6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results; PMPS 237

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results

This post is very difficult for me & I have been avoiding it. Yesterday evening I heard from the vet regarding Lanky's MSU lab results:

IAA - 29% "inconclusive"
ACRO - 192 "differential ACRO"

Bummer. Lanky grazed the top of blue today & he is setting up for a good run this evening. He has had a pleasant & enjoyable day too-- in & out, snacks, hugs & scratches, naps, bug chasing, etc. Can't say too muck else, because I am just too disappointed & it is so hard for me to share the incredible sadness I feel. I am trying to focus on General Noisy and his sage advice to soldier on. Needless to say though, I know I am going to need a lot of help & support as this unfolds. The help & support to date has been the best and I don't want to loose that either.

More news as the PMPS comes in shortly.
 
Re: 6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results

you know what, Susan, I can't say that I know how you feel because I don't. I've watched the acro moms here go through plenty of ups and downs. One thing I do know for sure is that your support network just increased. You've always had your LL family and you still do, but you're about to get visits from a whole additional group of great people who have been there.

Something else hasn't changed either, Lanky is doing really well right now and there's no reason why he still can't keep doing that. He doesn't know what the number on the piece of paper means.
 
Re: 6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results

We are all here for you!!! Onwards we go.

ETA: Lovely PS Lanky!
 
Re: 6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results

((((((Susan)))))) You will still take as good care of Lanky as ever. Libby is right. Your support has now increased!! There are plenty of other's on FDMB in your boat. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results

Susan I do not know much about acro but what you do not we are thinking of you tonight and Lanky (((((HUGS)))))) :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results

Hi Susan and Lanky, It's good that you got your results because now the uncertainty is over. Lanky is doing great and so are you. We are all here to help and support. He is a terrific kitty and he will do well as you go forward because he has a wonderful mamabean.
Many hugs from,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/5 Lanky AMPS 279 MSU Lab results

Hi Susan,
I am pleased to meet you and Lanky. :) You won't ever lose the support you have on this site, I promise you that. There are many of us acromoms here, and you will be meeting several of them over the next few hours. That's my acroboy Leo over there in my avatar. He's been diagnosed since Jan 2009 and healthy and happy as can be.

Your results and what they mean: they mean he is an acro, and that the vet who read the results is not certain that the IAA test is accurate. The IAA results can be skewed by another existing insulin resistant condition, such as acro. Gayle will weigh in shortly, she has a similar experience with her Oliver who was just dx acro and possible IAA as well. I don't know if you know Gayle, but she has two acrocats, Shadoe and Oliver. IAA is a temporary condition, so if Lanky really is positive for it, it will eventually go away. The priority is always the acromegaly's insulin resistance, rather than the IAA, so put the IAA on the shelf for now. :)

What to do? The same thing you've been doing. Keep treating his diabetes, but now you need to learn that his diabetes is not the diabetes you've been learning about. His diabetes is a side effect of the acromegaly. Lanky likely has a functioning pancreas, so you're no longer going to be aiming for green. Now you aim for blue and try not to spend a lot of time in green. Medical treatment can no longer include the following:

1. Jugular blood draws can stop a kitty's breathing due to excess tissue growth in the kitty's throat cutting off airflow during the head tipping, so no more of them. Leg draws only.
2. No more pilling. If you must give a pill, wrap it in a pill pocket, butter, cheese, etc after cutting it. Request all meds in liquid or injectible form if at all possible because the excess tissue growth can prevent proper swallowing.
3. Surgeries requiring breathing tubes... advise vet to have kitten cath's on hand. Excess tissue growth again.


Read everything you can on the high dose forum viewforum.php?f=12 and check out catacromegaly.com -- lots of good info in both places. You will see lots of acromoms just stay right here on LL and also post on High Dose as well.

Just wanted to let you know you are definitely not alone, and feel free to send any of us a PM, an email or even find us on Facebook. You can find me using wnstnbabe AT gmail DOT com and I will be glad to send more of them your way if you can handle us hehe
(((hugs)))
..C
 
Noisy is rallying the troops in heaven.
General%20Noisy.gif
 
((( Susan ))) Just keep doing what you're doing, but you don't need to stress about the higher dose now, you know that's what he needs. That can change, so it's really good that you're home testing.

I see that he's had some really good numbers lately, that's terrific.
 
