Re: 5/31 Latte AMPS-224,+1~146, +2-124, +3-155, 3.5-211
Jill & Alex said:
carolyn, how did the rest of the day go?
She is bouncing, Jill. She started the bounce @ +3.5 and it wont stop until she hits HI. Thats how it goes for her these days.
amps +9-317
PMPS-377
+2-456
I know when she hits the 400's because she gets all bug eyed and wierded out (like she is dropping), and starts drinking water like crazy. Sometimes she will even eat a little. But I always want to dbl check and make sure she is not dropping.
When she hits the 500+ mark, she stops eating, drinking, and wont move. She stops enjoying anything and everything....including my skritches and kisses. She doesnt want me near her. yes, she has other issues. But the changes are VERY evident with her blood sugar levels. I dont even need to test most of the time to know what 'range' she is in. So, if you understand how she behaves and feels when she is that high, and look at how much time she is spending there in bounces...well, you can maybe then understand how difficult it is to watch this viscious cycle.
She did not eat while I was gone, as I figured so. She ate treats off the kibble bowl I offered when I came home and maybe a few pieces of kibble. I gave her fluids (late...skipped this a.m.), b12, cerenia, ondansetron, pred, and a pinhead size of cypro (appy stim). I have mainly been able to get her to eat the wet since the stimy kicked in, but she has eaten kibble as well. That is not going to help matters much. But I didnt know what else to do. I seriously cannot believe how she is just NOT eating on her own....and with all the meds she has to help her feel better?!?!? Of course now Im seeing her wobble, so I wonder if I should have given the bupe instead and just syringe fed all night.
Jill, Im just wondering...if she was staying on lantus I would have lowered her dose, probably in the a.m. to a f1.0. I think 1u might not be enough. But the 1.25 is just too much with her lack of eating, and wanting to prevent bounces like this. If Lev is dosed a little less, would I not want to lower her more on that? I know you said you didnt think it would be enough. Im curious why? Not arguing, or debating...just wondering. Im fine with 1u of lev. But, not if it will be the equivalent to the 1.25u of lantus. kwim? If I only have so much time off to see whats going on, I dont want to waste it waiting out a bounce for three days. And quite honestly, I dont see her holding up through many more of these big bounces. She is walking a line of fire with her lack of eating. My gut tells me she is going to run out of luck here sooner than later.
Is there anything else I need to know about the lev? Are the onsets the same? Is the ECID theory still applying to nadir, or is it generally later than lantus, as Im reading? Is there lag time in the switch between the two, or does lantus carry on until the lev builds a shed? Finally, thoughts on how long it might take to see if this switch is worthwhile?
I really do appreciate the help. Thank you so much.
And Im sorry for all my outbursts everyone. I seriously think Im starting to lose my mind. I just dont know what more to do for her, and the decisions of how to deal with all her issues is, for the first time, becoming so overwhelming that at times Im just not doing anything....which is not good.:cry: I dont know if I can go back to work next week and care for her properly in this condition. Im very scared and trying to come to terms of where she ...we...are at.
I did get my bike back from the shop and took a short ride on it. Had to make sure I remember HOW to ride a bike! :lol: