carolynandlatte
Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS- 377
+2- 456
+5- 567
AMPS- 431 (First day on Levemir, 1u)
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15902
Thank you Jill for checking in with us last night and answering my questions. I often wish I could get help with her dose, and know that no one wants to touch it. since you spent time looking at her ss and thinking it through as you did, I defer to your experience and gave the 1u. But know, the only person I hold accountable is myself - as I drew the dose and pushed the plunger into my cat. ;-)
I loaded Latte with everything possible last night - fluids, b12, ondansetron, cerenia, and her appy stim. The appy stim was enough to get her to eat a little wet and some kibble before bed. She also ate some kibble overnight...totaling about 1/2 days worth of calories. There is usually a little carry over the next day or so with the cypro. She has shown "some" interest in her wet this a.m., but not a lot. Dont know when she ate the kibble. Could have been right before we woke up and she is full? Since she seems to be keeping food down *knock on wood*, I may give another appy stim later today. She only gets a pinhead size dose when its not given regularly, or she reacts in ways that is uncomfortable to both of us. I could switch to mirtz, but if this works, why? At least with the cypro I am able to give more every 8hrs, if needed. If the mirtz stops working after 48hrs, I would have to wait until the 72hrs is up.
She is hunkered down in the bathroom this a.m...as she has been for the last few days. I dont know what it is about the bathroom?!?! It just seems like a 'hiding' spot, ya know? Maybe the room temp is most comfortable for her? Or she likes the sounds of the birds in their nest right outside the window? I just wish she would come out and be with me. I spent the other evening in the bathroom with her (fell asleep on the floor), because she wouldnt come out. I suppose in all fairness, she has also been spending a chunk of time on a rug next to my bed. Again, could be the temperature - the cooler air from the a/c or fan in the window. Or, maybe its because she is positioned to seem me in the living room and is next to me when Im on the bed.
Today is the first day of six on my "staycation" (as linda/bearman refer to it :lol: ). Why do I have a feeling it wont be enough?!?! :roll: I have some goals for the week to keep me from hiding my head under the covers and feeling worse....bike rides, some city rock climbing (meaning not going far from home), cleaning, haircut, plant some flowers, bake a rhubarb pie :lol: , catch up with our friends in LL,and getting together with at least 1 or 2 friends. Of course the main goal is to be with Latte and try to get her in a better spot. As I mentioned late last night, Im very afraid that I wont be able to care for her properly if she continues in this state, come next Monday when Im back at work.
Well, Im pleased to say Latte just came out of the bathroom on her own as I was typing this, and went straight to her food bowl w/o any coercing. She is starting much lower than I expected this a.m., and apparently has been dropping through the night. With kibble on board, she is likely to have some additional drops unrelated to the insulin. I just hope she can take it slow, so she does not compound the next bounce. As much as I would like to get her +1 right now, I will hold off...she has plenty of tests coming her way today...and in the days to come with the switch to Lev.
And again, thank you everyone for tolerating all my random outbursts of frustration, fear, and sadness.
PMPS- 377
+2- 456
+5- 567
AMPS- 431 (First day on Levemir, 1u)
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15902
Thank you Jill for checking in with us last night and answering my questions. I often wish I could get help with her dose, and know that no one wants to touch it. since you spent time looking at her ss and thinking it through as you did, I defer to your experience and gave the 1u. But know, the only person I hold accountable is myself - as I drew the dose and pushed the plunger into my cat. ;-)
I loaded Latte with everything possible last night - fluids, b12, ondansetron, cerenia, and her appy stim. The appy stim was enough to get her to eat a little wet and some kibble before bed. She also ate some kibble overnight...totaling about 1/2 days worth of calories. There is usually a little carry over the next day or so with the cypro. She has shown "some" interest in her wet this a.m., but not a lot. Dont know when she ate the kibble. Could have been right before we woke up and she is full? Since she seems to be keeping food down *knock on wood*, I may give another appy stim later today. She only gets a pinhead size dose when its not given regularly, or she reacts in ways that is uncomfortable to both of us. I could switch to mirtz, but if this works, why? At least with the cypro I am able to give more every 8hrs, if needed. If the mirtz stops working after 48hrs, I would have to wait until the 72hrs is up.
She is hunkered down in the bathroom this a.m...as she has been for the last few days. I dont know what it is about the bathroom?!?! It just seems like a 'hiding' spot, ya know? Maybe the room temp is most comfortable for her? Or she likes the sounds of the birds in their nest right outside the window? I just wish she would come out and be with me. I spent the other evening in the bathroom with her (fell asleep on the floor), because she wouldnt come out. I suppose in all fairness, she has also been spending a chunk of time on a rug next to my bed. Again, could be the temperature - the cooler air from the a/c or fan in the window. Or, maybe its because she is positioned to seem me in the living room and is next to me when Im on the bed.
Today is the first day of six on my "staycation" (as linda/bearman refer to it :lol: ). Why do I have a feeling it wont be enough?!?! :roll: I have some goals for the week to keep me from hiding my head under the covers and feeling worse....bike rides, some city rock climbing (meaning not going far from home), cleaning, haircut, plant some flowers, bake a rhubarb pie :lol: , catch up with our friends in LL,and getting together with at least 1 or 2 friends. Of course the main goal is to be with Latte and try to get her in a better spot. As I mentioned late last night, Im very afraid that I wont be able to care for her properly if she continues in this state, come next Monday when Im back at work.
Well, Im pleased to say Latte just came out of the bathroom on her own as I was typing this, and went straight to her food bowl w/o any coercing. She is starting much lower than I expected this a.m., and apparently has been dropping through the night. With kibble on board, she is likely to have some additional drops unrelated to the insulin. I just hope she can take it slow, so she does not compound the next bounce. As much as I would like to get her +1 right now, I will hold off...she has plenty of tests coming her way today...and in the days to come with the switch to Lev.
And again, thank you everyone for tolerating all my random outbursts of frustration, fear, and sadness.