((Susan))
You know I have been watching you and Lanky and was so hoping he would crack like Max did.
I just caught the results on Facebook and came right over.
(I have been unable to be on the board very much the last while)

As Libby said, for Lanky, this really does not very much change for him. He will just need more insulin but he does not know he is acro.
There are more wonderful people here that you will be meeting to help you and Lanky on your journey.
You are amazing and Lanky is in great hands
((hugs))
 
Hey,
My name is Jen my kitty is Milo aka. Pirahna. He was diagnosed with Acromegaly back in March. It was sad for a minute but the reality was that the diabetes was so unregulated that that was killing him. It was a relief to know what the problem was and now I know how to handle it. All of this help came from the board. And from Carolyn and Spot in Va beach. She knows her stuff. She helped me alot and now I believe I can help someone else. Milo is much better now and the prognosis is never on point. As long as the diabetes is regulated our Acro babies can live long healthy, hungry, lives. :mrgreen: Feel free to PM me anytime to ask questions. WE are all here to help you.

Jen
 
Sue....I am sorry to read about your lab results with Lanky.We can do nothing about that.But i will do what others have done for me and say hi and i am here for you.im one of those acromoms that Carolyn and leo was talking about lol.we willbe here for yu.i do know what yu are going thru,because i went thru it with my Girlcat who was diagnosed with acro 2 years ago...acro changes your path.but there are many of us who now will be here for you for everything.whatever yu want u need any questions thoughts emotions etc. .(((YOU are not alone now))))) when one door closes another opens..tho isnt your choice that door has been opened for you...and here we are((((hugs)))) its gonna be ok.
 
Hi Susan,
Sorry I am late here but I was just looking back to the day you went for the u/s and the blood draw for the msu tests.

Anyways, how did Lanky take the news? Is he all bummed out? No? How come? Cuz he's a cat and he's a pretty happy guy. He's got a bean that cares for him, gives him shots that make him feel better, gives him foods and pats, lets him run around outside, eat grass, chase bugs and stuff, all in all, life's pretty good.

And that's the thing. The results are just numbers that may upset you, but mean squat to Lanky. What those numbers mean is you now know what's going on and you can handle things better. It's a very good thing that you know because now you know that your goal is NOT green (check out crazy Oliver's day today), but just bloos.

Too often people look at the down side of things and neglect the positive. You have just learned that Lanky's got a functioning pancreas, now how good is THAT! Also, there have been acros who have gone OTJ, I am drawing a blank but someone on the board was OTJ 4 times I think! So there are good things to keep in mind here.

How did you feel when you first got Lanky's FD dx? I bet pretty bad and like OMG what now and can I do this and what? testing and shots and OMG ...
but it's no biggie now, is it ;-)

I know that we get tests done for this and that, but hope for negative results. I was actually sad AND relieved to see the positive results because at least I had a reason for the high dose and resistance. It's better to know how come than be wondering what's going on here!!!

The IAA is not a forever thing; I believe that it can go away or something. Also, there are 2 types of antibodies and the body creates some because of the high dose you are giving, but then you get the test done and see the >20% - well the test can't tell the difference between the 2 types so your result may well be alot of the residual affects of the acro or FD, but whatever. All that matters is you take care of Lanky as an acro and set aside that IAA.

I nearly forgot what I was going to say. OK I have 2 acros: Shadoe who is like a lower dose and Oliver who is turning out to be quite the guzzler. I don't know how it comes about, but some acros just cruise along at a lower dose. It does not really matter if dose is 7u or 17u, I pretty much handle them the same. The same as I handled them before the tests were done, only now I know that I can be a bit more aggressive.

I have to say that it's certainly far from boring, but I am feeling better each day with it all, and so will you. There are plenty of us around who can help you so be sure to ask whenever you have the tiniest question or doubt.

Now you know what's up with Lanky, so you can turn the page to a new way of looking at things. Gather up what info you can, and then just continue as you have been: testing feeding shooting and loving Lanky.
 
(((Susan)))

I'm sorry to hear about Lanky's diagnosis. Being told something we don't want to hear is always tough... but not knowing is often worse.

Lanky won't know the difference... his mamabean loves him. Food keeps coming... and so are kisses...

You will continue to have our LL support, and, in addition, as others have mentioned, you will have extra help from the other Acromoms. You are not alone!
 
Hi Susan,

I'm sorry about your test results but really, all it is is a different way of doing what you've already been doing. Carolyn really said it all as far as the technical stuff goes (well, not NEARLY all..there is lots and lots for you to digest for sure). I don't have a high dose or acrocat, but I have a kitty with multiple problems that play against each other and while it's difficult at times (a lot of the time), and here is the part I want to stress, the bond that you develop when you are treating a special needs cats is just incredible. If it wasn't for someone who has an acrocat helping me (yeah, Carolyn),my cat would still be a mess. ... Not that every bean doesn't develop a tight bond with their kitty, and even more so a bean and their diabetic kitty. But I have seen conversations between acro beans (is that a word)?, and apparently the love, trust and bonding between kitty and bean is indescribable.

