots.

You have 3 hours to make up by tomorrow morning, right? Can you post a number at +9 so we can see if Tray is bouncing by then? It will give us time to think about the PM shot.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Iorwen & Tray said:
+4=173 still on the rise so I guess it was safe to shoot. Maybe I should have shot in his usual flank and not scruff but I was scared. Live and learn I guess.
Thanks for all you input, keep it coming I really appreciate all the help.

Well, I shot in Kasha's scruff this AM and it didn't seem to slow her down any - she dropped over 100 pts by +2 today. So, apparently that doesn't always work... I know ECID but it seems like maybe ECIDED (Each Cat Is Different Every Day)!!!!

Another exciting day in Lantus Land!
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Libby and Lucy said:
what an eye-opener!
You have 3 hours to make up by tomorrow morning, right? Can you post a number at +9 so we can see if Tray is bouncing by then? It will give us time to think about the PM shot.

Yes it was an eye opener, perhaps the threat of a dose increase made Tray rethink his BG's! lol

I think I got my spreadsheet right now (these things are not my strong suit). It is 3 hours I need to make up, and I can definately get a +9 for you.
Thank the gods I was home today when this happened.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

I always shoot the scruff; it's been said that it's more of a slow smooth change whereas the flank is quicker and not as long lasting.
I tried flank once on Shadoe and she freaked. And there's no way I am trying flank for Oliver.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

I was very excited this morning but nervous. He seems to still be rising, could be from the scruff shot.
He's 272 @+6
Can someone explain how I get back to my normal shoot time?
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

I'm hoping he'll keep rising enough that you can shoot at +10 tonight and +11 tomorrow. One of those (or maybe both) will have to be a BCS dose because otherwise you'll risk creating too much overlap and throwing him back into low numbers.

That's why I suggested a +9, so we can get an idea of what he is doing and whether/how much we can shoot at +10. That's the only way I can think of to make up 3 hours in one day, other than skipping a shot (which might be necessary if he's NOT rising much).
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 HELP

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm hoping he'll keep rising enough that you can shoot at +10 tonight and +11 tomorrow. One of those (or maybe both) will have to be a BCS dose because otherwise you'll risk creating too much overlap and throwing him back into low numbers.

That's why I suggested a +9, so we can get an idea of what he is doing and whether/how much we can shoot at +10. That's the only way I can think of to make up 3 hours in one day, other than skipping a shot (which might be necessary if he's NOT rising much).

I see, that makes sense. I will post his +9 then and then ask your advice again. THANK YOU so much for all your help.
 
Re: 06/06 Tray's AMPS 43 +9=313 Can I shoot @+10?

so Tray is 313 @+9 is it safe to say I can shoot in two hours and then early @+10 tomorrow and what do I shoot?
 
why don't you shoot early tonight (you could even do +10.5, since it looks like his bounce is starting). Then in the morning you'll have to do a BCS since that will be +10.5 also. Maybe half of the regular dose, or even less. Of course if he's too low in the morning, just skip it and get back on track later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top