So while you are in for a new education in how to treat your Lanky's diabetes and acromegaly, and relearn other things that you thought you already knew, and prepare your head for the possible challenges ahead...you can also expect a kitty who will feel so much better than he has and will understand that he feels better because you're helping him. I think that the sadness you're feeling now will melt away and turn into a very loving and special bond.

Please don't think of it as 'bad' (I mean realistically, diabetes is an illness too, although we all choose not to think of it that way)..it's just 'different'.

Hugs, :YMHUG:
Caryl (Alex and Jackson too)
 
((Susan))
I don't mean this to sound perverse, but I'm glad you know what's going on. You now can treat Lanky's numbers as aggressively as you need to.

LL will be your home for as long as you want or need it to be. Really, when you get down to basics, what's different? Lanky has acrogegaly. So what?! Your dosing strategy may end up being a little different but then ECID anyway. You have all of us in LL plus the acromoms. That's a lot of support and that won't change.
 
I do know how you feel - I was so devastated to get the acro diagnosis - but you know - nothing really changed as far as our day to day went and actually it was much less scary than I thought - lean on the people from here who know. They are SOOO helpful and really there are so many who are acro here - they can help and I can say - it is not as overwhelming as it seems right now - the one thing people told me over and over that was comforting - was that nothing has changed with your kitten - they don't know they have a new diagnosis. Onward you both go ... and it will be okay!!!! Rely on the amazing people here to help - they will. You will both be okay:) But I know the feelings that come with this diagnosis - I was a complete nut ! Ask anyone - haha. But everyone here was so helpful!
((((hug))))))
 
Hi Susan,
welcome to the acrocat gang! ;-) Its great to finally have a reason for the big gulper doses. Now you can understand why he's soooo hungry (if he is, many are) and feed that growing boy, and give him all the insulin he needs to counteract the big hunger.

Wow I thought I tested a lot- :smile: It's probably ok if you cut back to every 2-4 hours. (you can still see the curves and the trend pretty clearly based on that)

Acrokitties can live long happy lives. Cody is 14+ and became diabetic over 3 years ago, and is still moves like a kitten (at mealtime :lol: )

Anyway- welcome, your not alone!
 
Hi Susan -

I was acromom to Norton, who has gone ahead due to a cancer unrelated to his acromegaly.

Acrocats definitely fall into the Every Cat is Different category -- doses range from OTJ (Carolynn's Fletcher) to over 60 units BID (Lorna's Girlcat, who is now getting much less insulin). Norton got about 8u BID after we changed to low carb canned food.

The acromegaly affects each cat differently too -- the amount of excess growth hormone is variable and it can be used by the kitty's body in different ways.

Norton was a very strong cat who was built like a wrestler - so his excess growth hormone was used in making him muscular. His feet were bigger than average, which made him feel lighter than the other cats when he was walking on our laps.

Anyway, we are here for you -- most of us are on Facebook. Let me know if you are over there -- I can send "friend suggestions" for the other acromoms.

Don't be alarmed that there are not many active posts in the HIGH DOSE forum -- many of us do check each day, but don't always post -- since we are on facebook, we tend to have casual "conversations" over there. For example -- Carolyn posted this LL link on Facebook to get our attention.

Hang in there! Lanky doesn't care about the number on a piece of paper.

I did talk to Dawn Allen, animal communicator -- she said Norton was happy and felt fine until the last two months when the cancer started.

((((((hugs))))))) phoebe
 
{{{Susan}}} Well, now you know and you can get on with treating him =) Plus, look at all the new friends you are making :mrgreen: Lanky is one lucky fellow to have you, yanno. Sounds like quite the awesome life he leads there =) Hang tough, you're doing great!
 
Welcome to the group that no one really wants to be a part of...but finds wonderful at the same time. Acro owners develop even more of a special bond with their babies (imho). We are here for you! Welcome to the group :)
 
One thing I didn't see mentioned (maybe it was) - now when you go up the dosing scale and if you get to some what non-acros would call a crazy number - like 30 units! :o You won't be shocked or surprised.

While hearing the news is hard. It's important to know and understand what's happening so you are better equipped to treat this properly.

Like General Noisy says - let's attack this thing head on!

You've got lots of support and help here and many of us will also be tuning in to learn (especially me)! soon you will become an expert on everything acro and will be advising others.

So chin up, you got information you didn't have before and a game plan of what to do. And like Caryl and Carolyn said, Lanky isn't different today than yesterday, except you are now armed with more information!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top